We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view”
Review of Cluanie Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cluanie Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenmoriston
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best view”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Warm and comfortable room, especially welcome after hiking or climbing in the area. You can not beat the view from your window - magnificent! Food was hearty and well cooked (especially the venison casserole for dinner), with plenty of a good Scottish breakfast included in the price of a room.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you can. A doubl/twin room is cheaper than two beds in the 4 bed dormitory (though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    99
    34
    27
    20
See reviews for
34
113
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Travelling on my own, I was really pleased that the Cluanie Inn has spacious, comfortable single rooms at very reasonable rates, not the cramped attic accommodation that is so often all you get for a single room. The location of the Inn is absolutely stunning, of course, at the top of Glen Shiel in breathtakingly beautiful remote country, ten miles from its nearest neighbour. The restaurant is also very good: I agree with the reviewer who thought the steak and ale pie was outstanding. The haggis with neeps and tatties was also excellent. I really cannot fault this place, and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdBagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were driving through a fantastic landscape of snow capped mountains on a cold rainy evening and looking for a place to stay for the night and happened on the Cluanie Inn. It was a welcome surprise so we enquired about accommodation. We were so pleased we did as our stay is now the standard by which we will judge all future accommodation. It was just brilliant. Everything about our stay here was excellent. Our room was very large and the view was spectacular. We slept in a four poster bed and it was so comfortable that we didn't want to get out in the morning. Our ensuite was also very big and so clean. We will always remember our stay here and if ever we return to Scotland will ensure we pass this way and would be happy to recommend the Cluane Inn to fellow travellers. We are sure you will not be disappointed. anyone.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the mountains - 4,5,6 or 7 would provide the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Hosted by a (very) hardworking family the hotel is a great place to stop off and an ideal location for exploring the surrounding hills. Bedrooms are clean and smart with wonderfully comfortable beds. The bar is very welcoming with plenty of space to relax and enjoy the huge choice of whiskys. Meals could be a little more adventurous in choice and presentation but the food is good, plentiful and fair value. Breakfasts are everything you could ask for.
Only criticism relates to the reception area.....as mentioned by others......this is the first thing customers experience and it is currently not the welcoming area it could be.
This aside the Cluanie is a fine place to visit; I'd happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights. The owners were very helpful and ran a taxi pick up and drop off service which was ideal for me as I was Munro walking on both days so this service was a great asset. The food helpings are generous which is just what was needed after a day on the hills. The steak pie was the best i have tasted in a long time. Id not hesitate in recommending this accommodation and will be returning later this year to stay and undertake more walking.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armani8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torbay devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My brother and I have stayed here for the last three years and would not contemplate staying
anywhere else - the accomodation is first class with an excellent breakfast menu. Our evening
meals at the cluanie also superb - can recommend the "Scallops and black pudding" !!

We both very much look forward to our stay here each year at this warm and friendly hotel.

well done and thankyou Andy Monique Chloe Mitchell (miss you) and Zander for making us feel so welcome again - we look forward to seeing you all next year

Room Tip: I always have room 4 the views are to die for and the four poster is a real luxury all to myself !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppafloppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a great stay at the Cluanie. As a large group who come up to the Highlands every year to do some winter walking, it is one of the best places we've stayed. Great accommodation, excellent food and service, and the single malt selection, a nice bonus! The Cubhouse suited our group really well. Andy and Monique were also great hosts. Brilliant stay all round - we will be back!! Matt Lowe and others..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattlowe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenmoriston
18.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
21.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cluanie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cluanie Inn

Property: Cluanie Inn
Address: Skye & Lochalsh, Glenmoriston IV63 7YW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Glenmoriston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenmoriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cluanie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cluanie Hotel Glenmoriston
Cluanie Inn Scotland/Glenmoriston, Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing