We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Graineag Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inch Hotel(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lovat, Loch Ness(Fort Augustus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Invergarry Hotel(Invergarry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
167
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
5
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 172 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Decided on a long weekend up north and found Graineag purely on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. Very clean, very well furnished - puts some hotels to shame. very good value for money. Lovely tranquil setting for anyone wanting to escape for a few days from the city life.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the room overlooking the stream - well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NB1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I were touring Scotland in October 2013 and were lucky enough to stay one night at the Graineag Bed and Breakfast. After spending 2 weeks in Scotland, England, and Wales staying at over 10 different hotels and B&Bs, I can say without a doubt this was the nicest accommodation on our trip. The room was large and roomy, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The big bathroom was modern, with plenty of warm water, and a towel warming rack. Even though we were out in the country, the internet connection worked flawlessly. The delicious breakfast in the morning was made quite magical as we were able to watch the birds and animals in the yard and along the burn next to the house. Ian and Barbara are wonderful hosts, and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with them. We learned a lot about Scottish history and got helpful hints about what sights to visit in the vicinity. I would definitely return here the next chance I get to visit Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiesMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good:
-10 mins drive from invermoriston on the road to skye
-Exotic location. Situated on the banks of moriston river
-peaceful and serene
- large and fully serviced bedrooms with all modern amenities. We stayed in the room facing the river. Could hear the soothing sound of flowing river
- a large bathroom with a bathtub
- the room and house is very beautifully decorated and we'll kept. Better option than even a star hotel
- strategically located to cover the Loch Ness and fort William (45 mins). Can also make a day trip to Skye. portree is 2.5 hours drive
- Barbara was very warm and friendly. She proactively gave us a lot of information for sight seeing in the region and about the weather
- breakfast was well laid out in a spacious kitchen and dining. Good spread of vegetarian breakfast was arranged upon request. She also prepared fresh egg preparations

Advise- glen moriston is a very small village with just a few cluster of houses. There are no places for dinner. And hence it's recommended that you have dinner at invermoriston arms hotel(the only option in invermoriston) before going back to the b&b. alternatively u can have dinner at Inverness which is a little more than an hours drive from b&b

Our itinerary-
Day 1 - rented a car from Edinburgh airport and started from Edinburgh early morning towards highlands- took the scenic route via Loch Lomond national park to glen Coe- spent some time enjoying the breathtaking scenery in and around glen coe- from there went to glen moriston and checked in at graineag b&b

Day 2- did a circular route around Loch Ness. Glen moriston-invermoriston-fort Augustus-general wades military road- falls of foyers(waterfalls)-continue on general wades military road towards Inverness-Inverness-drumnodrochit(for loch ness cruise) and urguhart castle. The route is very scenic and worth a drive. After cruise went back to Inverness for dinner in the evening

Day 3- checked out from graineag after breakfast and drove to fort Williams. Went to Ben Nevis- did the gondola and hiked on Ben Nevis range-started for Skye via glen shiel(stunning scenery)- reached Portree by evening and checked into cuillin hills hotel

Day 4 - drove around Skye. Portree-a855 road to staffin- it's a very scenic route on the cliff with ocean on the right. There are various spots worth stopping and taking pictures. Don't forget to stop by at quiraing hill range. It's stunning- followed a855 which connects to a87 back to Portree-visited fairy pools(it's a location worth hiking and exploring)-small and beautiful waterfalls and mountain as a backdrop


Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Manan10282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The best B & B experience Louise and I have ever had, which would most definitely give many top hotels a run for their money!
Not only is this hidden gem B&B ideally located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the warm and friendly welcome Barbara and Ian gave us on our arrival instantly put us into relaxation mode. A real home from home feeling.
The en-suite facilities were modern, inviting and above all, incredibly clean. The great touches of his n hers bath robes, tea making facilities with many choices of biscuits, a fridge, arm chairs, great views of the forest - the list is endless.
The breakfast and view from the breakfast room is something to die for! A lovely river running along side the property, with an abundance of wildlife to watch whilst dining. Hours pass without realising it.
The breakfast is unbelievable, have I mentioned this before? The breakfast is unbelievable!!!!
All tastes are accommodated for and more, just amazing!
Barbara's enthusiasm for Scotland and knowledge of the local area and further afield is astounding, you could spend hours and hours just chatting....
We could continue writing about our fantastic experience at Graineag B&B, but don't take our word for it, experience for yourself and you wont be disappointed!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October. We were delighted we chose to stay here.

The owners are extremely friendly and warm and made us feel very welcome where nothing was any trouble.

The room we booked was clean, spacious and decorated superbly. My wife actually fell in love with the house. Especially since we learned the owners built it themselves!

After a very peaceful nights sleep we headed down to breakfast which again was excellent. I had a full cooked breakfast with black pudding and haggis! Which was immense.

To sum it all up. Great B&B, great food, great room, great location and great owners.

Hopefully go back very soon :). 10/10

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alister83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews