We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is a 4 star but not more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Resort is a 4 star but not more!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went to this resort Dec 30 for 7 days with our two kids(ages 7/8). It was very busy and close to max capacity. Food overall is very good, especially the coffee. Indian restaurant is fantastic as is the jerk hut. However, The attitude of the staff really does need an adjustment. Not all staff smile at you and quite a few times on the resort I felt like staff were doing us a huge favour by serving us. We took our kids to the kids club and the staff members there just stared at us. If staff are supposed to be working with children they should at least smile and try to make the place inviting. Also, the staff need to make their hotel patrons aware of what is going on. For example, each night before the entertainment started they would show a movie on the big screen (good ones too like Monsters vs Aliens, Rio etc) but there was no sign saying when things started, what movie would be showing etc.
Here are a few Pro's:

1)lots of selection food wise, buffet was good
2)the gym was one of the better ones I've seen in the Caribbean
3)The pool is the biggest in Jamaica-your kids will love it, lots of fountains, water bikes etc
4)Some of the male waiters in the buffet were awesome.)
5) The Raggs and Friends kids show was great.

Con's
1)resort is very large and there is lots of walking
2)a lot of equipment in the watersport area was out of order including the paddle boats
3)staff are only really friendly if you tip them, otherwise you wont get any smiles
4)Mosquitos were horrible. The resort sprayed while we were there but we had to avoid the balcony. Our screen had a tear in it and it was repaired while we were there.
5)Resort ran out of towels two days
6)We ordered a bottle of wine and paid for it in cash, when we went to check out it was on our bill and we had to battle with the Supervisor at the front desk to get it removed.

Room Tip: Villa 11 on the Jamaica side is very close to the pool and lobby. Bring Febreeze as rooms can smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear mhaigh,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments. We appreciate the time which you have taken to make us aware of the inconveniences which you experienced throughout your stay. We have noted each and will ensure that corrective action is taken to prevent these from recurring.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,548
    2,079
    1,020
    572
    491
See reviews for
2,108
2,701
63
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Got to the hotel at 11am, room was ready at 5pm. Great hotel poor management . Workers are overworked and service was very poor. Reservations were not kept. Entertainment was excellent .
Restaurants service very, very slow with attitude. Food came out cold. No room service. Certain guests were treated differently with the expectation for tips.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Twinie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Twinie2,

We thank you for having stayed with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

While we are delighted to know that you found our entertainment excellent and the hotel itself great, we regret hearing that you were not satisfied with the level of service.

Please be assured that we have taken due note of your feedback and will take the necessary actions to improve on these critical areas.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited this resort last November for a wedding. We paid for 7 days but didn't check in until 3 days later so we could take time to explore Jamaica with family and friends.

The beauty of this place is simply breath-taking. The grounds are well kept - the gym and spa were very nice. The food, in the buffet, was warm at best and sometimes stale. The oceanfront room was newly renovated but had a musty smell. Like many other reviews, the shower leaked and the beds/pillows were actually too firm to get a comfortable sleep. Yes, we waited an hour to check-in...But having travelled many, many times before, we took our time to walk the grounds, have a drink and just said "Meh, it could be worse..."

And then, it got worse.

After returning from a fabulous day trip to Negril (a must do on your stay), we found out our room, as well as several others, were flooded with approx. 2-3 inches of water. We had leaking ceilings, a damp bed, damp pillows and wet clothes in the closet due to the massive downpour experienced earlier in the day.

Their lack of empathy and concern was disheartening and their response was very slow. We hadn’t planned on it, but we decided to ask for compensation for the 3 days we were not there. Kenisha (sp) at the Customer Relations desk agreed to this and provided us with a signed letter by the manager (Jose) to give to our travel agent to make the change. Sadly our travel agency said the paper didn't mean much and advised us to contact the hotel. 2 months later, nothing has been resolved.

At this point, we don't expect much. So I offer the following tips to future travellers:

- If you are having a wedding and looking to take beautiful wedding photos, you will not be disappointed

- The buildings while beautiful, are not properly constructed to withstand the elements –so try to stay away from the 1st floor or pray it doesn't rain

- If you have to make a complaint that requires any type of compensation or resolution......wait! Do not leave until you feel completely confident that your issue has been truly resolved

- Do more research and find somewhere else to stay. (I completely recommend the Iberostar Rose Hall Beach for OUTSTANDING customer service, a great entertainment staff, renovated rooms and an AMAZING variety of food (local Jamaican food and non)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamdeecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear LayCee,

We are grateful that you stayed with us and for such a special occasion. We would also like to say thank you for sharing your feedback, and express our humblest apologies for any aspect of your stay that was less than exceptional.

We take customer satisfaction very seriously and so are grateful for any feedback that will assist us in this regard. As it is related to the matter of the unused nights, we are not certain what had occurred but can assure you that this has always been a smooth process between tour operators and the hotel, based on the conditions of their contract.

While we are happy you found some features of our resort to your liking, we regret not having exceeded your expectations in entirety. We will do our utmost best to improve in those less than favourable areas.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is not worth the money…if you have decent taste. We had fun but more like camping fun. The food is disgusting (fish was soggy and frozen), salad had a chemical taste, staff was rude and not helpful, management was awful, service was terrible, rum was watered down. Staying at this resort was more work then renting a beach house. Not for me. Give this a big fat zero.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hastaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Accommodations Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hastaste Greetings from Palladium Jamaica!

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time here with us. We work very hard to deliver the best service possible and have been recognized by Cristal for our management of food and beverages.
Regarding our staff, we assure you that they are continuously trained to follow high standard services. We regret to hear that in this case you felt a bad attitude from them. Just let me add that they are continuously congratulated on their work by many customers as you can read in other reviews.
It is hoped that despite your negative review, you will afford us another opportunity to serve you offer you our usual flawless service and product. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Accommodations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Security staff are crooks! They stage break-ins! Beware, be very careful! They actually break into the room safe to steal valuables. Will steal smaller, pocketable items too! Our stay was actually in January of 2013, very sad! Wedding of 60 people and this happens! This resort has a major problem and I would not recommend staying at a Grand Palladium anywhere as they don't seem to give two cents about what transpires on their properties! I will NEVER use their resorts EVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lmbernak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Accommodation Assistant Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Lmbernak,

First, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your last stay at the GP Jamaica. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We can assure you that we take each of your comments very seriously, and we are grateful for your constructive feedback, as it really helps us in improving on the service that we provide to our guests on a daily basis.

Accommodation Assistant Director
Please note that we have modified our security arrangements throughout the resort to prevent issues as you have mentioned.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Accommodation Assistant Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We were there 12/24 - 12/31/13 Our room wasn't ready so we went and got lunch at the outdoor buffet. The food was amazing!!! We got to our room about 3:30pm and the minibar wasn't stocked. I called and they stocked it the next evening! Our housekeeper kept us well stocked after a nice tip! We ate at all the buffets for breakfast and we were amazed at how good everything was. The jerk hut (on the Lady Hamilton side) was delish!! We tried the Mexican, Creole and Indian restaurants and ordered pretty much 1 of everything (it's all inclusive so why not). The Sports Bar was the most fun. Just a really cool atmosphere. (Gregory is the best bartender - take care of him and he will treat you like royalty). At all the other bars, we only drank rum punch with a coconut rum topper and red stripe beer and the rum wasn't watered down. Like I said, tip them well and they will hook you up! We bought a beach bag for $50 from one of the shops and after 4 days it started to fray and rip. After firm talking with the manager - I was able to exchange it. Definitely, take the excursion to Negril for $25 each.. get dropped off at Margaritaville... but don't eat or drink there! Too expensive!! Walk to the right and hang at The Firefly! $8 for 2 beers and a killer rum punch! Negril is amazing and if I ever return to Jamaica, I won't waste my time anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Cara1029,

Thank you for sharing with us your review based off your wonderful vacation spent here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer and that your expectations were met. We hope that in the future we will be your Resort of choice for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Grand Palladium was very nice resort- our room was cleaned dailey, and stocked with drinks and linen - only negative, which was not a problem with me, is that there is quite a bit of walking to get from one place to other.... the resort is beautiful, people are friendly, and the weather was wonderful our whole time there (Nov.2013)... only complaint was American Airlines- we were to leave 11/28 - and per the airline and there problems, we ended up flying Delta- and had to postphone to leave 11/29 - The Palladium folks were kind enough to change our reservations to a day later, and allow us to stay that day on the end... they did not even charge for this. I would stay here again if we were to return to Jamaica, however i have several more islands i want to explore first.My husband and my grown daughter went with me- we all had a great time, and time went by way to fast :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dd0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear dd0880,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review about your recent family vacation here at our Resort. We are elated that you have had such a wonderful stay and that your expectations were met and that you were satisfied with the overall stay.

We welcome your visit in he near future as it would be our pleasure hosting you again for another vacation nothing short of Grand!

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,482 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,335 reviews
13.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing