We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Honeoye Falls, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice place...........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

We (couple) were with a tour group of about 100 people in Feb. 2009. We were fortunate to all be booked in the bungalows on the penisula of the hotel. The rooms were absolutely georgeous. I would recommend the upstairs as we had the most ideal view of the beach. The staff were nice, not overly friendly, but attentive to any request that we had during our stay.
The only negatives were the hard beds and the delay in dining in the ala carte restaurants. Otherwise the place was fabulous. We had already pre-purchased tours but checked out the tour desks at the hotel and they were as reasonable as our pre-purchased tours (recommend zip-lining).
Internet connection was not a real reliable system, the only place we found it to work was the Lady Hamilton lobby area. You can use the internet cafe or purchase time cards to use in your room. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank margotkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,390
    2,032
    982
    549
    479
See reviews for
1,994
2,615
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,786)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

My husband and I were at the Lady Hamilton side of the Grand Pallidium from March 1st thru March 8th. We have been to different parts of Jamaica on 10 different trips and have found this hotel to be the most costly with the worst customer service that we ever encountered. After traveling a long way we were greeted by the rudest reception area personal named Dominic. He started an argument about when we would get our room which was way past the 3 o'clock check in and told the other 2 very nice reception girls not to help us get into our room and made us sign a paper stating the room was not ready when all we wanted to do was change into our suits and get into the water. Really made the beginning of our vacation irritating.The checkout girl also was rude, not even a smile-how was your stay at our hotel or thank-you for anything????? We spent alot of money at this hotel and didn't feel very welcome at all. We also were locked out of our room for at least 45 minutes, were told Maintainance would come and fix the lock and never showed up. Food was okay, could alway's find something. Mattresses were terrible, couldn't get a solid good nights sleep with them being rock hard. Alway's out of Red Stripe beer unless you went in the early afternoon. Maids did a great job of cleaning the room other than never bringing more than 1 washcloth. The weather wasn't very good but that isn't the hotels fault but they should have more entertainment as it was lacking at night. The spa was great for massages but none of the hot tubs were working. All in All---not worth the money to go there--much better hotels in Jamaica with a better Management staff. Also, the dive shop was great and the story was slightly different about the divers getting left behind at sea and my husband had no problem diving and enjoyed the staff. Snorkeling was good at Sunset Beach but to rough on the other 2 beaches. Would never go back to this resort or any other Grand Pallidium hotels.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pootie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TO Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I returned from The Grand Palladium Jamaica On March 8th. We enjoyed EVERY minute of our stay..From the food-fresh and delicious to the suite we stayed in which was clean equipped with breath taking scenery only steps from the ocean ..This is merly the beginning of our experience now memories of this resort .
The staff were friendly the culture intreaging and the weather was good as well. There are amazing shows by night with an entertainment crew to be proud of!! From the disco and live music, dancing and fantastic shows to the many bars throughout the resort, there were always many activities to chose from. All of the bartenders and staff made us feel as if we had known them forever! Be sure to say whats up Mon to Clive the bartender should you deside to visit the resort. Our tours were fun and allowed us to learn and see allot bout the Jamaican Culture. The only downfall was the beds were a little firm compaired to what we are used to at home but....come on....This resort is a must see..Afterall you aint going there for the beds!!
The swim up bar tender was great, the water a little chilly but refresshing after laying in the sun all day. It is a large property with many places to hang out or just kick back and relax. Finding a chair-NEVER an issue either. We have stayed at many resorts and plan to return back to Jamaica again this year!! This resort suits every type of travelor and occation. TRULEY A MUST SEE.
Just be pre paired to smile relax and have fun!! NO PROBLEM MON!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobaloui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

The worst vacation I've ever been on. I've NEVER had any complaints of the many vacations that I've taken but this is one I must warn people about. Staff at the resort were very rude and unwilling to accomodate. My luggage did not arrive with me at the Montego Bay airport, but did come in on a flight a few hours after mine so the air lines sent my luggage to the resort. The resort failed to give me my luggage after a day and a half with many phone calls (at my expense). Many items were missing from my luggage. To make this short here is a list of problems we encountered......could not get wash cloths, towels, pool was dirty, hot tubs were not working, T.V. never worked, lost power in the room (blown fuses), no room service, phone didn't work in the room, very rude staff, casino is a joke. Will not be back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhdinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

A very nice resort...yes there were repairs going on, but guess what that happens everywhere (2 star or 5 star) and none of the repairs interfered with what we were doing.
Lots of space...yes walking, but when you have as many buffet restaurants, ala cartes and 13 bars then guess what the walking is good for you. Speaking of exercise it had a very nice gym and spa.
There are lots of different places to suntan - pools, beaches, sunset cove, etc. Never an issue with getting a chair or towels...plenty of both.
The sports bar is well equipped and fun as is the late night dance club. There was great entertainment each night - check out the steel drum performers, great!
We never encountered lineups but think about it....there are a lot of people so time your dinners at the ala cartes appropriately (if there was a wait then you got a pager so you didn't have to hang out waiting for a table) - never an issue at the buffets.
Nice pools...but cold, but refreshing when it's Jamaica hot - make sure you go to the Roselle Bar and say Hi to Simone!
The alcohol was fine....not sure why people wrote in about not having brand name booze. Appletons is everywhere and is a great rum! By-the-by try Rum Cream on the rocks!
Red Stripe seved at Miss Liu....other bars had Real Rock another Jamaican Beer just as good.
The room was great - bed was firm (hard).
If you are looking for shopping then this is not the place to go.....it is really not near any town - but you can take a cab to where you want to go. Gift shops at the resort are expensive.
Internet cafe was good...but it's not free 18 US$ per hour.
Staff were friendly....some truly understood customer service while others were just not as sharp.
All-in-all a very nice trip and a nice resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJBTAH6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Hey,i used this site alot while waiting to go to jamaica...we stayed at the grand palladium jamaica,,my brither was married there,and it was great...the food is good,lots to chose from,but nothing was very hot on the buffets..other than that food is great...good disco,good sports bar..the casino is awsome..just opened the 2 last day we were there...the staff is great..leroy at the pool bar ,and roy at the beach bar ,thesee guys are awsome..tip them well...they work for it...they are making the beaches nice,they work throught the night,close to the rooms,but your not in your room much so its ok...this place is the biggest resort i have seen yet,lots of walking..but just call,and they will pick you up...cool limo golf carts...lots of activities,games ...really a lot of fun....so once ya go ya know,,,,check it out!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We had a great relaxing time. We stayed in Villa 11 which is centrally located to the Infinity pool and restaurants and activities. We have been to other all inclusives and the food here was the best so far. Loved not having to make reservations for the ala carte. We never had to wait for a table no matter which resteraunt we chose for the evening. The room was great. Loved the spa tub. There is a nice variety of places to sun depending on your mood - inifinity pool with activities, relax pool with the greates bartender Simone, or one of the three beaches. yes the beaches aren't the greatest but still ok. IYes the beds are hard, but that is about the only thing I can think of that was bad. If you embrace the culture of no problem and relax you will have a great time here.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thrash29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing