We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this resort from Jan 23-30th and thought it was awesome. We had a "situation" on the second night where water was coming thru the ceiling above the jacuzzi tub--we were on the second floor, so we know exactly what was happening. I called the front desk at 1:30am to advise them and they insisted on moving us. I was really only hoping that they would deal with the people above us. None the less, we were moved the next day to another building (27) with a view of the ocean!!! We received 2 courtesy calls to ensure we were satisfied. My husband had lost his phone charger and thought he would take a chance at asking the front desk. They immediately found a staff member with the same phone and all was well for the remainder of the holiday. The food was excellent. Even though the resort was huge, we found little or no wait times what-so-ever. We did have one wait for the Italian Restaurant, but they have a bar right there to have a drink prior--same as at home. No complaints at all and we are planning to bring the rest of our family next time.

Thank-you Grand Palladium for the best Vacation ever--hats off to your staff !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bobbi4335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Greetings!

We thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based on your vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are pleased to read about the wonderful experiences which you have had throughout your stay. Though the situation was handle forthwith by our Front Office team, I must extend my apologies for the inconvenience that may have been caused. As a team we work together to ensure that our guests are satisfied regardless of the situation, and we are glad that you were pleased with the outcome. It is delightful that you enjoyed the dining experience by the a la carte restaurants and the delicious meals.

We welcome your visit in the near future along with your family. It was our pleasure hosting you.


Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,974
    1,774
    875
    508
    437
See reviews for
1,634
2,316
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Group of six of us, "first timers" to Jamaica stayed at the Grand Palladium December 9 through December 15, 2012 on the recommendations of our son and daughter, who had both previously stayed here. We all were very satisfied overall with the resort. The check in was quick, friendly and efficient, Ayesha is top notch! The rooms were large and clean (we were all upgraded to oceanview). The food was very good and plentiful. There were a variety of drinks and were of very good quality. The staff overall was very friendly and accomodating and the location of the resort itself was very scenic. Would definitely recommend trying the jerk chicken at the Jerk Hut at Sunset Cove! We ate it everyday! I would suggest that the director of evening entertainment in the auditorium might consider turning down the music for the evening shows a few decibels! It was so loud we couldn't enjoy the shows, and we aren't a group of "old prudes"! A great resort to stay at and relax and soak up the Jamaican sun and Jamaican vibe with No Problems Mon!

Room Tip: Stayed in bldg 15 with oceanview. Beautiful view, but a little "hike" from the dining and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hoseman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just came back from this resort. We had 4 couples that went. The resort is very large. The chekc in was nice. It did take a few extra minutes as Alesha was trying to get 4 rooms in the same building as we were all spread out initally. She also gave us the ocean view side. She was great. We only had to fill out one paper per couple at check in. We were in Villa 17 so it was a walk to get to the main location. The pool was nice even though it was cold. Alex, Sean Gervace and Oshae were great at the pool bar. Try Alex's MF blended drink- really good. The beds were ok but our pillows were not flat like alot of the other reviews. I like to keep the patio doors open at night and the only noise was the frogs. Others had said they were crickets but it was acually the frogs making that noise all night. Wait staff at the Infinity Bar and Sports Bar were really slow. It took forever if you ordered from them. Better off getting your own drinks. JJ the bartender in the Casino was great. We thought the food was pretty good compared to some other resorts we had been to in Mexico. Jerk chicken was awesome. We went to the Steak, Mexican and Italian restaraunts and all were good. Would not recommend the french onion soup though...Our rooms were clean but the showers do need to be redesigned. My sister had an animal or something made out of towels everyday in their room but none of the rest of us had anything at all. We were never pressured for tips but if we had good service we did tip good. Wish they would have had Redstripe light like alot of the tappers showed...

Room Tip: First floor rooms smell musty. Stick with the higher rooms. Rooms with water view are awesome. i sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmlady26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your review about your recent vacation here at the Grand Palladium Jamaica. We are grateful for your positive comments and pleased that you enjoyed all that our Resort has to offer.

It is wonderful that you and your friends were well accommodated with your request of having rooms close to each other. I will be sure to pass your kind words to Ayesha who did your check in for your group.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the meals which were served at the restaurants and the drink mixes which you had. Your kind words will be relayed to JJ and Alex.

It was a great pleasure to host you all and we look forward to your visit in the near future. Until then, best wishes from our Palladium family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Last week we booked/pd a deposit for a 5 night stay at the Grand Palladium for our 30th anniversary. Just stumbled on something called 'BLEU - DREAM ENTERTAINMENT' which is in it's 3rd year & will occur May 24-26, 2013. It appears to be an alcohol company sponsored "spring break" type of event. Check out the youtube videos from last year :(. We tried to rebook our reservation & will be hit with $450 in fees. We will be paying this fee and NOT rebooking as the resort does not have any warnings on this event & we do not want to get into another similar situation. Just grateful we discovered this BEFORE we set foot on the property.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ringtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two hotels on one property. The Lady Hamilton guests have more priviledges, as it is pricier to stay there. There is very little beach, and the water sports are located on the far end of the Lady Hamilton beach, which is a good trek for the Grand Palladium guests. The SPA and fitness center, are also located on the Lady Hamilton side. There is a good choice of restaurants, and the staff is very professional. The buffet for breakfast has quite a variety, however, some of the servers need attitude adjustments. The hotel would be doing an enormous service to their guests, if they would provide coffee urns for self service. Getting a cup of coffee always seemed to be an ordeal. In the Mexican restaurant we ordered a margarita, and after waiting 40 minutes we did not have the drinks or our meals, so we left. We had some wonderful experiences in the other restaurants, and the staff did a great job. There is a seafood restaurant, again located on the Lady Hamilton side, but it is only open one night a week. Very disappointed in that fact, as it was extrememly over crowded, with a looooong wait time. We stayed in Bldg. 13, on the 2nd floor. Heather was our housekeeper, and she was OUTSTANDING, and went out of her way. The resort lacks a decent beach, but the pools are fantastic. There is a quiet pool area across from Bldg. 12, and it was perfect for us. The weather cooperated, and rained heavily only one evening. Worth the trip, but because of the enormity of the resort, we will not go back. Our room faced the road that leads to each of the buildings. There are a lot of vehicles that use that road, and it is not as quiet as I would have liked. An ocean view room would have been perfect. The staff in the gift shops are extremely rude. ALL of them.

Room Tip: I suggest a third floor room. No one overhead. Bldgs. 12, 13 and 14 are probably also the better cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goldenhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

we just came back from the Palladium and we were a bit disappointement of the resort. The resort is a bit ran down and the service was on the slow side in a few restaurants. We stayed in villa 12 and if you want to be close to the action you need to either in villa 11,12 or 13.

They have a gift shop and liquor store on site. My recommendation is to buy the Rum in the liquor store as the prices in the gift shops are $5-$10 more expensive for the same product.

The shows were on the cheap side and the one on Saturday (POP show) and Sunday (ideal couple) are not for families, children, although it is a family resort. There was always a break in the show, which kind of killed the flow of the show.

The kids preshow are only for kids to dance on the stage. We stayed in another Palladium in PVR and there, the staff played with the kids and organized games and there was no break in between the kids show and the main show. At the Palladium Jamaica, the kids show is at 2030, although advertized 2000 and the main show at 2130, although advertized 2100.

On Tuesday evenings there was the manager's night, where guests have the opportunity to talk to the manager, but they will not stay until the end of the show, but you have to miss part of the show if you want to talk to them.

What I found most irritating was there was no cocktail list at the bars and therefore, I never really knew what to drink. After a few days, I asked the barkeeper to mix their favorite cocktails and they were more than happy to do so.

On friday, at the swimm up bar there was the special of the day 007, therefore I requested the cocktail at a another bar, and was informed that I had to go to the swim up bar as it was the barkeeper special. I thought that in the resorts, barkeepers should be able to mix the cocktails offered at the resort, but I guess I was wrong.

We had to stay for another night, due to a lay over and got a different room. The funny thing is that the room was not cleaned, drinks missing in the minibar. After spending the whole day at the airport and coming back to the hotel at midnight, I wanted to have a beer, but no beer in the fridge. I was too tired to call the front desk to complain. There was a huge crack in the mirror of the 1 bedroom suite and a wonderful window, covered with some cheap curtain in front of the jaccuzzi tub in the washroom.

As said service was a bid slow, but I never felt I had to tip. Overall we were a bid disappointed of the stay.

Room Tip: villa 11,12,13 on the Jamaica side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank outofcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Six of us traveled the week of January 23 through January 30, 2013. We had a really awsome time the whole week! We loved the resort, food was good and plentiful. We were treated very well by all the staff and they were very friendly. We were in bulding 20, 22, and 15. The rooms and grounds were very clean. None of us minded walking as we were never in a hurry to get anywhere.

We hired Ranger to drive us around 3 different days and he showed us many things we would never have encounterd on our own. We felt very safe with him.

We would all love to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ziggy54Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Ziggy54Minnesota,

Thank you very much for your good comments about our resort and for taking the time to explain your experience with us. It’s a pleasure to realize that you had a great time here, as our aim is to provide memorable vacations to our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward for your next visit, and please, do not hesitate to contact us for any request or further comment.

Kindest regards,

Laura López
Assistant Room Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
52.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
64.8 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Address: The Point, Lucea, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Jamaica Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing