We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice vacation...don't be scared by the poor reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Blackwood, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice vacation...don't be scared by the poor reviews”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the GP 8/24 to 8/28. This was my third visit to Jamaica, first to this resort. My husband and I love the Jamiacan culture and the people. We always feel welcomed and happy when we are there. I have to preface this by stating our last visit was to Sandals Negril. This resort vs. Sandals - put simply, it is much cheaper at GP and Sandals only offered a better beach. Sandals nor GP is a five star hotel by US standards, (more like 3.75). The food, drink, grounds, etc. were all gorgeous similar quality to Sandals. Our room at GP was much nicer than the Sandals room. We never pay for an upgraded room anywhere we go. This trip was no different. We were in the 22 building at GP. The room was beautiful. The pillows were just horrible-- probably my biggest complaint. I recommend bringing your own. Apparently you can get an upgraded one, but I didn't bother - it wasn't that big of a deal at the time. The room with the air conditioning on was still a bit humid. Grab a second key to leave in the slot to keep you But you are in Jamaica....in August.... soooo... yep. There is not much air conditioning throughout the resort, but hey -- you are in Jamaica....in August. So go when it's cooler if you care that much, because it is humid and hot all day and humid all night. Good thing the GP pools are beautiful and enormous. The ocean was so pretty, with a nice swimming area at the Cove. It's a good walk to the LH side but so worth it - try the Jerk Hut when you are over there. The bars were attended very well with little to no wait. They do accept tips here. Do yourself a favor and tip these people. Bring singles and fives. They work very hard for you and their wages are not much. Just a dollar goes a long way, and five goes much farther. Visit JJ at the Kool Shady Bar, he is lots of fun and it is a great place to hang if it rains. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseyeaglefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,381
    2,026
    975
    547
    478
See reviews for
1,983
2,607
61
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,775)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The resort was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Try the snorkeling and ocean kayaking while you are there. The jerk chicken served by the beach was awesome. Remember to bring long pants so that you can eat in the restaurants there. If you forget long pants, they will lend you a pair at the front desk for a $20.00 deposit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moongobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Moongobbie,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are elated that you had a wonderful vacation with us and we hope that you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future so you may once again have a vacation experience nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

They greeted us at the airport . Our hotel was not that far from the airport. We had a fabulous time. The food was delicious at all the Restaurants. Lots of activities? The beach water is clean and clear. We swam and relaxed all day and night. There are pools also. We took a shopping tour. The Jamaican women had the best articles to sell. We had a great tour guide. They even dedicate a day for vendors in Jamaica to sell their goods at the hotel. The rooms are clean. We had a jacuzzi. There is a small casino. Live music, DJ's and shows. Lots of activities for children also.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the Jerk Chicken Hut. It's close to the beach and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The resort was pretty great. It's 45 minutes from 'civilization' (the airport, Rick's, etc. It's also a long bus ride to see any of the island's attractions. What it loses in location, it makes up in tranquility and offerings. The resort's main reception areas are breath-taking, and the pools are outstanding. My girlfriend and I even found the spa services great. When we went, kids were at a minimum, which was perfect for us. We got a great deal, and the middle shelf liquor was free. The staff were pretty friendly. The rolling blackouts were not something we expected - but, if it storms, you will lose power...that's just how their power grid is in Lucea.

Totally worth our time and money, just hope you don't get stuck on the sight seeing/event busses with bad people - it's a LONG trip

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Resort. Our resort is indeed tranquil as it is located on the Jamaican North coast, on a small bay on a privileged area of the coastline, with a spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea.

I am happy you enjoyed our massive pool, the largest on the island, and also our reception areas and premium liquors, nothing short of GRAND!
Our staff is indeed some of the friendliest people that you will come across.

Our rolling block outs by the lobbies are added fixtures to not only enhance our facility but also to allow us to be fully prepared for any conditions.

It was a pleasure to have hosted you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Ingrid Slater

Accommodations Asst. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is as beautiful as the pictures. Individual employees are between good and fantastic. Management misses the mark, badly.

The property is beautiful, and if you are looking for a beautiful setting for a wedding or other ceremony, this property delivers. There is a beautiful gazebo off to the side of Villa 14 (if I remember correctly) that is outstanding if you want to keep bikini's out of your wedding photos.

If you are there for a week or two try to pick out one or two employees that can help you out. For us it was a waitress in one of the restaurants. After she did a great job on the first night we tipped well and she looked after us from then on. Tips may not be necessary but they certainly help grease the wheel.

Concerning management I do not have much that is nice to say. There is no free wifi in the rooms despite wifi being advertised (you have to pay for it). The pillows are atrocious and if you want to change them it costs $3us/night/pillow. There are never enough bellboys to drive the carts. My wife has some trouble walking sometimes. We sometimes waited for 1.5 hours to try and catch a ride to another area. And the resort is large for someone who has difficulty walking. This is just the tip of the iceberg. Suffice it to say that all I felt management wanted was more of my money, not a repeat client.
My suggestions would be:
1. Choose to spend your money elsewhere.
2. If you must stay at this resort, realize that you have already given them your money and while the staff cares (as there is a chance you might tip), management does not.
3. For young people this resort offers a lot, but if you have individual needs, be prepared to wait, pay heavily, or do it yourself.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet vacation do not get a room overlooking the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RStreet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Room Division Director at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Warm Greetings,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to describe your last vacation at Grand Palladium Resorts and Spa. All reports help us to understand what our guests need or want from their vacation.
Thank you so much for your positive comments about our beautiful Resort.

With regards to the issues you have encountered, I assure you that our Management team is aware of the importance of listening to the voice of our customers. There are some points however that I would like to clarify for you.

Regarding the wifi, this is accessible in our lobbies free of cost. You made mentioned that your wife had mobility issues, pity this was not communicated to our Guests Relations department as some arrangements could have been made to assist her as best as possible. The carts are presently for arriving and departing guests.

Should you decide one day to visit us again, please, let us know, it will be our pleasure to host you again and provide you with a better experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Ingrid Slater
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Last year for my birthday my best friend surprised me with this trip and from the initial looks of things it was really nice, but after getting to the room I seen that there was plenty of room for improvement.
The location is way off from anything that u would like to do off the resort but I had a really great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Kisha R,

Thank you for sharing with us your review about your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are happy that your overall stay was a great one. We hope that you give us the opportunity of hosting you again in the future so you may witness the improvements that will be made. It was our pleasure having you on this trip. Best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my second stay at the Grand Palladium. The first time we stayed on the Lady Hamilton side this time the Jamaica side. The resort looked the same showing some wear since three years ago. The biggest let down was the disposition of the staff. They were not as happy or helpful on the Jamaica side. You felt as though you were a bother to them, if you had a question. I inquired about this and was told "yes it is the same resort, but has a different management." The staff on the Lady Hamilton side greeted you with a smile and did their best to service you. We were upgraded to VIP's but that amounted only in a different color bracelet...we did not receive any of the VIP services. The food at the buffet was not great, but not terrible a decline from three years ago. The resturants on the second level faired slightly better. If you are thinking about staying at the Grand Palladium I would strongly suggest staying on the Lady Hamilton side and skip the buffet.

Room Tip: Stay on the Lady Hamilton side the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMAM_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing