We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value all-inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value all-inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just back from a positive experience at Palladium. I have stayed at a numbe rof All-inclusives, and this is overall one of the beat. Beauthiful hotel, well kept property, clean rooms. Only negative was the check-in; this need to be better organized, with more staff to manage the large numbers at one time.
Restaurants: Food was very good quality for al all-inclusive; use the specialty restaurants for dinner for a change, best were the Creole (Jamaican) and the Steak house. Chinese (Lotus House) was not very good. Restaurant and hotel service was good and staff very pleasant and helpful. Try to get stay in one of the Villas near to the Reception. We were in Villa 20 and walk is very far, but section is quiter that those near Reception areas. They do however have transport if you can wait. Wondeful pool area with lots of action, but they do have quiet spots along the beach if preferred.
Wifi is not dependable, even in areas where there are free hotspots.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mich P,

Thank you for sharing with us your review based off your wonderful vacation spent here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer and that your expectations were met. We hope that in the future we will be your Resort of choice for another vacation nothing short of Grand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    1,847
    902
    521
    452
See reviews for
1,755
2,372
54
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,625)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've been to multiple all-inclusives so I feel that I'm being fair. I don't expect these types of hotels to have amazing food or really strong drinks, what I do expect is courteous and prompt service which unfortunately wasn't the case on this trip.

-airport - about an hour away from Montego Bay airport so factor that in
- hotel - it's a little older than others, but not bad. It's one of the biggest in the wares so get ready to walk, not a bad thing in my opinion. There are little shuttles for those that don't want to walk. About 5 pools, so there are plenty of options depending how private or not you want to be. There is also an adult pool that pretty calm in comparison to the other pools.
- beach - the best beach is on the lady palladium side where they have water sports. Ladies, be wary of the flirtatious staff on that beach, quite entertaining though.
- food - by far, the best food was the jerk hut offered for lunch everyday. Deelish. The restaurants are ok. The Jamaican restaurant was the best of the ones we tried. It's difficult to have amazing food in these hotels due to the number of people they are feeding. Be warned the wait at the sit downs can be very long so sometimes the buffet was best.
- service - not the best I've experienced. Some staff seemed like they just didnt want to make the extra effort. The bartenders were great, mainly felt the lack of service from the front desk. Our tv was broken and never fixed in the five days we were there. Would have been nice to relax in room in front of tv every once in a while.

Overall, our group had a nice time, just think the little things mentioned above are enough not to go back and just try another resort next time. Just ok for me.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Portis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was quite an experience. After clearing reception which was a slow process, and we were taken to our room, I was shocked at the appearance of the room. The floor was dirty, a few bottle caps were on the bathroom floor, the bathroom was not replenished with towels,washcloth etc. no bath mat. The toilet wreaked with the smell of urine.

After taking a shower, the bathroom was flooded; I found out afterwards that most other people had the same problem. The jacuzzi well, I felt for the people who are physically challenged because the height made it difficult to get in and out. I was tired of complaining.

The food was either to salty or too sweet, the odd times it was properly seasoned. As a vegan I had cabbage with corn for almost every meal during my stay. The a la-carte restaurant service was too slow and I found the staff too noisy. The staff from observation are not trained to deliver a set standard--everyone I knew there (from a party of 90) had a complaint and they varied from no toilet paper, washcloths, to flooding when it rained.

The 'beach' is rocky, sharp rocks, you would be wise to wear water shoes. The Grand Palladium is all chlorinated pools. The hotel is situated out in the middle of nowhere-you have to take those trips off site daily to get to a beach or out of that miserable place. The hotel is not close to Montego Bay. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Buyers beware!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Palladium, Jamaica and found the lobby to be amazing. Pool was spectacular. The rooms were very clean. The only problem was the shower as the water would drain slowly. Overall good 3.5 to 4 star hotel. Restaurants and Buffets were very clean and the food was very good. (nobody go sick). Beaches are okay and only Sunset Cove was not rocky. The service was very good everyone spoke English. Restaurants need air conditioning if dress code is in effect. Entertainment was good. I would consider going back. The beach in Negril was beautiful.. and the shopping was pretty good.

Room Tip: The noisy crickets at night....hoping you get used to them! Maybe ask to stay closer to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabcdefAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Greetings Fredddddddddd,

Thank you for sharing your review based off your last vacation experience here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer, from the luxurious accommodations to the delicious meals which were had. We welcome your return in the future as it was our pleasure hosting you on your last stay. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Pallidum from Aug 11-18, and let me just say the hotel is beauiful. The structure and grounds are taken care of by the hotel staff, if you are into that this is your hotel. Unfortuately, everything else was average. First, it takes a long time for housekeeping to clean up your room...there timing is from 8am to 4pm, so if you are expecting new towels or your room to be clean at a certain time, please wait. It is a very large hotel, so expect a lot of walking. Our bathroom had a horrible odor when we got into the room they have no vents so make sure you bring airfresher or burn a candle. Our shower head was bad and water was running onto the bathroom floor. The rooms were not the best quality or 5star. My uncle and his wife had to change rooms because there was a leak in there bathroom. They do have trolleys to take you from lady hamilton and the beaches but you might have to walk sometimes. The WIFI is horrible extremely slow. Some of my family members did have to wait for there rooms to be ready, so the checkin was slow. The food is average not the best,but it is not bad they have a lot of variety. Our servers were good at all the food spots, much sure you bring money to tip. That is how the waiters make there money. Make sure you reserve tables for larger parties. They have a lot of staff members in the hotel that stand around looking at the hotel guest...for what...I really do not understand, but do expect that. The beaches are small and nasty. The Spa was amazing so please get a massage treatment while you are on the resort.

Room Tip: If you are looking for oceanview pick Villa 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiMai84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I enjoyed the resort as it was beautiful. The service on the other hand was definitely not up to par. A list of some unsatisfactory things at the resort were:

- Long waits at the premiere restaurants or there being no working AC in some
- Maintenance not being able to opening the adjoining door between our suites without breaking the molding between the doors and not coming back to fix it
- A broken latch on the sliding glass door out to our patio, which they did come fix
- The staff at the resort constantly walking around outside our suite in their break area outside our room
- Tourwise not being available at their desk at their appointed times and then having to dial two numbers to get a rep after the first call went unanswered
- A rep from the hotel stated that Tourwise was definitely not the best agency to deal with for them
- Ants in the room
- Location of the room along the roadside
- The resort staff was in general not friendly and welcoming as if they were mostly disgruntled

My list is not to be a complainer, but to make you aware of the issues that I encountered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymaze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were part of a large group here for a wedding in July 2013. I've just now recovered from the horrible experience and feel it my duty to save other unsuspecting travelers AND folks planning their weddings the awful disappointment that is Grand Palladium - Jamaica.

The resort is BEAUTIFUL and sadly you can see that it could have tremendous potential BUT - it is mismanaged and poorly run. It's almost as if the owners can't OR refuse to afford to properly staff or maintain it. The place is run down and shabby, hard to believe it's only 5 years old - must have been a HARD five years! Check-in took more than an hour and we didn't arrive at a particulary busy time. The staff seems worn down and uninterested - they already have your money and they really don't care about your concerns. Our bathroom flooded daily and we grew accustomed to showering in 3 inches of standing water...yuck! No washclothes...ever! Just don't even ask. Luckily our bride and groom had been given the advice to tell their guests to bring their own. Our first room had a sulfur mildew smell and one of the staff upon learning where we were staying told us to ask to be moved as that villa was known to have a sewage problem - YUCK! No WiFI - just don't even try. Food - Blah! This place is the absolute worst! Spend your money elsewhere!!! I wouldn't ever go back!

Room Tip: Don't do it...just don't! You've been warned!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
64.8 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing