We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Compared to Chicago,Jamaica had good weather even at night! Hotel is big and we enjoyed walking in shorts and sandals. Trip advicor was very helpful in preparing for this trip. There is beach but very small areas and very little sand. Hotel compensated by building outdoor pool which is nice but we like sand and beach. Trip to Negril beach was good. It rained everyday in Montego bay which even the people in Jamaica were not happy about. Hotel has so many activities indoors and outdoors. Food was excellent. Make sure you eat @ Indian restaurant, Jerk hut, Steakhouse, Xamaica. Buffet was very good especially the Omlets. We also enjoyed the Jamaican dance shows and played volley ball and Don't drop the baby. We enjoyed our stay here it was very pleasant. I was little hesitant about crime but we were and others were we noticed were very comfortable. People in Jamaica are aiming to please and are pleasant. Ya mon!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2315 for 2days and requested rest of stay for Ocean view VILLA 13 2ND floor. It was onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Greetings PAUL G!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    2,006
    966
    546
    476
See reviews for
1,950
2,575
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,758)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My Husband and I just returned from our trip of January 19 - 26. What an amazing trip, I was never so sad to leave somewhere.
The resort is beautiful and of course well maintained which is pretty on par with any all inclusive resort.
Our room was awesome...we booked a garden view 1 bedroom suite and were given an ocean view...bonus! The room was 2731, two balconies, king bed...wonderful. It was clean and the ac worked well. Beautiful view and close to all amenities...especially after too many rum punch drinks!
The beach isn't what I expected based on other sunny destination trips...it's not one long stretch of white sand. The sand is a little bit rough and the waves coming in can be quite strong. However, the way the beach is is still really neat because there are all these coves all along the coast and makes for beautiful pictures. There is one section that is to the far end of the resort that has white sand and better swimming. I loved how we could go almost go to a different beach every day! The pools are awesome and enjoyed the adult area one.
The bonus here was the food! My husband is the picky eater and he loved it. He even ventured out and tried new things that were quite tasty. I really dont know how people are complaining about the food ... there was so much selection at the buffet and all good, I dont know how you cant find something to eat. The Lotus Restaurant was our favourite of the a la cartes...didnt care for the mexican one. That would be my only negative. People have complained about the waits for the restaurants but come on, youre on holiday! Have a drink while waiting....whats the rush? Even then we didnt wait at all for the asian restaurant and I think we waited 20 minutes for the mexican. Lots of big city restaurants will make you wait longer than that. We enjoyed the sports bar that had 24 hour food and snacks. After 11 pm you could get burgers, pizza, nachos and hot dogs.
We were impressed with the nightly shows they put on...I think a lot of people were, given you couldn't get a seat to watch if you weren't there early and the theatre easily held 100+ people. We often watched at the back for a bit on our way to the night time bar.
The shuttle staff were great and the opportunities to book outtrips are available throughout various carriers...do yourself a favour and shop around to the different ones.

Overall, we both highly recommend this resort. Sun, Sea, Sand...can't get any better than that! Yea Mon!

Room Tip: 2731 ... Centrally located, 2 balconies and a king suite. Although, check out the map online to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Greetings Jennifer R !

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments. We appreciate your kind words and are pleased that your honeymoon vacation with us was a well spent one in which you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer.

We would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have a vacation nothing short of Grand. Feel free to contact us if there is anything further we can assist with from this end.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts. UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from boxing day for 3 weeks - I had read all the reviews, but now having been to the hotel, I am sure that all these guests just love to complain - we had a wonderful holiday - the resort is so large with so many different ares to sunbathe, it's easy to vary and so much more fun - great pools and beaches.
The A La Carte Restaurants were amazing - couldn't really pick a favourite although we weren't so keen on the Mexican - so much variety of food; New Year's Eve in the buffet was unbelievable - lobsters and prawns were very abundant along with a huge choice of other dishes. Our preferred restaurant for breakfast was Blue Lagoon and for lunch the Jerk Hut. We found it amazing that Poseidon was not very busy in the evenings - we loved the location of the fish restaurant on Sunset Cove.
The bars were all excellent with constant service - some of the staff were more friendly than others - but hey - this happens anywhere in the world. Drinks - just about anything you wanted with a fantastic cocktail list.
Our experience with service was that if we needed extra resources in the room or had any situation at all, we informed reception/guest services/managers and this was dealt with accordingly and appropriately - what more could you want?
Our room was block 17 - one of the furthest away which was great for us as it gave us chance to have at least some exercise on an otherwise very lazy holiday.
We went on 2 trips with Thomsons - Cool Runnings and Ricks Cafe - I can definitely recommend both of these - Dunns Falls was a long day as the hotel is about a 2 hour drive but it was well worth it - an amazing day; Ricks Cafe was great too - if you're thinking of jumping - don't do it - we saw guests jump and ended up with injuries from the impact in the water.
The location and size of this resort gives the advantage over other hotels - it does not make any difference if you are in Lady Hamilton or Grand Palladium Jamaica - we deliberated over this for days but am glad we did not pay the extra £200 for Lady Hamilton as both are exactly the same.
I would like to thank all those members of staff who helped to make our first trip to Jamaica a very memorable one and we do plan to return.
Thank you Jose, Ingrid and Eduardo.

Room Tip: Block 17 we loved. We did look at the bungalows - they are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suziebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear suziebabe,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I'm a pretty laid back person, easy to please, so my review is pretty honest - not one of those people who expect the very best of everything. So here goes -

Pros - The best part of the stay is the food. Would say a 10/10. So much variety with 8-9 restaurants. The a la cartes are first come first serve, so you don't have to reserve, which is great. We never waited for a seat. Buffets have a different theme every night.
The hotel itself is actually quite nice.

Cons - service! So the wait staff are actually very nice. But - no one went out of their way to make our stay fun and exciting. There are no waiters at the pools or beach who get you drinks. If they had wait staff getting drinks for the pool/beach, they would make so much money in tips!
Our hotel room bathroom smelled like sewage so badly. By the end of the week, I was sick by it. The only reason we did not ask to change rooms, was because we got a free ocean view upgrade, so I wasn't going to complain too much, but it still stunk none the less.
The beach just isn't up to par. So if you are looking to hang out at a nice beach, this may not be the place. Small with dirty water. We still swam in the ocean so it's not terrible. Free water sports which was nice - we went paddle boarding.
They wouldn't let us have a late checkout, which we desperately needed because our shuttle didn't leave until 5pm, although this is something they offer. We were more than willing to pay. In the end we fought with the front desk for a totally different room which we paid for.
Lastly, the gift shop attendants are extremely unfriendly! My husband and our friends were smokers so we were in there a few times. They don't say hi, smile or anything. They don't even pass you your goods that you've purchased. You physically have to reach over the counter to grab your purchases.

I've been to jamaica before, and stayed at a fairly nice resort, so maybe I'm just comparing the two. But overall, this hotel fell a bit short in my opinion. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Hmeyer,

Thank you for your review and our apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay, and we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of where we fell short. This is not the norm, and service is our top priority. Your feedback will be used in a positive manner, to enhance our product. Our apologies again.

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and our apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay, and we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know of where we fell short. This is not the norm, and service is our top priority. Your feedback will be used in a positive manner, to enhance our product. Our apologies again.

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at about 8 all-inclusives around the Caribbean, Coast Rica, and Mexico, so we have many to compare to. Our impression of Grand Palladium Jamaica was:
> Helpful, friendly staff added to the overall enjoyable experience. They seem to like working there, and they want you to have a good time.
> Amazing pool, good bars and bartenders, and very few lines for drinks. Tips were appreciated and went a long way.
> Better-than-average food, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food both at the buffets and the restaurants. We tried the Creole, Asian, & Mexican - all were great and we LOVED not having to worry about reservations as non were required.
> The beach on the "Jamaica" side of the resort was rocky and windy and water was rough. Make an effort to get over to the lovely little Sunset Cove on the Lady Hamilton side. (Tip: Taking the shuttle cart is a fun way to get there)
> We didn't go to any shows, but steel drum bands and a great singer another night in the lobby bar added to the ambiance at just the right level.
> It rained heavily a number of days we were there. While we didn't let that ruin our trip, the rain revealed the property is starting to show some wear. The main buildings had leaks in the ceilings and big chunks of the ceiling of the theater fell down one night. The staff worked hard at keeping things dry, but wet patio furniture and slick floors added to the problem. If you look hard enough at the property even on a sunny day, you can see some problems with the structure (jets/lights in hot tub not working, etc.)
> The rooms were clean and functional, if not overly fancy. Our patio doors didn't open which was a little disappointing.

Overall, it was a relaxing and friendly atmosphere with not too many families (= loud kids) and not too many partiers. It was a diverse group with Europeans, Canadians, and Americans alike. It's close to the airport, too, which was a plus. We enjoyed the staff, the food, the drinks, the pool, and a few warm days in lovely Jamaica!

Room Tip: It's worth contacting them a week ahead to ask for the building you prefer. We didn't, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear WendyB_Traveler,

Thank you for sharing with us your review about your recent stay at our Resort. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer. It is a delight reading all the wonderful aspects that you have mentioned and that you were pleased with the service received from our staff. We do carry out continuous maintenance of our Resort and can assure you that the issues which you have mentioned will be rectified.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Ive just returned from a 2 week break at this wonderful resort and really wanted to promote how great this place truly is! This is my second visit as the first one a few years ago was so good I wanted to go back with my new partner after I had always spoke so highly of it. She as I, fell in love with the place. So much so we are already planning on returning the same time next year and even bringing more family members with us so they can enjoy this paradise on earth...

Anyone that writes a negative review are searching for perfection that doesn't exist. You can not have a pillow type that suits all or have control of the weather. What you can control is the standards, the location, the people and the atmosphere. All of which are the best I have ever encounted. I have visted many places in the world but this is by far my favourite. The staff everyday go out of their way to make you happy. They go above and beyond to ensure you are involved as much as or as little as you want to be and they blend the resort into the beautiful natural beauty the island has to offer. Most importantantly they make you smile.

The food, entertainment, cleanliness, gardens, beaches, games, services, bars, pools and resturants are exceptional. We are English and it's not in our nature to tip, however we spent most of our money doing this, not because we felt we had too, but because we appreciated the service and standards so much that we wanted too. It felt wrong not giving something in return when everyone from the waiters to the barmen to the cleaners to the groundsmen made it their mission to make you happy.

I cannot recommend this place enough and if you are reading the reviews and thinking of booking - please do! You will not regret it. Truly paradise...

I want to thank again everyone there - see you next year!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear David N,

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the live entertainment to the delicious meals which were had. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We went to get away and relax and that's what we did. We were on the third floor of the Lady Hamilton and there were no stairs. That was a bit rough. But the very kind bell hops carried upnour bags. The resort was very quiet which we loved. However we really missed the music that we are used to at other resorts. Where is the reggae?

The food was fair. The beds were painfully hard. I mean hurt your back and hips until you want to cry kind of hard. Housekeeping came to "pad" our bed on our third night. It helped a bit. Take your own pillows or you will reget it.

We found a generally consistency with the male staff being super happy and friendly and the women being almost nasty. Not sure why.

We are generous tippers, but we didn't think it seemed to matter.

Beautiful place. Very peaceful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Good morning Terri A,

We value the time taken to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. We thank you for having made it the Grand Palladium and would like to assure you that we have taken note of the areas of your stay which were less than favourable.

We are grateful that through it all you were still able to relax.
Thank you once more and please do return to witness all improvements made.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing