We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I just got back from our 7 night stay at the Grand Palladium. They didn't have my wedding date available so we married off site at a different resort but 22 of our guests stayed and we all loved it! The food at the restaurants and the entertainment were our highlights. Their is really no difference between the Lady Hamilton side and the Jamaica side, besides the cost. I didn't realize that everyone has equal access to the entire resort! When we arrived we had some issues with our room since their was another woman onsite with my name. They quickly resolved the issue and upgraded us from the Jamaica side to the Lady Hamilton. The Lady Hamilton is closer to the activities (the only difference I could see). Their were many weddings taking place on the grounds and they all looked so beautiful. You won't believe how many activities that they have for the guests not to mention.... the beaches are PRIVATE! You won't find anyone asking you to buy a key chain!!! And that is rare in any resort all inclusive or not. The spa was gorgeous and the grounds are HUGE like massive. All in all it was a great trip we ate real Jamaican food and the staff was super friendly. We are going to join the Palladium club and visit another one of their resorts in another country some time next year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Jamaica side are cheaper and you still have access to the entire grounds. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Nicole C,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent vacation here with us. We appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to read about the wonderful time and experiences that you have had.

As a 5 Star Resort we pride ourselves in the level of service which we provide to our guests. It is important that our guests have a grand vacation and it is great knowing that you enjoyed all that we have to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your visit next year for another vacation nothing short of Grand!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,092 - 4,098 of 7,079 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Palladium - Jamaica from April 20-27 for a special occasion. We are returning guests to this property, and have stayed at both the Jamaica and Lady Hamilton sides of the resort. We travelled with Westjet Vacations. I have previously been to this resort in '09 and '10.

Overall, our experience was a very pleasant one, in keeping with what we've come to expect from the Grand Palladium chain. The staff are always friendly and helpful and certainly will go above and beyond to try to accomodate any reasonable requests.

Our check in was smooth, but the long wait to access a room is unfortunate. We travelled early in the day so as not to make the most of our vacation time, but were slowed to a grinding halt by a 4 hr wait for our room. We arrived at 11am, but the rooms aren't released until 3pm. Its unfortunate, because the tour operators and hotel do so much business together that you would think that they could get this sorted out. That being said, it is what it is and there are worse places to be stuck without a room for hours than a tropical island. There's no problems, just situations, right ?

The staff immediately thanked us on arrival and acknowledged us as returning guests with an upgraded VIP (red) bracelet. A chilled bottle of sparkling wine with glasses waiting in our room was also a nice touch.

Our room (one bedroom suite) was a beautiful, ocean front room with a breathtaking view and just steps from the ocean front. The only complaint of the room was the furniture on the patios was tired, worn, and in need of a good coat of varnish and some cushions, as we saw sporadically on other patios. This is where the resort is showing some wear and tear.

The resort is large and is essentially a small city on a beautiful section of Jamaicas coast. For the number of guests, the high turnover and the diversity of the guests, this place is a marvel for the smooth manner in which everything operates. It has its own transit system and infrastructure that has to be constantly maintained. The buildings and grounds are always spotless and the small army of staff keep things running smoothly. As with everything, there are some areas which I've seen lose their lustre over the years as well.

The public spaces of the resort are spotless and well kept. The transit system is bustling and a call to the bellman has a shuttle to your villa in minutes.

Pools/Beaches

The pools are well kept and very clean, the Infinity pool is massive and it astounds me that they are able to keep it relatively clean. The introduction of glass/cup dropoffs is a nice touch and dispanses with the trash of plastic cups laying around. The adult pool was a nice getaway from the college crowd and the loud antics at the Infinity Pool. I was very disappointed to see that they no longer light the pools at night.

The ocean front beach is very rocky and better suited for tanning than swimming. Coral (adult) beach is a great swim location and in a nice calm protected cove. The Sunset Cove beach is also sheltered and offers a spectacular view.



The Restaurants

For our morning routine, we opted for the Blue Lagoon buffet, overlooking the pool and ocean. The view was spectacular and the atmosphere was much nicer that the indoor locale of the other buffets. That being said, if you need A/C, the indoor buffets are the way to go. The morning staff were awesome and a great start to the day !

We also sampled the dinner buffet on "Jamaican" night and loved the samples of traditional dishes.

For the A la Carte restaurants, Bubba's Steakhouse is by far the most popular. With the package provided with Westjet, reservations were not accepted. On past trips with Transat/Nolitours, prebooking was permitted (and recommended). As a first come, first served venue, it was near impossible to get in. Hours long waits were the norm.

The Mexican restaurant was located right next door to Bubba's (and also serves steak) and was a much better bet to be seated. The food was excellent and as always, the staff friendly.

We also sampled the Bhogali Indian restaurant, Lotus (Asian), Reggaetoni (Italian) and the Xaymaican (Creole) restaurants as well, all with the same result of a very nicely prepared meal served by attentive, engaging, pleasant staff.

The sports bar is a great spot for a late night snack and we twice visited it for lunch to take respite from a passing shower. There's a game on all the time and something to watch and cheer for. The pool/ping pong tables and foosball games were well utilized and a crowd favourite.

We had lunch several days at the Jerk hut ... its the part of the trip I really look forward to !!! Never disappoints !

The Seafood Restaurant also had a great lunch menu, the fish tacos were amazing !!!! The Ice Cream machine was a big hit and a reprieve from the heat as well !

Finally, the Infinity Bar/Miss Lou's was the final stop of our night for some entertainment and a nightcap.


Entertainment/Atmosphere

This is where the resort has slipped a bit from past visits. The entertainment crew works very hard and I wouldn't take anything away from them or their efforts. We took in a couple of shows, but the stifling heat in the ampitheatre was too uncomfortable to keep us captivated for long. Where there used to be lots of nightly entertainment at the Infinity Bar, it has declined significantly. Karaoke was painful, as there were few guest willing to participate. We saw the same band two nights during the week, and though they were talented, they did not offer any upbeat tunes to keep the crowd moving. A pastry show one night boggled me as it didn't really seem like entertainment. The beach party was a good night and the DJ had a good selction of island/hip hop to keep us dancing for hours. The Bonfire was huge and the fire dancers were entertaining. And finally, the only night we were truly impressed (and we were really looking forward to) was the steel drum band with dancers. That was spectacular !!! I've seen them before and am completely astounded by the talent of the band and especially some of the superhuman feats of the dancers. The nightly programme could really use an overhaul.

The other part of the ambiance, and we were really astounded, was that the pools were not lit up at night anymore. The adult pool is open until midnight, but no pool lights, and the Infinity Pool used to be spectacular when lit up at night, and was never lit during our entire trip. This was a bit of a disappointment.


The Spa

We visited the spa twice. Once for a 25 min back massage we earned after listening to their time share pitch, and then on our last day, for a couples massage. Both visits yielded spectacular results. The staff are very good at what they do and it was a very relaxing experience.

We also took advantage of the spa pools, hot tub and the sauna. All very well kept facilities and somewhat of a hidden gem. They are a nice getaway from all the hustle and bustle of the busy resort.

The Gym facilites are also part of the spa. There is a much better selection of equipment than many resorts I have visited, and its starting to show some wear and tear, and could use some refurbishing and repair to make it more serviceable.

There are also tennis/basketball courts and a mini putt course that we never had a chance to try out, but they're on our list for next time.

Overall this was a great trip ! We love this resort and will continue to come here to visit, though certainly with a different tour operator than Westjet, because for the dollar, other operators offer much better packages and service upgrades for the same money. This resort will always hold a special place for us and we will continue to come back !

Room Tip: The ocean view is spectacular if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GottaGoSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have stayed here before and had a fab time, service was great very friendly staff and very helpful loved the beach and pool, only thing not good was free internet was in the reception area only so there was always people slouched in the chairs on there phones or laptops, not good first impression when you walk in would be better to have wifi hotspots around the hotel and pool so everyone wouldnt gather in one place or do not charge so much to have wifi in the room $20 per day seems a bit high. Also sports bar needs some fans in there very hot and stuffy so didnt stay in there and also nightly shows could have been better. Would definetly go back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

We welcome your comments and will take them into consideration. It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We Stayed at Palladium April 26 - May 3rd. Resort is nice and big. Main Pool is great, and if you are a beach person this hotel is not for you stay in Negril. Bubba's steak house was GREAT and Italian was average, waiter forgot two of our group of 8's orders the second time. Check in was smooth and we stayed in Villa 11 closest to the pool. Suite was great and pillows and bed were very comfy, not sure where the pillow complaints come from. We always had fresh towels as well. Maid service was great we always left tip and she did a great job. Drinks were fine not sure why people are complaining about that either.

With that being said our last night was prob. the most negative after a full day of pool we had dinner and then went back to room. My wife found a small brown cockroach in our bed sheets and also a beetle in our bathroom. Kinda glad we found it on the last night thats for sure, I left cockroach in a ziploc bag on table in bedroom for maid, whether she did anything about it or not it beyond me, we just wanted to get home.

Now when we got back my wife had severe diarheea (as well as another member in our group of 8) she figured it was just traveller's diarheea. WE got back May 4th. Its now May 15th and she still has it went to doctor's office and had to to tests last week. We got test results back and she has Salmonella poisoning and has to go on antibiotics. Doctor advised she had eaten something with salmonella on vacation. Very disheartening and we will be writing a letter of complaint to Grand Palladium, but we will not be returning to this hotel. Food Prep should be taken seriously and I think the hotel lacked this and I noticed this quite a bit especially morning Buffets. (Cooks sneezing near food, barely covering mouth) Good thing there was alot of alcohol!! Again most things are good about this hotel, but we wont be returning to this hotel ,maybe another palladium somewhere else, But this is a 3.5 star hotel in Caribbean standards.

Room Tip: Villa 11 is closest to main pool area, sunset cove is best beach on far end of resort but its a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artybogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are extremely concerned to learn of your disappointing experience during your stay and would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced. On the other hand, I would like to clarify that in Palladium Jamaica we take hygiene seriously. We follow strict sanitary procedures and recommendations based not only on the Jamaican Regulations, but also by Crystal Americas Company, which is our external consulter. In all our hotels we follow a strict quality and hygiene control throughout each department to check that all regulations and recommendations as long as other healthy procedures are strictly followed by all staff members to reduce and eliminate potential risks. We are deeply sorry that you might have the opposite idea. I will certainly address your comments to all departments involved.

We would also like to mention that after checking the hotel doctor’s reports during your stay it was never brought to our attention any salmonella poisoning suffered at our resort.

Please could you send us the results of the test to the following address: assistdtor1.jamaica@palladiumhotelgroup.com

In that case we would like to deal with the situation privately and find a solution for both parts

With kindest regards,

Jose Torres
Accommodations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the pallidium from april 26th to may 3rd 2013. We emailed ahead of time for our room and ala cartes. We stayed in villa 24, room 2438, third floor, excellent view, and only a minutes walk to the adult pool, and a 5 minute walk to the main lobby. We could not have asked for a better villa, we just loved it. As far as the staff goes they were great, they were friendy, always said good morning when we would pass them, and some often asked if everything was alright, which we thought was great. The rooms were very clean, the beds were great firm which I like, there were extra pillows in the closest, a whirlpool tub, the sheets smelled of javex , so so clean which was great, the air conditioning was good not too cold, the balcony was big, and clean. The food at this resort was great, the buffets had lots to pick from, you will always many things to eat, great variety. The ala cartes were awsome we went to the Steakhouse, Jamaican, and the Italian, they were all great. The activity pool was awsome, so big, you can have a great swim, and the bartenders we super, I don't know how people can complain that you have to wait for a drink, the bartenders were asking us if we were ready for another drink...super guys. The sunset cove beach is beautiful, but small, there is only a small area to swim, there sore some coves with coral for those who like to scuby dive. We had no problem getting around this resort, the only time we took the tram was to get to our room the first day there so we would know how to get there, after that we walked everywhere. I cannot say enough good things about this resort, and we hope to go back there. And don't let people tell you the drinks are watered down, they are not, and if you need anything there the staff is more than willing to help. Thank you grand pallidium for the great week we had there, hope to see you again.

Room Tip: I would advise villa 24, room 2438, it is a minute walk to the adult pool, and a5 minute walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tarrdarling61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited here for a friends wedding and our honeymoon and it was amazing!!

The view from our room was gorgeous!! The room itself was huge and very clean. The restaurants were great and they was hard to choose from!!

Jessica the guest service lady was so beyond helpful getting our friend (the groom) dry cleaning back to him and helping us surprise them with some treats in their room. She was a sweetheart!

The resort was gorgeous and the staff was soo helpful! We cannot wait to visit again and bring all of our friends!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review based off your recent stay here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are elated that you have enjoyed your vacation and all that our Resort has to offer. We are grateful for your positive comments about the accommodations, the delicious meals and the competent service received from our staff.

We look forward to your visit in the near future as it was our pleasure hosting you on this visit. Until then, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just checked out from it and the stay was really awsome! Good service friendly staff, very good food quality Beach was quiet and the way you expect the caribeann sea to be!
Bring your own xl mugs for the drinks as we paid usd22 each one! Poor internet connection it's my only complaint

Room Tip: Bldg 27 thru 30 were the best but overbooked when we got there. Stayed in villa 23 and other than co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank argiequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one in which you were satisfied and enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer to our valued guests.

We welcome you to visit in the near future for another memorable vacation, nothing short of Grand.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,273 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $252 - $555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing