We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice experience, but no so good for babies”
Review of Stock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stock Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Finkenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A very nice experience, but no so good for babies”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for a three nights at the Stock Resort based almost entirely on the great reviews on this site. We enjoyed our stay. Here's our feedback:

The good:
- great site - at about 800 meters, you are nestled between some large mountains, but not high enough for it to be too chilly in the summer. This place must be great for winter holidays as well.
- good rooms, we had a family suit which was great for our 2 young children. the place was well baby proofed, with gates at the stairs and safe balconies. We had a beautiful view of the valley. Not cheap, but I think you get what you pay for.
- great facilities: 3 pools, one large water slide, a childrens playground, tennis courts within 100 meters, mountain bikes for use, a top notch gym, rafting excursions, etc. You never need to be bored here.
- great kids club, open til 10pm with nice staff.
- good food - especially the breakfast was amazing. (we barely needed lunch)
- nice staff.
- the spa was nice, although the desk staff didn't really encourage (or even inform) us to use all of the associated facilities.

The not so good:
- no baby creche. Babysitting costs 20 Eur/hr.
- assigned seating during dinner. The first night we were seated in a very stuffy, overheated part of the restaurant. This was awful for our baby. We were told that this was our assigned table for the rest of our stay. When we requested another table, to their credit, they did accomodate us. But why have this policy in the first place?
- church bells.....for all you late sleepers...the local church is 50 meters away. Thank goodness, the bells don't start ringing til 8am, but still annoying.
- no AC - when we stayed here, temps were about 26C.....i wouldnt want to stay here if things got any warmer. The newer suites have AC, so you might want to consider these in the heart of summer.
- if you do wish to watch some telly during your stay, be aware that there are no english stations (other than BBC news and perhaps CNN)

Finally, and this is no fault of the resort, be aware that the guests at the resort (mostly German speaking) were not all that pleased to see small children/babies that did not conform to their notion of a well raised (read: partially sedated!) child. Our baby had trouble sleeping and wasnt always on her best behavior.....we have never gotten so many angry stares in our lives. Quite a change from relaxed Spain or Italy! Just something to be aware off.

Because of the lack of a baby creche and the attitude of some of the guests towards younger children, we will hold off returning to the resort for a few years. But we do highly recommend the resort for any couple of family with bigger kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vactionerAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    37
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
233
200
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a great place to spend a week if you enjoy sport activities like skiing, tracking, rafting or anything you usually do in the mountains. The hotel is superb, the service is great and the food just wonderful. you will never forget this experience. Everybody by the way speaks English and the clients are very international

Room Tip: dont chose a room to the mountain side, you will miss the wonderful panorama of the valley and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang- Joach... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I do like this hotel and you have to admire what the family that run this hotel have achieved. Since our last visit the hotel has undergone a major expansion, with a new spa and pool areas and some fantastic new rooms. We stayed in one of the new suites which at peak season is not cheap, but the room was fantastic. Innovative lighting. Excellent TV, very comfy beds and a balcony with the most amazing view. The food was again excellent.

Sadly our trip was not a pleasant one as my wife took seriously ill and had to be hospitalised. Clearly this wasn't the hotels fault but it did make me wonder if the hotel has got a little bit too large as aside from the excellent waiting staff no one seemed to notice my wife was missing. In fairness to the management, the fact we don't speak German didn't help and I have no doub't that if it wasn't for unfortunate circumstances this would be another 5 Star Review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are looking for a 5-star experience in the Alps, I highly recommend Sporthotel Stock. The room was large, spacious and clean; the staff was friendly and courteous; the food was amazing -- best breakfast I have ever had (plus, most if not all of the ingredients were from the Tyrol region); the spa area and pool were beautiful, warm and spacious as well; and they had a great kids room and babysitters so that I felt comfortable participating in some the activities while my daughter was well-cared for.

The only drawback was that when I called to inquire about the dress code, they told me it was casual and I could wear whatever I wanted...it was winter, so I packed nice sweaters but nothing "dressy" however everyone got dressed up in the evening. I did not expect this -- I had stayed at 5-star hotels in the Rocky Mountains and people wore sporty, high-end apre-ski gear -- sweaters and nice vests, etc. but not dresses/skirts/heels, etc. Therefore, I did feel uncomfortable because we had not brought proper attire for dinner. Otherwise, it was an amazing hotel and ski experience in the beautiful Alps.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namesti1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

A lot changed since our last stay in 2006. The friendliness and family oriented way of the staff and hotel are still there but the wellness offerings and the accomodation possibilities enhanced a markably. We arrived for a short ski trip from Munich, handed over the car key and started our stay with a relaxing visit at the "Jause buffet". Everything else like unpacking the car, parking etc. was taken care of. We booked the Alpine Lodge added to their Family Suite portfolio recently. The amenities and comforts are hard to top even compared to the Burtsch in Dubai or other 5 star resorts we experienced before.

The lift is within walking distance or a short drive with the hotel car. It's a very convenient entrance into the Mayrhofen ski arena.

There is only one big negative aspect besides the possibility to gain weight caused by the excellent variety and quality of food. Getting a suite or room for a specific time seems to be almost impossible. There is understandably a priority booking of the "Stammgäste". So actually forget school vacation time. It's worth a try but we had been without luck for the past time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jürgen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Stock several times for wellness. Very nice traditional hotel in a beautiful setting with many different possibilities such as those, wellness, skiing, hiking, alpine climbing, and so on and so forth. Very close to all activities. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel at the Zillertal than look no further then Stock.
The rooms are very cosy with comfortable beds, nice bathroom and a lot of space for all items, well equipped. The quality of food is superb throughout. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wellness area awesome with many different rooms, very cosy with lots of amenities, above all stress-free.
All in all a perfect place for relaxing and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We had a very nice stay from Feb 10-16 2011 where we rented two adjacent rooms on the 2nd floor, went skiing, visited the SPA and siriously dipped into the fine hotel cuisine.

Hotel: Well run hotel with a friendly typical Austrian atmosphere. Very cozy, but still with lots of amenities. The SPA is huge with lots of different treatments but it seems to be very popular so you best book in advance. We did not, but still managed to get a couple of regular massages squeezed in. The SPA amenities seams complete with different kinds of sauna, swimming pool (nicely heated both in-door and out-door), whirlpool and lots of other offerings. As it is custom in Austria, Germany and several other countries folks at not shy in the SPA, so you will find naked people walking around…

The rooms were rather big with a nice bathroom, a separate toilet and a nice big balcony facing the mountains. Beautiful views! The rooms are quiet except the noise from the outdoor pool that can be a bit annoying in the afternoon. It does however stop at 7PM. The shower works very well – lots of water that can be regulated to your liking - nice and warm (no water savers here).

There is a cozy bar where you can enjoy a private setting for a family card game or sit around the bar and enjoy other folks. Live music seems to be arranged every day. Not intrusive, just nice. At the bottom of the hotel is an indoor garage with amble parking space free of charge.

The hotel has lots of computers with free internet and there is wireless at the reception and wired connections in the rooms. But the Internet connection is very slow and we often experienced inability to connect from within the room. Not the perfect setting if you need to work and depend on a fast Internet connection. If you just need to check your web-mail it works okay. (This seems to apply to many hotels in Austria).

The hotel is equipped with excellent gym facilities with lots of Technogym equipment and you’re for sure not in a crowded space. We used the gym several times but never with more than one other guest present. I guess most folks think they got enough exercise at the slopes!

The hotel is situated in the small city of Finkenberg so unless you want to drive to Mayrhofen (6km) to dine you’re best off dining at the hotel. Upon arrival, you are shown “your” table which will remain your table for the rest of the stay. This is common in Austrian hotels and quite charming, but you better make sure you get a nice table, because you will be “stuck” with it for the entire length of your stay.

Food: Excellent breakfast with a vast selection of bread, fruit, freshly made eggs to your liking, fresh juice and all sorts of yoghurt, tea, coffee and so forth. Really enjoyable! The lunch was not especially interesting but the dinner menu was included in the price (as was the breakfast). The dinner is deliciously prepared as a 5-choice menu with lots of options, and you can opt out for the a-la-carte menu with steaks, wiener schnitzel and several other options. All in all we looked forward to dinner every evening. The hotel has an extensive wine menu with lots of Italian, French and Austrian wines. Quite expensive though.

Staff: Friendly, polite and with some language skills. They all speak German and they all seem to understand English, but their ability to speak with you in English is somewhat limited. The waiters in the restaurant varied a little bit in their skill level but all in all a good experience. The maid service ensured a flawlessly clean room each morning when we left the room.

Surroundings: Beautiful Mountains, and a 6km drive to Mayrhofen (down the valley) and a 16km drive to Hintertux with the great glacier up the valley (at the valley end). We visited during the “Winter” but there were no snow in the valley except at the end by Hintertux.

However once you take the first lift which is just 200m from the hotel (fine little morning walk or you can let the hotel shuttle you for free) there were nice snow conditions. If you visit during the warm winter be sure to ski the south facing slopes in the morning before the snow turns to slush ice. The slopes at “Rastkoghl” were especially nice with a fine mix of blue and red slopes. If you want the wild stuff you can try the “Kamikaze” slope or opt for a paragliding adventure. The hotel will gladly help you with both ski rentals and lift passes – just say the word at the reception. The ski pass is valid for the entire Ziller Tall (Valley). We skied the Hintertux glacier the last day. Great conditions, but considerably colder, more windy and with a lot more people on ski than the other slopes.

The conclusion is a nice hotel in a beautiful setting with a friendly staff and enjoyable cuisine. Good for a weeks stay. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwayCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finkenberg
20.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
7.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
#1 of 8 in Hintertux
585 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Alpin Spa Tuxerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Alpina Zillertal
Alpina Zillertal
#1 of 11 in Fugen
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kristall
Hotel Kristall
#3 of 10 in Finkenberg
78 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hotel Jagdhof
Hotel Jagdhof
#3 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stock Resort

Property: Stock Resort
Address: Dorf 142, Finkenberg 6292, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Stock)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Finkenberg
#1 Spa Hotel in Finkenberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Finkenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Hotel STOCK Resort - An exclusive wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria - which brings together cordiality, charm & tradition, ensuring relaxation for body & soul The unique STOCK feeling enchants its guests 365 days a year. The 5000 m² SPA & beauty area provides pure relaxation. The STOCK provides an excellent service for singles, couples and families - a place for regeneration and leisure. Stock Diamond SPA & Beauty in the wellness hotel STOCK in Tyrol In the STOCK's beauty area guests can experience exceptional luxury. In 21 individually designed treatment rooms, among them a romantic bath, Ayurveda rooms and a Shiatsu and singing bowl room, exclusive treatments using Stock Diamond products - the only place in the world you'll find them - provide an unforgettable well-being holiday. Experience a wonderfully relaxing time in the luxurious, tranquil water bed rooms and in the heated outdoor 25 metre swimming pool. A visit to the log cabin sauna, the Kelo sauna and the herb and flower blossom steam baths complete an inspiring wellness experience; there are a total of 11 saunas in the STOCK resort. Sport & Vital in one of the most beautiful hotels in Austria In the STOCK Resort wellness hotel, skiing and hiking guides along with qualified fitness trainers provide healthy variety six days a week, whatever the season. In the new 190 m² Panorama Fitness Studio the majestic all-encompassing view, high-end equipment and bespoke personal training provided is impressive. Pleasure & cuisine at its most exclusive in this 5-star hotel in Tyrol Your day begins with a special balanced breakfast, made using fresh produce from the neighbouring farms. In the afternoon there is an extensive wellness buffet for your enjoyment. The first-rate 6-course dinner in the evening transforms the resort into a gourmet hub. Indulge in the hotel's own "Mount Stock" wines, enjoy the selection of the finest wines in our wine cellar, or sit back and relax in the Smokers Lounge. Every day in our Kaminhalle you get to relax and there are weekly highlights and live music. Family holiday in the STOCK wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria Providing relaxation for parents, while meeting children's requirements - this Tyrolean family hotel, the STOCK resort, has managed to combine both. An educational, supervised programme of events for children and teenagers 7 days a week, the new Aqua Fun Park which has a 70 metre long tyre slide and a spacious family sauna, mean that fun and relaxation for all the family come together. Quality and Alpine lifestyle in the wellness hotel STOCK resort First-class comfort, which is defined by a wonderful combination of Tyrol charm and state-of-the-art facilities, sets the tone in the STOCK resort. All the rooms and suites are a place of calm for singles, couples and families. The new Alpine Lodge suites convey the STOCK feeling, as do the rooms, which are filled with character. Experience this unique well-being realm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Stock Finkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing