We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from 10 days at this great place. We were in block 34 which was nice and quiet. Fantastic view of the sea from our balcony. We had a great meal at the steak restaurant. Also went to Italian and Chinese, both were nice meals but we were happy with the buffet. Overheard an English man having a right go about the food to the young girl that seats you. Felt so bad for her that I went over and apologized and said that not all English are like that and that we had no complaints about the food. If people want to complain they really ought to find the right person to complain to.
Always plenty of sunbeds available, whatever time of day you go to the main pool or one of the beaches.
Couple of tips, departure tax is cheaper if you pay in Jamaican dollars and don't tip your maid too early as ours started to forget to do things, only small things so not overly bothered.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HandSi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear HandSi34,

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the luxurious accommodations to the delicious meals which were had. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,364 - 3,370 of 6,956 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and we enjoyed every bit of the stay. This was our first trip to Jamaica and it couldn't have been better. The hotel staff throughout the resort is courteous and helpful if you need anything. Plenty of restaurants on the resort to choose from but only 3 out of 5 are open on any given day which is mentioned ahead of time. The food in my opinion was great but not everyone might enjoy it or get tired of it? There are shows every evening at 930pm in the theater area which is always entertaining. If I could recommend anything it would be to make sure you BUY everything you need from home and bring it otherwise you will be spending 3 times as much to get it in the gift shop. A bug spray was $35 dollars??? seriously? This is what you pay for convenience. Sunscreen can be up to $15. Aqua shoes $15. Anyways that's what you get for forgetting and having to purchase them onsite. We went Zip lining, tubing, Dune's waterfall climb and a bit of snorkeling. All the activities are great and we had a great time overall. We would definitely go again to the same resort but be better prepared for the extras that will be needed.

Room Tip: We had building 21 and the view was overlooking another building which was no big deal. The room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prakash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We chose the Grand Palladium Jamaica last minute. We were very happy. The only negative is the beach, but if you go knowing the beach is poor or you're not beach people, this place is wonderful. We usually go to Mexico or the Dominican Republic, but will definitely go back to Jamaica. The staff all over the place was SO happy--singing, saying hello, loved it. Put us in a good mood. Martin at the pool bar was so friendly. The food was wonderful and a wonderful change from the food we usually have in Mexico, which we also love. Jamaican jerk is nothing like jerk back home. As several other reviewers have said, visit the Jerk Hut. Excellent! As the staff said, "it's how we cook it" and they're right. We never had to wait to go the speciality restaurants, which you do not have to make reservations for, but we usually eat before 7:00. Some of the other chains should learn from this (Dreams is also the same way); usually, the restaurants are not completely filled at the other resorts--if you can't fill them, why have all the space? I believe the rooms were very nice, updated, large--no problems I can think of. It took me a while to get used to the fact that Jamaicans move at a slower pace than the rest of us, but no problem!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suejnml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear suejnml,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. There was never a moment where we were wondering what we should do. There is a special beach dedicated to sports and games and is still welcoming to sunbathers. We tried most of the restaurants and they were all wonderful. The only complaint we would have would be that the jets in the pools within the pool didn't work, it wasn't that big of a deal just something we noted. Everyone on the staff was WONDERFUL everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Kimberly at the front desk dealt with us a lot and she went above and beyond to help us when she found out a piece of luggage had been lost by the airline as well as when she learned my kindle needed to be charged. She was very willing to help and was very sweet. Our room was great and the housekeepers did a lovely job every day. We had a pool within a very short walking distance from our room and the beach was a stones throw away. This was an excellent all inclusive hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. I would also encourage people traveling here to go off the property for just one day and see the beautiful culture of Jamaica. We used James Bond Tours and it was above and beyond our expectations. Something to keep in mind though when you are dining within the hotel is that most of the restaurants require men to wear long pants and a collared shirt. If your are not sure ask, they will be very happy to answer questions. These guys did a wonderful job and I would recommend this place to anyone, even if you don't want to see children there are adult only pools and children shouldn't be around the bars anyway, we didn't see many on our stay during a week.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the spa choose the Lady Hamilton side if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galewoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings Galewoodtraveler !

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I decided to get married/have our honeymoon in Jamaica. After ALOT of research, we decided on The Grand Palladium.. And I'm soo glad we did! Once we arrived, check-in was a breeze. The staff were very friendly (despite negative reviews we had read) and continued to stay friendly throughout our stay. We stayed in a second floor villa with a wonderful view. Our room was a great size, with a king sized bed, huge bathroom, shower etc. If you are not someone who likes to take walks, this is not the place for you. We on the other hand, didn't mind at all! The weather is soo gorgeous, that we enjoyed the walks from our villa to the main building, and various beaches on the resort. The buffet was our favorite, as we had breakfast there every morning, and dinner almost every night. We didn't get to every restaurant, but we did enjoy the steakhouse, and sports bar. Again, the staff was always very friendly and attentive, in Jamaica time that is! They are in no hurry in Jamaica, but being that we were on vacation, that was more than ok for us! A week at the Palladium seemed to fly by! Soo much fun and relaxation was had, we would DEFINATELY choose the Palladium again, and recommend it to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighellenMulek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear LeighellenMulek5,

Congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing our Resort for your honeymoon destination. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The beautiful setting tips the scale from poor or below average, to an average experience. Many of the public facilities need TLC (more than just another coat of paint) and updating. Room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Food ranged from virtually inedible (buffet above pool) to above average (Jerk Shack) and spectacular (Indian). Stay away from main pool unless you are an adult spring breaker. Do go to the swimming/water sports cove by the Lady Hamilton. Remember to bring water shoes and snorkel gear. Another review indicated quantity and not quality govern. I agree with this assessment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I was a little nervous when reading some of the reviews, but after a long cold winter I figured anything was better than what we have been dealing with! We arrived after a 35 minute ride from the airport to the Grand Palladium Jamaica (Pa-Lady-um) Resort. I had called a few days earlier asking to not be on the ground level of a villa. When we checked in -- we were sent to Villa 12 with an AMAZING ocean view from our junior suite. The place is HUGE with lots of options for catching sun rays, eating food, and having tasty drinks! My husband and stayed at Couples Negril and were happy with everything here as well. The service was average --- but I probably would get annoyed with "waiting" on people all day everyday.

Likes:
*Our favorite beach spot was the Coral Beach - quiet, secluded, and close to the adults only bar and Sunset Cove for awesome Jerk Chicken and Seafood Rice!
*Live music at the Infinity Bar!
*Quick food and cold beer at the Sports Bar!
*Kayaking around the area (included for all-inclusive)
*Shorter ride from airport!
*Large rooms… nice bathrooms… great balcony view
*Good food!
*Pool by Villa 12 was perfect and quiet!!

Dislikes:
*We asked for a working coffee making in our room (the one we had didn't work - never got a new one).
*Our room lost power about once everyday (when we were there)… didn't bother us much though.
*Long dinner waits… 9pm (1 hour wait for Italian)
*Shuttle service. Called 4 different times to be shuttled from 1 side to the other… only picked up once.
*Gentleman at night trying to get your picture taken… hustle a little too much. Felt uncomfortable.

Overall - TOTALLY worth it! We were nervous going to a non-adults only, but hardly noticed kids there. If you are looking for long walks on the beach - head to Negril… if you are looking to lounge on a beach or pool this place is great!

Room Tip: Villa 12!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Greetings Amy K!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your overall stay with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

We must apologize for the unfavorable encounters which you experienced throughout your stay. We will continue to improve our products and services to ensure that these do not recur.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,218 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $225 - $536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing