We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost A 5 Star & Budget Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Almost A 5 Star & Budget Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 7 day stay, 2 adults and 2 kids and did not want to leave. Spectacularly large resort, well maintained. If ur not into walking then this is not the place for u. Great beaches, pools, bars, buffets, a la cartes....u will not go hungry as there r so many options. Entertainment staff at Sunset Cove r nice and engaging but don't nag u to get involved. Shows r basic but still entertaining. Service is a hit and miss here. Some staff r very friendly, they seem to really enjoy their jobs and interacting with guests. Some staff come off as unapproachable and don't seem to care but there is enough friendly staff that u quickly forget about the others. There r no reservations for a la carte, 1st come 1st served which I thought was strange but it actually worked well because there r so many dining options that the waits were minimal. As I said earlier the resort is huge and depending which building u get a room in, ur way to the main areas/beaches may be longer. We enjoyed the walking especially after large meals and if u take ur time and don't rush then u don't miss out on any of the views.
WiFi is only free in the lobbies which was fine cause I don't go on vacation to surf the web all day. It would have been nice to have a lobby bar directly near the seating in both main lobbies but there were enough bars around to choose from. I have read many bad reviews and hesitated booking at GP but after spending a week there I can say I am glad that I didn't listen to the negative. U cannot expect perfection any where u go, there will always be a hiccup, so my hiccup was some of the staff but my vacation was still awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bellaandellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings Bellaandellie!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer. We do apologize for the attitude of some of our staff and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do employ continuous training for our team to ensure that situations as this do not recur.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    2,005
    966
    546
    476
See reviews for
1,946
2,572
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,755)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We just got back from a 6 day/5 night stay at GP Jamaica (6-11 Jan 2014). We wanted to find a warm place to go in Jan (can you say Polar Vortex?) to celebrate our son's birthday, and despite reading all the negative reviews we decided to take a chance with GP Jamaica.

Overall impression of vacationing at GP Jamaica was good value for the cost paid.

The worst part of our experience at the GP Jamaica was the Front Desk staff. As previous reviewers have commented, there is a lack of professionalism exhibited by the Front Desk staff. We reserved 2 junior suites and requested those rooms to be as close together as possible and close to the main building so my wife did not have to walk as far for restaurants and activities. Our flight to MBJ was delayed, so we ended up arriving at GP Jamaica at 10:30PM instead of 5:00PM as originally planned. Since our son travelled on a different flight, he was able to arrive at 5PM, however, the Front Desk refused to allow him to check into both room, citing the GP hotel policy that each guest can only be registered into 1 room, and at least 1 guest in each room has to be physically present to check into the room...but they assured him the rooms are in the same building...so ya mon, no worries right? When we arrived at 10:30PM, the front desk told us the only room available in the resort is in building 21 instead of building 11 where my son's room was located. We were then told we could possibly get a room in building 11 if we were willing to upgrade our room category for $30 per night, otherwise we can stay at the other building until a similar category room became available in building 11. My son asked why did the Front Desk told him at check in that the 2nd room was in the same building? That was when even the upgraded category room became unavailable. We ended up staying at the other building that night and was able to move to building 11 the next day. The only "compensation" we received from the Front Desk staff is an offer to allow us to reserve dinner time at the a la carte restaurants. I know it was not GP Jamaica that made us arrive late at the resort, but they certainly didn't try to go the proverbial "extra mile" to help make the experience pleasant.

Checking out was another hassle. The Palladium booklet in the room specifically said guests can check out the night before by turning in the towel cards, settle all outstanding charges with the Front Desk and get a Check Out card to hand to the bellman...that is not true. Although I returned the towel cards the night before, and settle all outstanding charges, the Front Desk told me they also wanted the room keys as well, meaning we would have to physically vacate the room when we checked out, even if it is the night before...ok, so no worries mon, I can just complete the check out first thing in the morning (8AM) while my family finish packing in the room for a 9:30AM departure for the airport...not so fast. Front Desk still refused to check me out when I got there in the morning because not everyone was standing in front of them so they can personally cut off the wrist bands! Ya mon, Front Desk training is sorely lacking, which is really a shame since the rest of the experience could make this a 5 star destination, but the first and last impression of the resort is really a 1 star experience.

If you can look beyond the poor Front Desk experience (check-in and check-out), the rest of the staff at the resort were friendly and very willing to help without asking for a tip. Special shout out to "Happy" who be-friended to my sons at the pool. The entertainment team was energetic and enthusiastic (an actual daily entertainment schedule with time, location and theme of the event would be nice to have). The restaurant staff was pleasant and helpful (they sang happy birthday to my son on his birthday). House keeping was friendly and innovative (they refreshed the towels and minibars every day and left small arrangements of local flowers in our rooms each day!). The water sport staff was watchful and friendly (even if you did not tip them). The grounds was clean and tidy (lots to grounds keepers working all day), the rooms were large and functional (beds are hard and need to keep the AC on all day to keep the air from smelling dank/musty), but ya mon, you are there for the weather and breath taking views of the ocean!

Breakfast buffet had a good variety (some of the meat dishes were not what we expected) and plentiful. We ate lunch at the Jerk Hut (jerk chicken and paella). We tried a different a la carte restaurant each night. Our favorite ones were the Creole followed by the steak house, seafood and Mexican (my son tried that the 1st night). Asian was very disappointing (especially if you are an Asian).

Btw, we booked Reggae Tours for the airport transfers and that was a great choice since they were able to change at the last moment to take my son to the resort when he arrived and they stayed after hours to transport us to the resort. We also booked a tour to Negril Beach/Blue Hole/Rick's Café with Reggae Tours (we had a great time with Nicholas as our driver/guide who is very knowledgeable of the Jamaican history/current affairs and took us to Sweet Spice for lunch). Negril Beach is a must visit (so long as the security guards keep the beach hustlers away), Blue Hole was very scenic and therapeutic (this one does not have a water fall but does have the lime stone/mud scrubs at the bottom of the hole), sunset at Rick's Café was awe inspiring (although the tour launches right before sunset were very annoying).

Room Tip: Building 11 is the closest one to the pool and main building, however, it does get noisy at nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Traveller1642,

Thank you for sharing with us your review. We appreciate the time which you have taken to bring to our attention the pros and cons of your vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are overall pleased that you and your family enjoyed your overall stay with us.

It is delightful that you enjoyed the delicious meals which were provided and the entertainment package. It is also great that you took the opportunity to visit other beautiful areas of Jamaica. We must apologize for the unfavorable happenings throughout your stay and will see to it that corrective action is taken to rectify each.

We would love to be given the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so that you may have a vacation nothing short of Grand. Feel free to contact us if there is anything further we can assist with from this end.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This resort was nice for relaxing but not for entertainment or service. Resort was beautiful and clean but service was sub par.

Service- The resort is understaffed and there is no wait staff at the pool or beaches. Also, no room service. When you went to the bars to get drinks it was as if you were bothering the staff and at times some were very rude. The bartenders were not fun, personable or entertaining like other resorts I have been too. The front desk personnel were helpful and able to accommodate requests. I called the week of our trip and asked for building 11, 12, or 13 and ocean front and they did accommodate for us at no extra charge.

Nightlife- The resort lacked nightlife and entertainment. Quiet time is at 10pm. The staff put on one show a night and was usually running late. The main bar was the infinity bar but again very few wait staff. At the infinity bar there was some kind of music or band each night. The main "club" after hours was extremely loud and not well attended maybe only 10 people were in there each time we walked past. The sport bar was ok there were pool table, ping pong and foos ball this bar was extremely HOT. Pool bars were fine but swarming with bees especially around the soft drink machines. There was a gaming room with about 50 slot machines but very few winners. No top shelf liquor, or wines but lots of rum and red stripe beer.

Restaurants- The food was good especially at the Lotus Restaurant and the Steakhouse. We were underwhelmed by the buffets and the Mexican restaurant was awful. The restaurants do not take reservation unless you are with the travel club so waits were very long after 7pm. The Jerk Hut was worth the walk and wait it was fantastic food for lunch. Many restaurant were advertised as supposed to be open at certain times but never were open. The blue lagoon is a good place for breakfast if you want to eat outside and look out onto the ocean.

Pool/Beach- The beach along the ocean front was very rocky. The beach at the cove was much better less rocky and had lots to do. The cove is where you could snorkel, kayak, paddleboat or paddleboard. The pool had stuff going on such as volleyball, bingo, trivia and dance lessons. There were ladies representing the spa and motorized watersports asking you all the time if you were interested.

Room- The room was clean and had a great view. When we arrived the mini bar was empty but we called and someone was right there to fill it but you only get 2beers and 2 waters in the minibar. We had no problem getting towels or trouble with the air conditioning.

Overall this resort is great for down time, relaxing and families not for entertainment or a young party atmosphere. Glad we went but probably wouldn't return to Jamaica.

Room Tip: You will want to stay in building 11, 12, 13, or 14 others are a further walk and stay on the 2nd or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The grounds of Grand Palladium are exquisitely breathtaking and what you expect
from beautiful Jamaica resorts. The dining choices are plentiful and the food
was amazing! 5 star eating all the way! This was one of my favorite parts of my
vacation.
Checking in was a nightmare, and to get answers to simple questions took more
time than it should have. We had problems with wi fi even after paying the $70
for it, but was given a refund when we alerted concierge it was not working.
Over front desk customer service was poor to satisfactory.
The room accommodations were okay. We booked a suite and it was smaller than
expected. It would have been nice to have some drawer space to put our clothes
in. Some of the resort staff were exceptional and deserve mentioning such as Spa
staff Deano and Willas who made sure we were always comfortable and had what we
needed when we were at the spa.
The manicurist, Kadene was also excellent and spa attendant,Diana was very
helpful when my mother had some anxiety difficulty. Employees like this make
the resort shine!
Thankfully for every one rude staff there were five or more who would go out of
their way to make sure our stay was happy and memorable.
This brings me to the gym, the gym attendant, Cecil was very rude, and more
concerned about his work out than that of the guests. Every morning faithfully
he would use the equipment but fail to have clean towels onsite for the guests.
Each morning we complained and it would be the same response. He was dismissive,
and would relish his scripted response that the laundry did not give him any
towels yet. The gym opened at 7am and we worked out between 8am to 9am and
there were no towels. This was unacceptable,and the gym gets 1 star because of
this and the antiquated equipment.

The food, some of the staff and this beautiful resort made our vacation lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ackee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Accommodations Assistant director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We appreciate the time which you have taken to share your vacation experience and your suggestions that help us to improve our guest holidays at our beautiful Resort. . I would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced. We work hard through training and briefings to give our staff the necessary tools to provide the best service. Again we apologize for any negative experience you might have encountered and I can assure we will work assiduously to improve on these.

Best wishes,

Ingrid Slater
Accommodations Assistant director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the first resort That actually raises your stress level. Shower in our room was broke 4 calls to the desk and one repairman visit to say that it was broke. 4 days later still no shower. Patio door did not lock. they did fix that. On day of check out door would not unlock. 3 trips to desk and 2 phone calls later . after an hour they finally sent security to open the door. This resort is alot closer to a 2 star . nothing but frustation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 902sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear 902sunny:

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn that your recent stay with us was below par, we want to "stress" that this is not the typical experience of our guests. Please be assured that we are taking immediate steps to look at the issues you have described with your door lock and shower…we profoundly apologize for this.

Again, we regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations and I remain personally at your entire disposition for whatever you may require of our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this resort from march 28, 2013 to april 4, 2013 and have been trying to book my next trip back there ever since. This place was amazing and the staff was super friendly. The food was delicious and there was a huge variety to choose from. Big Shout out to Shane who was our drink server almost every night at supper (because we requested him :) ). The resort was beautiful and very well kept up. To all of the staff working at the GP, thumbs up to all of you for your hard work and for making our stay a delight.

I was blown away at the bad reviews that I have read and I cant believe how negative and snooty people can be. If you feel that you never want to visit this resort again, then good. Leave space for the people who want to go there for the first time or to re-visit this beautiful place.

see you all at the GP within a month or 2. Cant wait :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank missey n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear missey n,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had on your last stay.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome your visit again in the near future for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very nice set up, But the building isnt everything. The service sucks, at the pool, at the restaurants - mass produce food - Fast food would be better. Sodas and beers? is that all you can offer in this time of our lives?

Room Tip: Get a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 660karll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Accommodations Assistant Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Karl L,

Being a past contractor of our resort I thank you for sharing your insight on our resort. Having experienced our resort as a worker and guests, you know that this is not a true depiction of our standards of operation thus, you can rest assured that all the corrective measures where necessary, have been taken so as not to have a reoccurrence of the situation mentioned.
We are sorry you did not enjoy our meals. With 3 buffets offering different theme nights daily and 7 a la carte restaurants we try to satisfy all nationalities regarding quality and variety.

We will nonetheless include your concerns in our briefings in an effort to continuously improve our service and product.
Regarding your comment about only serving sodas and beers, I believe that that is an unfair comment because if your desire was stronger drinks I am sure our bartenders will be glad to serve you following your requests.

Although you cited a lot of negatives about our resorted I hope that there were portions of your stay that were memorable.

I remain personally at your entire disposition for whatever you may require of our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Accommodations Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
18.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing