We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”
Review of Hotel Eberl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eberl
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Finkenberg
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We travelled w/c 23rd March for a weeks skiing holiday, 2 adults and a 13 year old.

We stayed in a spacious triple room in the old part of the hotel which had an authentic Tirolean feel with a seperate toilet from the bathroom.

The hotel is well positioned with easy access to the silver mini buses for the gondola straight across the road. You can easily walk to the gondola (5 mins in normal shoes) if you want.

The staff are friendly and most speak reasonable english. The food is of an excellent standard and varied, and the relax centre is the finest we have encountered.

SKIING;
If you have booked ski hire with Crystal the collection point is directly opposite the gondola car park entrance and if your'e in ski school you can leave your skis in the school building up the mountain which saves you carrying them about.
The ski area is very large so you are spoilt for runs which are challenging.

We cannot add much to the extensive previous review other than this is a very good hotel and represents excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrishann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Eberl from 16-23 March this year and it was far beyond our expectations!

We flew through the Alps into Innsbruck (ski luggage is deposited outside of arrivals!) the transfer to Mayrhofen was 45 minutes, however after all the hotel drop off's there we made our way to Finkenburg which was 2 minutes up the hill so we were actually on the bus for 2hrs in total.

Restaurant:
We arrived at 8pm and the restaurant was quite busy due it being a Saturday night so the Crystal customers were sat on the mezzanine level which was fine.
The rest of the time we were allocated a table in the restaurant (same table everyday with your name card on it), morning was a hearty buffet of cold meats, yoghurts, cereals, hot stuff - scrambled eggs, sausages, boiled eggs. We usually went down at about 9am and there were some days when the hot food was running low but no big deal. Evening meals were on the table at breakfast so you could chose your main course (3 options to chose from each night) in advance.
Evening meals were amazing - you had a 5 course meal every night: starter, soup, salad buffet, main and dessert - we did not go hungry! All the food was lovely, soups were traditionally watery but yummy like French onion, the best starter was pear and gorgonzola risotto, mains were rabbit, curried chicken kebab, leg of lamb, pork steak etc and desserts were either a choice of ice cream or some sort of cake each night.
Drink prices were ok, large wine was €5 and large beer was €4.50, hot chocolate was €4 and we put them on a tab and paid at the end of the week.

The restaurant was nonsmoking, however smoking was allowed in the bar which is a shame as its not nice to chill in. The hotel wifi is chargeable but I wouldn't bother as its sooo slow and not worth €15 for the week and is only available in the bar area - if you ask the waiters nicely they will give you the code for free!

Room:
I emailed prior to arriving and asked to be put in the Michael side as it was my birthday, we had a double deluxe room which was big - Austrian beds, seating area, balcony overlooking the front (road can be a little noisy with cars and truck in the morning) bathroom had a double sink, towel rail, underfloor heating, bath with shower and toilet was separate and there was lots of wardrobe space (free safe in wardrobe). The rooms were pretty warm and we had the window open all week! There are also robes and slippers for the spa in the rooms.
The tour operators only have rooms in the Martin side (old side above reception and restaurant) but the rooms we saw when walking past looked fine, a little bit smaller and with an old TV not a flat screen but all channels are German anyway!

There is also a free ski room at bottom of the hotel that has its own entrance which you can only enter by the hotel keycard.

Spa:
Was amazing!!! It was built in 2010 and is at the bottom of the Michael side, I think our room (111) was directly above it. You walk down the corridor and have the Pool door on your right (only enter by room key card) and is open all day, this is a small pool with a jacuzzi jet seat at one end and is all mood lit, there are also lovely loungers around it that recline.
On the other side of the corridor is the door to the Spa (open 4pm-7:30pm) which has a small room with loungers and the infra-red solarium in, then a bigger room that has open showers, jacuzzi, foot bath, fog room, steam room and sauna - beware the Germans will walk around naked and frown at us Brits for having our costumes on but thats just the different cultures for you! They also have towels down and hairdryers available.

Location:
The hotel is located just as you come into Finkenburg (which is all on a uphill slope) the Finkenburg gondola is located out of the hotel, turn right and up the road for about 5 minutes in normal shoes (10 mintues in ski boots!) you can see it from the hotel. There is a free silver shuttle bus that picks up opposite the hotel every 10 minutes in the morning and afternoon which helps if you want a break from walking. There was only a queue for the gondola on the Sunday morning, otherwise we sailed through at about 10am everyday, the first gondola goes up to the mid-station then you get on another gondola right up to the top of the ski area, however you can ski down to the mid-station gondola from the top so it makes the end of the day trip a bit easier.
There is a SPAR supermarket about 200m up from the Finkenburg gondola station, we didn't eat out as we didn't need to so don't know about the restaurants, but there are 2 bars - both by the gondola station.
You can walk to Mayrhofen which takes about 45 minutes, there is a yellow sign opposite the hotel and you follow the route, or you can get the shuttle bus (Christphourous) that picks up from outside the church which is next to the hotel - beware its only free if you are in your ski gear otherwise its €2.70 per person each way.
The Green Line buses are the ones that take you round the ski area, it picks up just up from the church every 20 minutes morning and afternoon and goes to Mayrhofen-Finkenburg-Raskogel-Eggalm-Hintertux Glacier and vice versa - this is free and included in your lift pass. It takes 20 minutes to get to the glacier on the bus from Finkenburg as this is the only area out of those mentioned above you can't ski to.
You can get the free train to Zell am Ziller, by getting the bus to Mayrhofen station then the train for 10 minutes but we didn't do that but people said it was worth it.

Sorry for the epic review, but there was so much to write about, and there are not a lot of reviews on here for this hotel which is a shame.

We had an amazing time, room, food, spa were brilliant the location was perfect for us not wanting the liveliness of Mayrhofen!

Room Tip: Get a room in the 'Michael Side' the new bit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Louie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

As clients of Crystal, we picked the Eberl on the basis of its location; its ‘four star’ rating and its description as being ‘recently modernised and with a light airy feel.’ We were also looking forward to the pool and spa facilities

The pool was indeed four star, though much smaller than it appeared in pictures. After that, elements of the Eberl experience just about reached three star standard, no more. Careful re-reading and translation of TripAdvisor postings from other guests suggests that most of the hotel’s issues were not unique to our experience.

I started to get a little worried about our chosen accommodation when a week before we arrived I emailed some simple questions (twice - once in German, once in English) and it took them three days to reply (in German).

Our concerns started to increase when on arrival we were allocated a room (336) in the old part of the hotel (Haus Martin) which we refused to accept since the only view was of a balcony shared with three other rooms, totally without privacy and with other guests smoking right outside the window. When we complained they relented and gave us another room on the same floor, with a private balcony and views of the mountains, plus it was also further from the road, so quieter.

Whilst the rooms in 'Haus Michael' (the newer part) might be nice, ours was far from ‘recently modernised’. The bed was too short. The plumbing was old, with dripping taps and a poor shower. The only toiletries we were given all week were two tiny shampoo bottles and one bar of soap – no conditioner, body lotion, sewing kit etc. as one might usually expect with a 4 star rating. The towels and bath robes were disgracefully tatty - thin and very old. At the pool we felt like poor relations to Haus Michael guests, whose bathrobes looked fluffy and brand new. During our seven-day stay the sheets were not changed even once.

The hotel advertises cable TV and wifi access – however there were only Austrian/German channels on the ancient TV in our room and the wifi was non-existent - only available on the ground floor where the signal was so slow as to be virtually unusable. When we enquired about this we were actually told at one point that the signal was bad because it was snowing (!).

The dining room was pleasant, although all the Crystal guests were allocated tables in an inferior area on a mezzanine, up steep steps and a good walk from the buffet. On the first night several couples were asked to share a table, which we thought totally unacceptable. If you arrived for a later breakfast or dinner you would usually find a number of empty dishes. They refused to serve tap water at the tables - everyone soon stopped ordering mineral water after the first night when it became clear it was an exorbitant €2.40 for a 500ml bottle. The food was very Austrian in character (think meat, meat and more meat) and although not particularly special it was generally of reasonable quality (and they did always offer some kind of vegetarian alternative).

A particularly big issue for us was that there were no non-smoking areas downstairs except the dining room. The hotel attitude on this soon became clear when we noticed various members of the Eberl family sat around smoking themselves (including the chef in his whites). There is no sitting area except the bar and several times we were forced to move when someone sat down next to us and lit up. However the fire was the one thing that was never lit and the advertised ‘weekly live music’ didn’t materialise either.

For skiers – the 'five minute walk' to the gondola is optimistic (unless you’re capable of powerwalking uphill in ski boots). Ten is more realistic although there is a free ski bus every 30 minutes. The boot room at the Eberl is also inadequate for the number of guests and we suspected that the boot heaters only came on an hour or so before breakfast – after 15 years of skiing this was the first time we have ever had to put on boots wet with condensation because they weren't adequately dried overnight.

On top of all the physical issues with the hotel we were saddened by the off-hand attitude of the family and staff. The reception was often unattended and we once had to wait nearly 10 minutes to get anyone to help with queries. Service was disinterested, only the minimum necessary and no attempt to chat or engage with the guests. I once waited over five minutes at the bar to order a cup of tea whilst the barman chatted with some locals, distributed free schnapps and had one himself whilst he was at it. Eventually I gave up and went upstairs, dreaming of the last lovely 4 star hotel we’d booked with Crystal in January (where amongst many positives was the mini bar, kettle and free hot drinks facility in our room).

Finkenberg itself did prove a good choice for accessing the extensive skiing of the Mayrhofen and wider Zillertal ski area, which we very much enjoyed. Shame about the Hotel Eberl, which overall we would describe as tired, unfriendly and very disappointing. Usually we like the idea of 'family run' places because they try so hard to be welcoming and provide good service - in this case the attitude was a bit arrogant, perhaps better described as 'resting on your laurels.' Definitely not 4 star despite the price.

Room Tip: Haus Michael is the new part of the hotel, Haus Martin is cheaper but about 2.5 star not 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Delphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our first stay at the Hotel Eberl and with two teenage sons we were in the Zillertal valley for a skiing holiday. The hotel is wonderfully traditional and has been in the Eberl family for many years. More than one generation of the family are very visible in running the hotel and their staff very courteous and helpful – Franz makes the best cocktails if retiring to the bar after dinner. There has been a significant amount of investment in the hotel infrastructure in recent years and the traditional facade belies the fact that a luxurious spa and newer accommodation have been tastefully added to the hotel. We were staying in an older but spacious room at the front which was next to a busy road. A good balcony and views though. The rooms and hotel were immaculately clean and the food very wholesome. Finkenberg is a quieter village but very well connected by regular bus services to all parts of the valley. We were there for New Year and the impromptu firework displays at midnight throughout the village were spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend the hotel for those wanting something reliable, comfortable and traditional in a beautiful part of the valley.

Room Tip: If you want a peaceful night's sleep, best not to be next to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked a couple of days before arrival by e-mail. Our room, unfortunately, was located in front of a stable. A pity we weren't informed up front. On arrival we had to find our room ourselves. Staff didn't provide any additional information/explanation. We didn't experience the typical Austrian hospitality like we were used to. Only one of the waitresses was very kind.

Breakfast was fairly well. We expected a bit more variety in bread though. Half board dinner was ok.

Welness part was very well. And the swimming pool was the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchFamily4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week in February and was not disappointed! This was our first skiing holiday as a family and our sons first ski trip and we had a fantastic time. On arriving at the hotel we were checked in by the lovely lady on reception and had our bags taken to our room. The room was lovely overlooking the mountains, very warm in them though and could not turn the heating down. The food was wonderful..very creative and a really good choice of meals. You picked what main you wanted n the morning for that night. It was four courses each night so you will never go hungry! Finkenberg itself offered fantastic skiing and we were blessed with really good weather. Our son loved ski school and could not believe how fast he picked it up going there, we have been to many resorts over the years and this definetly up there as a favourite. This was a truly amazing holiday in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location and we will definetly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanneclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked with crystal hol for skiing the top floor rooms were adequate and possible due for a upgrade, but with the fantastic well being area including sauna pool more than made up for it.
The food was good and the staff friendly.
The ski lift was a 5 min walk uphill but you could catch a bus.
Also make sure you get your skis from Stocks hire shop across the road, a good service and saves you a long walk if you get from Crystal.
The hotel has free wifi but only on the ground floor.
Great holiday

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finkenberg
0 mi away
Hotel Neuwirt
Hotel Neuwirt
#7 of 10 in Finkenberg
19 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elisabeth Hotel Premium Private Retreat
1.4 mi away
Hotel Edenlehen
Hotel Edenlehen
#6 of 39 in Mayrhofen
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
Hotel Finkenbergerhof
#4 of 10 in Finkenberg
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferienhotel Aussicht
Ferienhotel Aussicht
#6 of 10 in Finkenberg
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Resort M&M
Mountain Resort M&M
#2 of 10 in Finkenberg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eberl

Address: Dorf 131, Finkenberg 6292, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Finkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Finkenberg
#6 Spa Hotel in Finkenberg
Price Range: $110 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eberl 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eberl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eberl Hotel Finkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing