We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vaccation at Grand Palladium lady Hamilton Resort Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2009

The saying "You get what you pay for and you pay for what you get" applies to this resort. The price for my family of 4 was under $2500 including air. So with this price I wasn't dissapointed that the services were not quite was I was used to out of a Jamaician resort.
We were a family of 4 traveling with another family of 4 for a 4 night 5 day vaccation. We had been to Sandles Royal Carribian last year on an adult vaccation so going to Grand PAlladium was a COMPLETELY different experience. Sadles really caters to couples and works hard to make sure you have all the amenities to make your vaccation fun and relaxing. G.P. is more of a corporate resort and there is a definite difference between this resort that was large and Spanish owned and a smaller resort like Sandles.
Over all I would say this was a good resort for families. We never did eat in any of the al a cart resturaunts because it was just easier to go to the buffet with kids.However, the food was one of the best qualities of this resort. There was quite a varriety and I never found anything I did not like.
We were dissapointed that none of the bars or resturaunts served alcohol before 10am. SO no mimosus or scewdrivers with breakfast.
The water sports center is at sunset beach, which is at the far end of the resort. I sugest taking the tram to it. We enjoyed the paddle boats and sea canoes and that is also where the jurk hut is. GREAT FOOD!
The spa was good, but there were some pools and showers not working. But the high power spa water jets in the spa pool really pounded the tension our of the neck and shoulders. It's a must visit while there.
There were many tiles missing in the pools which call for wearing pools shoes everywhere. Bring your own big cup for the bars or your drinks will be small and sometimes slowly serviced. The Infinity bar is beautiful and relaxing. I liked that we could sit there and have adult conversation while watching the children play below us.
Our room was beautiful and I loved the couryards inside each of the rooming building. However I missed the stocked in room bar Although, unless you get a building which is beach front you will hear alot of traffic when sitting on your patio or balcony.
While tipping is not highly encourage, alittle bit goes a long way for better service. We found that staff who we tipped were much more happy to get us whatever we wanted. The pool attendants were good with the kids and Omar at the relax pool was the best. The drinks at the relax pool and the infinity bar were much better than the main pool or beach bar.

5  Thank stephaniewirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,670 - 4,676 of 5,439 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

My mom and I came here for our vacation on July 10th and left on the 15th. 5 nights was not long enough! I could have stayed for 2 weeks! I have been to other resorts in Mexico but never in Jamaica and I will say this is the best one yet. When we checked in on friday we were given a room on the ground floor and in a villa that was farther away from everything. We asked the staff at the front desk if we could be moved to a room above the ground floor and hopefully with a better view. They were incredibly accomidating!!! We got moved to a much closer building and to a room with a fabulous view of the beautiful carribean sea! Our room was beautiful and Valrose did a great job cleaning and changing the room over. We requested just beer and water in our mini bar and Kevin did just that! The service was great! The food in the buffet (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was always delicious! This resort has the best food I have ever had at a all inclusive resort. Great selection of food to choose from (italian, mexican, indian, seafood, lots of fruit and vegetables and great dessert!) We ate at the sit down restraunt where you are actually served your meal, the Indian restraunt was OK but the mexican restraunt was GREAT! The pineapple and mango was to die for! I ate so much mango on this trip I probably are about 3 or 4 a day! The bars were all great as well, plenty of red stripe to go around and delicious fruity cocktails too! The beaches were all beautiful and had plenty of chairs and shade for everyones comfort. There are some parts in the water that are a little rocky and have seaweed, but there are plenty of places to swim to avoid it. The water is incredible, so turquoise and clear. The whole resort is surrounded by it, everywhere you go has a great view of the water. We did two excursions, one to Negril to the 7 mile beach which is like the pictures you see in magazines. The beaches there have white powder sand and crystal clear blue water, they are breath taking! We were taken to Margaritaville which was so much fun, drinks and food and comfy lounge chairs right on the gorgeous beach. They also have these hilarious floats out in the water with trampolines and slides on them!
After Margaritaville, they take you to the shopping areas and Ricks cafe for the beautiful sunset and more drinks if you want. The driver we had, Joe was hilarious and fabulous! The tour guide was great too, very interesting and informative about the island. Next time I might stay in Negril, just because the beaches are so incredible! The second excursion we went on was at the Croydon plantation. It was so fun! You learn about the coffee and fruits like pineapple, which you get to try 9 different types of! All of this is followed by a delicious lunch of fresh vegetables and jerk chicken. Great place to visit!
The one big downfall to this resort are the pools. They are beautiful but for some reason they decided to tile them instead of just put concrete in. I would say in each pool about 25% of the tiles are coming up :( They need to drain and fix the pools. Especially since this resort has only been open a year! I can only imagine what they will look like next time we visit! As for the bugs, we did see some at night when we were walking around the resort, but we NEVER saw any in our rooms except a few tiny ants. It is the roaches climate there though, you have to expect them somewhere. Another thing, you are not required to tip. It is included in your all inclusive package but the service is fabulous and the people are so friendly, we left tips for our maid in the room and the people at the restraunts and bars. The drivers and tour guides you have to tip! They work so hard and do such a fantastic job, we left them very generous tips and were happy to. All in all this place is fantastic and my mom and I would love to come back! We loved Jamaica and we absolutly come back!!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Poodlenakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Fourtreen of us went to Jamaica to celebrate our friends birthday. The resort is beautiful, the beaches and water is just like from the farytail., the rooms are fantastic (even though we had HUGE cockroaches in our room).
After reading all those negative reviews we were still going there with a positive attitute, just to realize how correct all those people were. I have been to the carribian & mexico many times so i have something to compare to but this resort was just a disapoitment. The staff was SO rude, lazy and just unhappy it was disapointing. Anything we asked for was NO or it cant be gone. We couldnt have dinner all together at the buffey because they were too lazy to put the tables together for us, so the boys would just do it themselves and they wouldnt say anything but initially it would be a NO. If i wanted to take the food to the room or to the beach, it was a NO. if you ask why not they would not have an answer for you. Once I just took a plate of fruits to the beach and that plait stood there for 3 days and no one took it away even though they arrange lounge chairs every night. The staff is just LAZY.....
You ask for a drink at the buffey...well you just might as well go to the bar and get it yourself because they just forget and you see all the staff just standing around talking all day long. It almost felt like they were doing all that on purpose just to irritate you.
Once again, we were all trying not to pay attantion to all those little things because in reality you are in paradise but it the service/staff were just disrespectful. Its unfortunate because this resort would be an A+ if they trained their staff to be a little nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiAn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at Grand Palladium for 2 weeks (june 28 - july 12), and enjoyed every day.
Yes, there were some issues, but NO PROBLEM!!!
First, when booking at the travel agency, we asked for two rooms side by side, one double one twin (for the 14 and 12 years old son and daugther), near the beach (Lady Hamilton side), top floor. At check in, they gave us 2 rooms double same floor but far from each other, building 37 gound floor. So we tell to the reception staff (with education!) that didn't ask for that, and want they to change our rooms. The next day we were at building 33, top floor, side by side, double and twin rooms, and lateral sea view!!!
We really think that was the travel agency (travelplan) that didn't do the job correctly, so the hotel had no information about our request.
We woke up early, went to the Sunset beach, had lunch at the Negril Restaurant (has AC) most of the days, but tryed the Blue lagoon, outside, and the chicken at the Jerk chicken hut in Sunset cove beach.
The pool (infinity pool) is BIG and lovely. Yes , there is a problem with tiles missing, and we really don't know what are they doing to fix it!!!
Two of us get an ear infection and we think it was related to the dirty pool (even with the staff cleaning the pool, we never saw anyone testing the water (taking samples for ex) and those places without tiles are good culture places for microbes.
The hotel has a nurse station and if you call the doctor you pay $150 (for the observation) and $30 for each prescription, so don't forget to take with you some antibiotics and analgesics.
Overall the food was good. We ate at all "a la carte" restaurants (except The Poseidon) and had NO problem.
Didn't felt the need for tipping, and got good service always.
99% of the people working, was very kind and friendly.
We booked two tours at the hotel (Jamaica side) cheaper than that offered by the travel agency. We visit Negril and Ricks Café (if you want to buy something you must choose only the Time square plaza (best prices), don't buy anything at the other stores before). The second tour was to the Black river, seeing crocodiles, YS falls and visit the Apleton state (great to get some bottles of rhum at a good price). We loved this last one and recommend, but if you have motion sickness you must take a pill before went to the tour (2 hours of bad roads).
Never had problem to get towels. Allways got some shade.
If you like water sports you can go to the sunset cove beach and there you will find some for free (All inclusive) and others (extra payment).
Finaly, we can say that the place is lovely and if you visit it in a good mood you will definitely enjoy.
YA MON!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PortoLiberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We just came back from a 1 week stay at this resort. We travelled with our 2 kids, aged 20 months and 4 years old. Overall, the resort was clean and well-kept and the staff lovely. We upgraded to a junior "suite" so that we would have a separate living-room area for the kids, and it was well-worth the small cost. No matter what they say, you DO spend time in a hotel room, especially when you have small children.

Cleaning staff were great, friendly. I was there the first day the "bar fridge" man came by and told him what we liked and he stocked it. Note that you HAVE to keep your card key in the electronic slot in order for air conditioning to work all day. Anyone who complained earlier obviously couldn't figure that out.

The food was "so / so". Good experience with breakfast buffet (fresh foods) as well as the made-to-order buffet stations (pasta and grilled meat). However, the other buffet items at dinner and lunch were very heavy - oily, fried, not a lot of healthy choices. However, the a la carte restaurants (we tried Italian, Mexican) were good. Also, do sign up for the Friday night Beach BBQ!

The rest of the facility was decent. The kids club was essentially a room with no real organized activities (maybe not enough kids there in July?) but the staff was nice. The resort certainly could throw a few $$$ that way and get some games, toys and crayons so that if the kids do want to chill and there are no activities, they're not scrounging for a piece of paper (kind of pathetic, actually).

The pool / pool bars / snack bars, all good. As mentioned by others, the pool is slowly deteriotating. Not sure how they're going to deal with all those tile gaps. Fixing at this point would require draining the pool for an extended period of time. But it's not too bothersome.

The beach is fine. If you want miles of white sand, go to Negril. But if you just want a litlle bit of the ocean, Montego Bay is fine. Bring water shoes.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We went with 3 other couples - we did not book trip another couple did. After reading the reviews I had several concerns. My husband and I have been to several other countries and knew to go with an open mind. I am so glad we did! The resort was beautiful. The A/C was great. The food was great. The service was great. The pool was great. The staff was great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nonnie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

First and foremost, when in Jamaica remember to sit back, relax, slow down, and enjoy the Jamaican pace of life! Don't expect immediate service, remember you are on holiday, and are there to relax..relax..relax!!

After saying this I will enlighten you on our stay. The only reason we have rated everything very good is because we were totally spoilt on a vacation to Mexico just six months before.

We travelled AirTransat and found them accomodating and knowledgeable. Their reps, both at the airport and onsite at the hotel, were always available when they were supposed to be.

The hotel had not been long opened when we decided to stay there. There was ongoing improvements all the time, but we did not experience any inconvenience. Upon arrival we asked to be upgraded to an oceanview room, but were advised there were none available, so then asked to see one of the suites in the adult oriented section. We were told we could, but would have to pay for the upgrade, which of course we were OK with. We had to wait almost an hour for someone to take us, but we managed to find a seat to sit back and peruse our surroundings. They showed us a beautiful room with an outdoor shower, large jacuzzi, plush furnishings and large balcony overlooking the ocean. We decided to take it and headed back to the lobby. We paid our money and then headed back to the room. When we got there we began to take a closer look at everything. There was only cold water. We found the electricity was not working, the water pressure in the shower was almost not existant...just a trickle from the lions mouth (the shower head consisted of just a hose upon inspection), the mini fridge was empty...the list was endless. We called the front desk, and after another hour someone finally arrived...by this time it was getting dark...we had lost over 1/2 a day. The maintenance guy tried his best to fix things, but after another hour we decided to take a regular room.

The new room was clean and spacious, but overlooked a public walkway...but by this time we were willing to accept pretty much anything. After all you only need the room to rest your head at the end of the day. We were tired, and a little dissappointed, so headed off for supper. The next morning we went to the front desk for the paperwork for thecredit card refund as advised, but it took several days before they finally had the papers ready for us...but at least we eventually got them.

As said before the Air Transat reps were great. They arranged two trips for us, one to Ocho Rios to the Dunns River Falls...a must see for everyone visiting Jamaica...and one a shopping trip with a trip to see the Sunset at Ricks Cafe...another must see, even tho' the day we went the clouds rolled in while the sun was setting. The only dissappointment was that we had to head back to the hotel too early that day, as the entertainment at Ricks was just starting as we had to leave, and was sounding pretty darn good...so if you can get together with another couple and share a cab back to your hotel..then do it.

The rooms were clean, and the bathrooms were well stocked with fresh towels and supplies daily. The mini bar was well stocked, and filled daily. The restaurants were staffed well, and the staff attentive. The buffet was different every day. Expect to gain weight while here...make sure you have comfy shoes for walking around the resort, you can take the mini trams which run constantly, but you will feel better for the exercise, and then maybe not so guilty for enjoying the food. The adult pool is quieter than the main pool, and they are quick to advise the kids that they are not allowed in this area as some people choose to sunbathe topless here. The Spa is beautiful and relaxing. We enjoyed a couples massage...and it was well worth it.

I would like to make a special mention to one employee who looked after us during our stay. A BIG THANKYOU goes out to DELROY!! He was very accomodating, looked for us every morning at breakfast, would go out of his way to make our stay memorable. During our stay we became engaged, and Delroy made sure we had a Mimosa waiting for us at breakfast when we asked for it. Even if we did not sit in his section of the restaurant, he still made a point of coming over and saying good morning. WELL DONE DELROY!!

The Good: Delroy. Rooms. Staff. Delroy. Drinks. Grounds. Spa. Did I mention Delroy??

The Bad: There were a lot of tiles lifting in the pools, there is ongoing maintenance on them, but they do not seem to be able to correct the problem as I have read in several other reviews...and it sure hurts when you stub your toes on them.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nades-in-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
21.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,749 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,705 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,151 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Building 27, Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $300 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 cabins suites (adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Palladium Hotel Group, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing