We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Munro bashing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cluanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cluanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenmoriston
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Munro bashing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed with 2 pals Stevie and Andy as a base to climb some of the 22 Munros within easy reach. One of our party had dropped out at last minute but we were not charged any cancellation which was a nice start. The rooms were lovely and the whole place looked like it had been recently refurbished. Andy, Monique and Chloe are such a hard workind family and made us so welcome. The car drop off service worked well for us to takle some of the long ridge walks. It was nice to see the young children and family pets around the hotel and grounds it gives the place a real family feel. The food was good although not brilliant, but there was adequate of it and well priced. The bar is well stocked and has an amazing whisky selection. we thought the packed lunches were a little lacking in inspiration and calories for our long days on the hills. The waitresses and bartenders Chloe and Rebecca (aka Zoe and Florence, sorry girls) really looked after us. Despite other reviewers' comments we thought it was really good value for what we got. I think peole forget 20% goes in VAT and there are no mains water, gas or electric at the Hotel and they need to generate all the services. We will be back to takle the North Glen Shiel ridge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 666StevenR666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    95
    33
    25
    18
See reviews for
31
105
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a small hotel with a bar at the front but almost feels like a bar with some rooms attached at the back. It is run by a very, very hard working family. I don't envy that they had two small children to deal with whilst also running the hotel. I felt that maybe an extra pair of hands might have made all the difference.

Our luxury room was exquisite with a four poster bed and mountain views. I think there has been some major renovation recently and it is looking great. The bar is nice and friendly with good drinks and whisky selection, but I would say that the food is ok but nothing out of this world.

One issue was the price. Even though the room was stunning and the location great, we still felt it was slightly too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJSilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very comfortable after a great day walking the munro's nearby. The view from the room was fantastic. The meals are great and the beer thirst quenching. The breakfast a great start to walking in the hills. Am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Warm and comfortable room, especially welcome after hiking or climbing in the area. You can not beat the view from your window - magnificent! Food was hearty and well cooked (especially the venison casserole for dinner), with plenty of a good Scottish breakfast included in the price of a room.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you can. A doubl/twin room is cheaper than two beds in the 4 bed dormitory (though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Travelling on my own, I was really pleased that the Cluanie Inn has spacious, comfortable single rooms at very reasonable rates, not the cramped attic accommodation that is so often all you get for a single room. The location of the Inn is absolutely stunning, of course, at the top of Glen Shiel in breathtakingly beautiful remote country, ten miles from its nearest neighbour. The restaurant is also very good: I agree with the reviewer who thought the steak and ale pie was outstanding. The haggis with neeps and tatties was also excellent. I really cannot fault this place, and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were driving through a fantastic landscape of snow capped mountains on a cold rainy evening and looking for a place to stay for the night and happened on the Cluanie Inn. It was a welcome surprise so we enquired about accommodation. We were so pleased we did as our stay is now the standard by which we will judge all future accommodation. It was just brilliant. Everything about our stay here was excellent. Our room was very large and the view was spectacular. We slept in a four poster bed and it was so comfortable that we didn't want to get out in the morning. Our ensuite was also very big and so clean. We will always remember our stay here and if ever we return to Scotland will ensure we pass this way and would be happy to recommend the Cluane Inn to fellow travellers. We are sure you will not be disappointed. anyone.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the mountains - 4,5,6 or 7 would provide the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Hosted by a (very) hardworking family the hotel is a great place to stop off and an ideal location for exploring the surrounding hills. Bedrooms are clean and smart with wonderfully comfortable beds. The bar is very welcoming with plenty of space to relax and enjoy the huge choice of whiskys. Meals could be a little more adventurous in choice and presentation but the food is good, plentiful and fair value. Breakfasts are everything you could ask for.
Only criticism relates to the reception area.....as mentioned by others......this is the first thing customers experience and it is currently not the welcoming area it could be.
This aside the Cluanie is a fine place to visit; I'd happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenmoriston
18.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
21.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
18.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
16.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
22.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cluanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cluanie Inn

Property: Cluanie Inn
Address: Skye & Lochalsh, Glenmoriston IV63 7YW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenmoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cluanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluanie Hotel Glenmoriston
Cluanie Inn Scotland/Glenmoriston, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing