We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,084)
Filter reviews
11,084 results
Traveler rating
5,567
2,794
1,311
751
661
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,567
2,794
1,311
751
661
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand palladium sports bar lady hamilton side jerk hut main pool ocean view montego bay a la carte restaurants jerk chicken steak sunset cove beach water aerobics italian restaurant seafood entertainment team rick's cafe red stripe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 11,084 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

This review is long over due, but sometimes life gets busy so i'm doing this now over a years later. On Oct 31/18, I had my amazing wedding at the Grand Palladium. Just over 100 people attended my wedding from Canada. All my Family and friend loved and enjoyed this resort. There isn't really any thing to complain about, the a la cartes are slow, but the food is amazing. The one thing that everyone did complain about is putting on weight. :) Since I was 6 yrs old, I've been going on Vacations at least 2 times a yr and out off all the resort that I have been to, this is 1 of my favorites. Me and my husband loved it so much that we are planning to go back again this yr. Since my wedding, I have had another family member get married there in Aug. 2019 and this year I have another family member getting married there in June 2020.

For the wedding I was assigned a coordinator (Twanya Allen), she was amazing. Even thought we only communicated through emails, everything was perfect. Everything that I requested was done. The day of the wedding she was there every step on the way and made sure everything ran smoothly.

Room tip: Try to get a room close to lobby so you don't have to go far.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sherryamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnricoPezzoli, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear sherryamanda,

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy that you chose to celebrate such a wonderful moment at our resort, and thrilled that everything went splendidly. The team here at the Grand Palladium, is always happy when our guests are completely satisfied with the service received during their time with us. We appreciate the kind comments you made about our amenities, and absolutely ecstatic that our amazing team members went above and beyond to make your wedding day one you will never forget. It would be our pleasure to have another opportunity to have you with us again and we hope you will continue to choose the Palladium brand.

Best wishes,

Enrico Pezzoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

What a lovely resort on a beautiful island. It was our first time and we were glad we tried Jamaica and the GPJ.

We travelled via Sunwing (using TUI planes) for one week in January 2020. The flights each way were delayed by weather, which cannot be blamed, but the results were a late evening arrival that meant we missed seeing anything from the bus, and a return wait of 5 hours at Montego Bay airport; ah, the joys of travel.

But the transfers to and from the resort were easy, fast, efficient and (unusually in our experience) perfectly on-time; well done.

Check-in (and out) were fast, friendly and faultless. Our top floor room in villa 16 was large, comfortable and spotless. Its balcony was spacious with a drying rail built in, and looked over the garden and covered walkway. The villa is open in the centre, looking down to a small, tranquil reflecting pool in the centre, which is suggestive of very pretty 16th century Islamic architecture.

The only problem with that layout was when a girl on our landing decided to have a very loud, profanity-laden and prolonged hissy fit at her significant other - complete with thundering on the door and slamming it repeatedly - at 3:00 AM one morning; the security people got her to shut up and move on, and thanks for that.

The cleaning staff did a great job, the towels are thick, and the mini-bar attendant finally understood me and removed the Bud Light, replacing it with much better Jamaican Red Stripe beer; thanks.The toiletries are OK and were replaced when needed or requested.

The only downside to our room was that the beds and furniture are wearing out quicker these days, because lots of the guests today (based on our time at the GPJ) seem to be really, really overweight, which is tough on the infrastructure: our (still nicely firm and high quality) king bed was clearly coming to its end.

The resort is stunning and its upkeep is excellent. The site is split into 2 housing blocks (Jamaica and Lady Hamilton) with most of the service buildings between them.

The "Travel Club" sales sharks cruise in the centre, sweetly offering a welcome gift (if you don't mind investing hours of sales pitch for fractional ownership in exchange for something you don't need). But they can be brushed off with polite firmness. They are really only trying to earn a dollar like everyone else - so please be kind.

The site is on a curving bay with a couple of small coves within. There are also little promontories that stick out to form small look-out and seating areas. The result is you can usually find a nice place along the beaches that suit you if you are not pool people; we are not.

We went each day to Sunset Cove, which is a sheltered quiet oasis with its own bar and a jerk chicken hut, plus a fish restaurant. The beach and swimming were excellent there.

The main pool is huge and split into shallow and really shallow areas. Because most people stood around the swim-up bar, there was lots of room to swim in the main pool. We also went to a small, quiet pool that is hidden behind the trees and shrubs, and that was a little peaceful haven too.

The food was pretty good at the buffets, and we tried the Japanese, Jamaican and Indian a la cartes. The Indian and Jamaican were very good; everyone should try the Jamaican fruit cake and ice cream at that a la carte. The Japanese food was OK but the place was let down by its lack of ambiance and really spoilt by the loud folks screaming in the Tepanyaki restaurant section next door, Several people left our side quickly to get some peace. The restaurant staff in general were very nice and tried hard to please.

The buffet excelled at many things, like the oatmeal, poached eggs and hot chocolate at breakfast, the curried goat and chicken at lunch, the braised oxtail and jerk chicken at night. The grape nut and coconut ice creams (among some other great flavours) were brilliant. The fish was pretty good too. We would have liked more cheese choices, more tropical fruit and lots more tropical veggies, but I guess when so many guests come with "no surprise" and "no-risk" tastes, it is tough to please us all. But there were also lots of other choices, from pasta and omelette stations, through salads and meat carving stations, to gooey sweet donuts and similar stuff.

The Coffee Shop (Miss Lou's) was great for really nice specialty coffees - and cakes if that is your thing.

There were 2 main types of entertainment: in the Theatre from 9 to 10; and then on a large Terrace (the Infinity Bar area) afterwards. There was also pre-show music at the Infinity Bar. The Theatre Shows were mostly very good, with just a few duds. The entertainment MC, Andre, needs some lessons in how to get an audience going using comedy, good timing and fun, rather than just telling us repeatedly to make noise when we clearly were not very impressed. And to think they are still doing this in 2020?

We have found this stuff with MCs at other Grand Palladiums; and it is time for a fresh approach.

We went on two excursions: 1. a day in the country, with bamboo river rafting at Lette, a banana plantation presentation and a Pina Colada "seminar", via the Sunwing rep Keisha (a great lady); and 2. a private hire tour with JUTA of the Rose Hall Great House (learning about the evil While Witch Annie Palmer), the Mo' Bay cultural centre, and the Rocklands Bird Sanctuary.

Both were superb days, and we met some wonderful guides and experts along the way. Jason the raft boatman at Lette is wonderful at explaining the fauna and flora of the river and the country with much enthusiasm and respect for life, and Dalton is a humorous and spell-binding expert on all things that grow on the island.

The Mo'Bay cultural tour should be mandatory for all visitors to the area, IMO.

"Bones" at JUTA is the most pleasant and knowledgable companion and driver for a day, and the experience of hand feeding wild humming birds and finches at the Rockland Sanctuary is not easily forgotten.

The staff are, almost without exception, friendly, out-going, very proud of their island and want you to love it too.

We came away from our short time there relaxed and were glad we visited, both Jamaica itself and the GPJ Resort.

Room tip: The higher the number of the Grand Palladium Jamaica villa building is, the longer the walk is back to the restaurants and lobbies.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kingsville_Hemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnricoPezzoli, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear Kingsville_Hemmel,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic time at our resort and it's great to hear that you took the opportunity to explore and enjoy our wonderful amenities, daily festivities, as well as the great service provided by our team members. Although there were aspects during your vacation that were less than favourable, we are happy that it did not mar your vacation experience. Your return is being anticipated and we hope it will be soon.

Regards,

Enrico Pezzoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Surprised my wife with this trip for her Birthday last week. The resort is so Beautiful, the staff is so friendly.. We had the best time.. The food at all 10 restaurants was really good, which was a surprise. The spa was everything, and they make you feel like royalty.. I would recommend this resort to anybody.. We are already booking a return trip for this summer with our kid .

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cornellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnricoPezzoli, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Dear Cornellius,

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your time at our beautiful resort. We are thrilled that you decided to share such a wonderful occasion with us and pleased that we were able to cater to your every need, as well as making this experience worth your while.

It was our utmost pleasure having you with us and we hope to celebrate more special moments with in the future.

Best wishes,

Enrico Pezzoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

My experience was well spent with the instructors at the grand palladium the instructors was well experience and we were able to do the workout as they teach showing modifications for all ages keeping everyone moving.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank V9424QTangelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnricoPezzoli, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear V9424QTangelas,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our ambiance and atmosphere. We are especially happy that the dedication of our instructors aided in your stay being a fulfilling one.

We do hope to host your in the near future.

Regards,

Enrico Pezzoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Amazing class amazing instructor. If you are here definitely join Shamarie’s yoga class. I highly recommend. He’s very motivated always see that your form is corrected back at home they don’t normally correct you..

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 240nairaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnricoPezzoli, General Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear 240nairaa,

We are delighted to hear that you are having such a wonderful time with us. It is pleasing that you were able to participate in our yoga session with our dedicated teammate Shamarie. Thank you for taking the time out to highlight your experiences so far.

Hosting you is a pleasure! Do continue having a blast!

Sincerely,

Enrico Pezzoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews