We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Spa”
Review of STOCK resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
STOCK resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Finkenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2007

This spa and hotel in Austria was a complete gamble for me since there were no previous reviews written on tripadvisor. Now that I have visited and spent four days there, I can say that it was a fantastic stay!

I traveled from New York City to Innsbruck, Austria and then took an hour and a half train to Mayrhofen. From there, the hotel van picked me up and took me into the mountains to the hotel. I was immediately greeted with a warm lunch/buffet and a glass of champagne. My room was small, but cozy and had an amazing view of the mountains. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had heated floors.

Since I was really looking to relax on this trip, I booked several spa treatments. I would highly recommend the Ayurvedic Hot Oil Massage and the Basic Facial. After each treatment, I would spend time in The Quiet Room which had heated water beds, lounge chairs, and a fire place. The spa also offers many different saunas, steam rooms, etc. There is also an outdoor whirlpool as well as two tanning beds (€6 for 8 minutes). Americans should remember that the Europeans are sometimes more comfortable without their clothing in the spa.

The hotel also has an amazing indoor/outdoor heated pool. There is nothing like swimming outdoors in the Alps in Austria in the snow!

The food at the hotel is the most amazing food I have ever had on a vacation! The meals are all included in the price of your room. The choices are endless and the lunch buffet is served from 1-5. Everyday, I made sure to try something new. My favorite was to have a mug of hot chocolate and read by one of the fireplaces. The food alone made the trip worthwhile!

The surrounding scenery is almost too much for the eyes to take in. You aren't too far from Hinder Tux, a popular ski resort built on a glacier. I do not ski, but I took the cable car up to the top (as do many people) just to see the expanse of the Austrian Alps.

The hotel visitors are mostly families and couples. The hotel offers an amazing program for children so that their parents can relax all day in the spa. I was there by myself and there maybe one or two other people there alone.

The staff was friendly and gracious. English is not their first language, but I had no problem understanding directions to the glacier. I speak no German but found no problems on my entire trip to Austria.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! I had an amazing time and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jamajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 549 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2007

This is a difficult one, since there is nothing fundamentally wrong with the Stock hotel; in fact it is in a very nice setting, with lovely scenic mountain walks. It also offers nice large spotlessly clean bedrooms, (though hard uncomfortable beds), as well as a warm, almost overly friendly service.

However, if you are thinking of staying there, allow me a word of warning, which I wish I got before going.
This place is, at best, one big permanent party. Some people may enjoy that, and indeed most guests seemed very happy there; but my wife and I were hoping for a quiet retreat in the mountains for a week in summer, during a tour of Germany and Austria by car. Their brochure and website looked inviting enough. But quiet was simply not an option here. We just had to leave the hotel after two days. Incidentally, they refused to give me any refund, charging me for the whole stay.

To start, there was loud, irritating, cheesy music all over the place. ie; in the car park, the foyer, the lifts, the corridors, and yes, the bedrooms! though only there could it be thankfully switched off.
They like their canned music so much, they even let it play when they have some live music going on, creating one big cacophony.

Also, it should be known that this hotel was truly made for big families, and the children had taken over the whole place, giving the public areas an ambience of a school play ground, as they were monopolising the foyers, restaurants, gym, swimming pool, etc...
This, as far as I am concerned is simply not a place for couples.

No intimacy at all is to be found in the vast resaturant; there was little table service, and one had to plough through the chaotic self-service area, at breakfast, lunch, and dinner; a three times daily struggle. Room service did not exist, so you just had to play along. On top of this, It seemed every evening meal had a special theme to it, with the Oriental night, or the smart so called dressy night,etc... how immature is that?

And of course, all the activities on offer were only done in big groups, package style. If you didn't join in the fun, you would feel like some dejected outsider.

So, perhaps, the irritatingly omnipresent Stock Family should call their hotel a holiday camp; therefore giving a more accurate discription, thus informing their potential new customers, what they really are letting themselves in for.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
25  Thank travellingKoalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We took our two children (7 and 5) as well as my mother to this fantastic hotel just above Mayrhofen. What can I say ? The hosts were omnipresent, helpful and charming. The food abundant and of the highest quality, all facilities superbly appointed and faultlessly clean. We were lucky with the weather, which of course helps, but even on a rainy day, you are in for a special experience. Every day there is a different programme on offer for the youngest kids, older kids and adults alike. My children couldn't get enough, and keep asking to go back (so does my mother). I think the attention to detail and the very personal service are unique, and I have stayed in a good many top quality hotels over the years. The scenery is breathtaking, and it is easily reached from Innsbruck.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank FamilytravellerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Suiten sind geräumig und bieten ausreichend Platz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mit einer der Suiten sind sie immer gut bedient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james9954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfs2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finkenberg
7.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
Hotel Alpenhof Hintertux
#1 of 8 in Hintertux
636 reviews
20.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
2 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Alpin Spa Tuxerhof
6.2 mi away
Wellnesshotel Bergland
Wellnesshotel Bergland
#3 of 8 in Hintertux
184 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kinder- & Gletscherhotel Hintertuxerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STOCK resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STOCK resort

Address: Dorf 142, Finkenberg 6292, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Stock)
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Finkenberg
#1 Spa Hotel in Finkenberg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Finkenberg
Price Range: $546 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — STOCK resort 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Hotel STOCK Resort - An exclusive wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria - which brings together cordiality, charm & tradition, ensuring relaxation for body & soul The unique STOCK feeling enchants its guests 365 days a year. The 5000 m² SPA & beauty area provides pure relaxation. The STOCK provides an excellent service for singles, couples and families - a place for regeneration and leisure. Stock Diamond SPA & Beauty in the wellness hotel STOCK in Tyrol In the STOCK's beauty area guests can experience exceptional luxury. In 21 individually designed treatment rooms, among them a romantic bath, Ayurveda rooms and a Shiatsu and singing bowl room, exclusive treatments using Stock Diamond products - the only place in the world you'll find them - provide an unforgettable well-being holiday. Experience a wonderfully relaxing time in the luxurious, tranquil water bed rooms and in the heated outdoor 25 metre swimming pool. A visit to the log cabin sauna, the Kelo sauna and the herb and flower blossom steam baths complete an inspiring wellness experience; there are a total of 11 saunas in the STOCK resort. Sport & Vital in one of the most beautiful hotels in Austria In the STOCK Resort wellness hotel, skiing and hiking guides along with qualified fitness trainers provide healthy variety six days a week, whatever the season. In the new 190 m² Panorama Fitness Studio the majestic all-encompassing view, high-end equipment and bespoke personal training provided is impressive. Pleasure & cuisine at its most exclusive in this 5-star hotel in Tyrol Your day begins with a special balanced breakfast, made using fresh produce from the neighbouring farms. In the afternoon there is an extensive wellness buffet for your enjoyment. The first-rate 6-course dinner in the evening transforms the resort into a gourmet hub. Indulge in the hotel's own "Mount Stock" wines, enjoy the selection of the finest wines in our wine cellar, or sit back and relax in the Smokers Lounge. Every day in our Kaminhalle you get to relax and there are weekly highlights and live music. Family holiday in the STOCK wellness hotel in Tyrol / Austria Providing relaxation for parents, while meeting children's requirements - this Tyrolean family hotel, the STOCK resort, has managed to combine both. An educational, supervised programme of events for children and teenagers 7 days a week, the new Aqua Fun Park which has a 70 metre long tyre slide and a spacious family sauna, mean that fun and relaxation for all the family come together. Quality and Alpine lifestyle in the wellness hotel STOCK resort First-class comfort, which is defined by a wonderful combination of Tyrol charm and state-of-the-art facilities, sets the tone in the STOCK resort. All the rooms and suites are a place of calm for singles, couples and families. The new Alpine Lodge suites convey the STOCK feeling, as do the rooms, which are filled with character. Experience this unique well-being realm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your STOCK resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Stock Finkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing