We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People are crazy..... this resort is fantastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Beautiful room, gorgeous views, friendly staff, delicious food (recommend the India restaurant and the mexican restaurant), sunset cove beach is the best with snorkeling, parasailing and kayaking, good nightly entertainment, strong but fabulous drinks (don't order the Bob Marley unless you want to get drunk quick) and great pool area with lots of fun activities (recommend the water aerobics with Superman, a real workout). Yes there are tiles missing in the pool, but so what. Check before you go though, we heard they are going to drain the main pool and repair tiles. Don't know when. When it rains, go the the spa area and relax in the large outdoor hot tub. We chaperoned a group of 18 high school graduates and would recommend this resort to anyone. We plan on going back very soon. Don't listen to all the negative reviews. You will have a great time. Our group went to Mystic Mountain in Ocho Rios. It is a two hour drive, but worth it. You ride a sky glider up 700 feet through the rain forest with the Caribbean sea as your backdrop, eat at the restaurant on top of the mountain, ride the bobsled and zip line down. Watch out for the vertical drop though. Fun but scary!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,873)
There are newer reviews for Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,937 - 5,943 of 6,873 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

We read the reviews, but only after our friends had already booked their vacation here so we were stuck. I must say that every review I read was true. We had a good time, but would not recommend this hotel. Here's my 2 cents:
* We had to change rooms because the bathroom ceiling was leaking from the shower above us. We called maintenance multiple times & could not get anyone to look at the problem before finally being moved.
* After moving into our new room we could smell the people smoking in the room next to us while laying in our bed w/the window/door shut.
* Our shower took only a few minutes before it overflowed & flooded the entire bathroom (rm 1623). Nobody seemed to care about any of this. I realize their culture is "no worries" mon, but it became a little rediculous.
* Don't get too upset if you never get wash clothes regardless of tipping.
* The A/C is not the best, but hey it's Jamaica.
* Understand you're 50 miles from the nearest anything so excursions are an all day event.
* The beaches are a little to be desired (rocks & reefs).
* The pool has tiles missing.
* The restaurants are not all that bad (you only need long pants for restaurants upstairs, which are only open at night). You can still go to the buffet or italian restaurant in shorts (both main floor). The sports bar has food late (limited menu - I think only hamburgers/fries after a certain time. Some wait staff were friendly while others were not.
* The walk to the restaurants is long, but call the bell hop & they'll pick you up pretty quickly in a golf cart.
* Take a large insulated mug for drinks & tip a buck or two for extra rum.
* The infiniti bar (upstairs by pool) is a better bar & you don't have to wait long for drinks
* The Ms Lou's is next to infiniti bar (inside w/AC) and top shelf drinks
* We did not have any problems with exchanging/returning our beach towels.
* I would definitely visit sunset cove beach for more peace & quiet, but if you're on the other end of the resort, pack a lunch it's a hike. They serve food there w/full bar (get some jerk chicken)
* We did a couples massage and it's was good.
* There is a very large hot tub up by the spa, which is pretty popular late at night.
* Yes the drivers in Jamaica are a little aggressive (hug the line, tailgate, pass when it's not that safe) but we made it home safe
* We did the zip line tour, which was awesome.
* We did the snorkling tour at sunset cove, which was very weak (saw two very small fish)
That's all I got and I hope it helps you make a decision as to where you stay in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABORSTEIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Before I get into the hotel review I MUST MUST MUST recommend Clive's Transport. Clive himself was our driver to the hotel and on our day excursion to Negril. On our excursion he showed us much more than just Time's Square shopping and Ricks Cafe. He showed us Fort Charlotte (which overlooks the Grand Palladium), Times Square, the Negril lighthouse, 7 mile beach, Ricks Cafe, and the Best In The West Jerk Chicken stand.

Now on to the hotel...
Before leaving I, like everyone else, read a lot of bad reviews and even considered switching hotels at the last minute.

Upon arrival we got a prompt check-in (Rooms 2309 and 2310), a porter to assist with out bags and drive us to the villa in which we would be staying. Walked into the room and everything was about as expected, bed, living area, bathroom, closet with safe, etc. The one thing missing was the "card slot" that I read was supposed to keep the A/C on. Our A/C was not card operated, so I don't know where this came from?!? The shower head is hand held, so here is what you do to keep your bathroom floor from getting soaked. Attach the shower head to the mounting bracket then aim the head straight down. Our only complaint was the humidity, but that's not the hotels fault.

We did see workers working on what looked like main line plumbing, so the hotel knows of its short comings and is trying to remedy the problems.

Yes, there are missing pool tiles. You don't need water shoes or anything like that. I was even using my feet to pick up loose tiles and set them aside, so they aren't sharp or dangerous. Just use common sense...

The buffets and restaurants were good. There is a dress code for men at the a la carte restaurants, and denim jeans do count as long pants. We aren't big into seafood, Asian or Indian food, so we didn't eat at those restaurants. However, we did eat at and loved the Pastafarian and Bubba's Steakhouse. Both had great food.

The buffet food is about like you'd expect for a large resort. It's not the best food in the world, but surely you can find something that you like. Some of the foods taste just like fast food here in the states. For example the chicken nuggets are just like McDonald's McNuggets. I consider myself a picky eater, but I had no problem finding food to eat. Keep this in mind though... Like with any buffet in the world, if you get your food after it's been setting out for a while, it probably won't taste as good as when it was fresh. That being said they do have a few made-to-order items (i.e. hamburgers, steak fillets, chicken, pasta, etc.)

Our group felt that the service was top-notch, the entire hotel staff were more than friendly. Do bring plenty of $1's. Tips aren't expected, but they are appreciated. Jamaica is a poor country and they work hard to make sure you are having a good time. We made an effort to tip just as we would here in the states and we received great service everywhere we went. There are people stationed throughout the hotel that always seemed to have a smile and say hello.

This is a large spread out resort, so if you are staying in a building that is far from the main resort area expect to take some time to walk to the main resort building(s). We were in villa 23 on the Jamaica side and it took us about 5 minutes to walk to the main area. If walking is not your thing you can call the front desk and they will arrange for a cart to come pick you up. We only did then when we left because we had our luggage and they were at our villa within 5 to 10 minutes.

Clive, our driver told us: "If you look for problems, you will find them. Just remember that and everything will be i-rey (all right). " And he was right, we had a blast! Not everything was perfect, but I don't expect perfection at every turn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kawititnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Book now for a great time, good entertainment, great food choices, friendly staff and lots of things to do . The scenery is to die for . At nights the hotel looks like an elegant ship just floating along.The sunset cove beach is good for swimming while the beach on the Jamaica side is good for snorkling.The front desk staff needs more training in communication. There are visitors pass for day and nighttime which is very good unlike most of the other all inclusive hotels. I definetly recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pek89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We just got back from a lovely week at the palladium! the hotel is very well planned out and has pretty much everything one could ask for! Because we've been all over the carribean before, and to jamaica and were very nervous when we saw all the crappy reviews afterbooking! luckily none of them were actually justified.
Theresort is new, there are a few loose wires, cracks and 25 second power outages; however its such aspacious and luxurious property the minor details arent significant. in fact the property is so sweet that theres usually a wedding or 2 daily

the rooms are spacious, clean and pretty. they even provide you with an IPOD deck and a 32" plasma, and of course the jacuzzi.our maid was awesome! because its an ecofriendly hotel you need to actually request new towels and cleaning, which requires simply hanging a sign!!

the food is awesome, the a la carte dinners are unlimited unlikemost otherresorts, and are truly very good!we loved themexican italian and indian places..the steak house was the best hence the crazy line ups

the entertainment is pretty extensive: day time, kids stuff, nighttime theres shows and a live band.. really nice... 24 hour food atthe sports bar and beer....along with pool, sports, ping pong .... theres a disco, an arcade a faux casino with slot machines.. a nice variety of things to do! they even have a cute littlecigar lounge

the beach is relatively nice, not as nice as Negril but much nicer than other countries..if you goto sunset cove watch out for the holes in the beach those are crab holes..theres a bunch of them sllover sunset cove!

the staff were overall really friendly: tips arent demanded by them however like everywhere else, people appreciate being tipped for the good service they provide!everybody all around welcomed you and was really sweet and theres even security patroling the resort saying hello just to make everybody feel safe!

we didnt go in to the main pool but it was massive and there were a bunch of other ones!

the property is giant but we lived in one of the furthest buildings and yes it was an 8 minute walk to the lobby...but its JAMAICA besides if you are really lazy you can call a little cabby cart, or simply wait for one they go around every 10 minutes!

the only crappy part was that they werent good at front desk communication and we had to really flip out to get a late check out (our flight was at 9 pm and the standard check out is 12 noon, which wouldve left us roomless for 6 hours with our stuff) they do provide you with 'courtesy' safe and luggage lock up and communal showers..but they do accomodate late check outss if you really insist!


GREAT resort really recommend it!! it was spotless, upkept brilliantly and very well planned out!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

If you have already booked your trip, relax, you are going to have an amazing vacation. If you haven't already booked and you're looking for five-star service, well, this isn't for you. But, if you're looking for a relaxing vacation at a reasonable price, then I would definitely recommend this place.

-- Bring your own insulated mug only if you are going to be drinking beer. Otherwise, they put the same amount of alcohol in the drinks and fill the rest of the mug up with mix. You're drinks will be much stronger in the cups that they give you. Tipping at the bars will not get you better service. As an aside, bring a insulated water bottle and ask them to fill it up with ice & water - perfect for when you lie at the beach.

-- We never experienced the power going out... but on the other hand, we were at the pool the majority of the time. I guess if you hang around inside your room all day, you'll be affected by power outages.

-- Yes, if you are in the caribbean during the summer - it will be humid & hot. The rooms, despite the air conditioner running all day, were still not as comfortable as what we are used to at home. My hair never really ever dried, but that wasn't the hotel's fault - it's the climate, mon.

-- Bring lots & lots of $1s, $5s and $10s. Small bills are great for tipping both inside and outside of the resort.

-- Our maid left two clean towels each day, so no complaints in that department. Since it's so humid, the towels will remain damp which might pose a problem to some who take multiple showers a day. Hint: They leave a stack of towels out near the restroom in the upstairs lobby - if two clean towels a day are not enough for you, just grap a couple as you're making your way back to your room from the pool.

-- Showers are not broken, it's just a faulty design. Of course water will leak when the shower head points directly towards an unsealed shower door. Just don't turn the water up full blast, or better yet, hold the removable shower head in your hand.

-- Do not buy an international calling card in the States to use while there as there's a government restriction and you won't be able to use it. If you need one, they sell them all over the resort for $20.

-- Bring watershoes, snorkeling gear (if you have it) and a deck of playing cards. Wear watershoes in the pool if you are really freaked out about the missing tiles (which aren't a big deal at all) and if you decide to take the Dunn's River Falls excursion they are a requirement. Snorkeling is great for first-timers and kids; if you're a pro, you might be a little disappointed.

The resort is huge, but I was surprised how most of the restaurants and bars are all clustered in the same area. The breakfast buffet was by far the best meal of the day, the Indian restaurant was great (no lines ever, which was a plus), and the jerk chicken at Sunset Cove was amazing. All the other food was ok, not the best, but definitely edible.

The disco wasn't really happening and the entertainment, well.... hey, at least they tried.

At the end of the day, your vacation is what you make it

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elena_in_virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Where to start?? We Stayed on the Jamaica side of the resort from June 11 until the 18th. We arrived early and from the very beginning we all knew this was going to be GREAT! straight to check in and they told us it would be a bit before i room was ready. No problem MON. we went and had lunch came back about 45 minutes later and we were all set.We stayed in villa 17 room 36, and may I say perfect. Yes this is a big resort, so if you don't want to walk, just call they will be happy to pick you up..We did walk alot but wiyh all you eat you had better exercise. Now the staff, From the bellboys to the front desk and everyone in between, THIS WAS THE BEST CUSTOMER SEVICE I HAVE EVER SEEN! Entertainment crew,all I can say is get ready to get involved. They want you to have fun all the time. My daughter was busy from the first day. If you don't want to participate they will let you slide.Thanks Superman and 007, this is a vacation myself ,wife and daughter will not soon forget. The food: May i say we were spoiled. We ate more food in our weeks stay than two weeks at home.(Thats why we walked alot.lol) plenty of variety and choices. We did all agree that Bubba's was the best. Every buffet and ala cart were excellant.
The room: Big, clean, well stocked everyday. From towels to the minibar. I know tips are included but we did tip a little to the maid everyday and was worth every penny. I have nothing negative at all to say about our stay other than it was not long enough. only left the resort one day to go to Dunn's river falls and we all had a great time. If you have booked, go open minded and what a surprise you will see. I read every review for 3 months prior to our trip and i must say it was 100 times better than we could have imagined. By the way No problem Mon. Be sure to visit Clyde at the Infinite bar, He is the man.......

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
6  Thank tandjlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,163 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $236 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing