We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Average @ best, out of booze by 4th day...have $ for tip or Eye Roll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed from 3/14 thru 3/21. I'm just going to write my thoughts... Positive & Negative

Positive:
Very elegant decorations
Room Ready upon arrival
Great sunrise in east corner on Jamaican side by block 1800 & 1900
Even BETTER Sunset between Villa # 3090 & 3104, looking West, bring Camera
Negril buffet Omelet Lady (Left)...She's so Friendly, Happy and Talkative...Real Pleasure!!

Negative:
No Face Clothes or Robes ALL WEEK LONG - 7 days mind you
Telephone not working to receive calls...ask about ext.7000 voice message (on left)
Shower stall smelled of Mold...stinky
All Stairs...3rd floor room...hope you have good knees...
Lots of walking...pavers...bring comfortable walking shoes...No Heels
Resort ran out of mixers and basic liquor ?? All Inclusive?? Bring BIG CUP !!!
A La Carte's are OK...1 hour wait after 7pm...Go Early...small portions order 2 main entree's
Pool's are Very Cold...Whirlpool Tubs only work in your room...forget the pool
Bees are dive bombing @ Bars... too Much Sugar, not enough cleaning
Washingtons and Franklins always bring a smile and a better attitude w/Staff
Snokeling Equipment is good to bring with you...will save you the hike to the cove for freebee equipment...but if you are there, get the Jerk Chicken and Rice from the white hut @ noon.
If you want to use the water amenities...they open at 9am when the water is calm...Hint Just not the sail boats...Oh' watch out for the shallow coral around noon in the lagoon...
Broken Glass is around...always wear something on your feet, no treading on grass, see room brochure.
Good Luck and Enjoy your stay

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chamean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,594 - 4,600 of 5,179 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at the Grand Palladium (3/15-3/22) and were totally satisfied! We had read some of the reviews and were questioning our decision but figured how bad could it be, especially for the great price.

Well, we are not exactly frequent travelers but certainly not novices as this is our sixth island vacation (5 were all inclusives such as this) in the last 12 years. This was by far and away our nicest room, one of the friendliest and welcoming staffs, the beaches were certainly quite nice (a few rocks here and there but certainly not enough to warrant a remark to make sure and have water shoes) and the food, drink and service were topnotch to any we have previously gone to. Yes, the beds were hard (get over it already) and we did have to wait on a waiting list one hour one night at the delicious Bubba's Steakhouse (we do that at home for a good restaurant!) but so what, have a drink and relax while you wait - there's a bar nearby whereever you are.
I would strongly suggest ignoring the negative reviews and paying attention to positive ones and form your own opinion once there - people are always quicker to say negative things in a review. You will not find a nicer all inclusive at such an incredible value!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmoreau23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Ok, so I went on this trip probably like everyone else, a little nervous because of the negative reviews. After my wonderful weeks vacation, I'm thinking the only people that wrote in must have been very hard to please or unhappy all the time. From the first day there we were blown away. First of all it is stunning to look at. Check-in took all of 5 minutes. I had written in a week before and requested (if possible) oceanview, 3rd floor, and near the pool, hoping I would at least get one. Well I never even had to mention it, all 3 request were met. Rooms were very nice. View was amazing!!
The two best things about this place are the staff and the food. We ate at a different restaurant each night. The only 2 that didn't thrill us, were the Jamaican (sorry), and the seafood. Maybe we didn't order the right things. Indian, believe it or not, was my favorite. Get the butter chicken and the shrimp dish, to die for. Asian is also very good food and a nice experience. They have the traditional cushions on the floor and chopsticks. The kids thought it was neat. My husbands favorite was mexican, and the kids liked the steakhouse and Italian. We also really liked the wine they served. It was from Argentina. The only one we waited too long in was the mexican. The rest were fast. The Italian one is smaller, so longer waits to get into it. Every server we had was friendly and helpful with great recommendations.
Now the service is a little slow at the pool bar and swim up bar, but it is only because they are a litlle under staffed. If you are patient, you will get a drink. Vacations are no time to get hot over little things, and remember there are so many bars that you can get a drink at, all you have to do is go for a short walk to find another.
The service at the Infinity bar and Miss Lou's (little hidden gem upstairs that serves premium drinks) is excellent. Especially Cleon, Clyde and our buddy Alrick. They are the happiest entertaining fellows you will ever meet. We actually taped them and put them on Youtube. On a side note if you plan on doing any side trips talk to Alrick, he has some really good connections that are very resonable. Tell him Steve sent you.
Speaking of good service, our transfer company also was excellent. They are called Clives travel. Our drivers Leroy and Dean were very knowledgeable and friendly. Stopped at all the right spots on the drive there and home.
Now a big part of the fun here is the animation crew. They are very upbeat, and entertaining, always happy and singing. Are you catching a theme here. Very friendly place. There were many fun activities going on every day. My kids (age 13 and 15) loved participating. They even took Patois lessons(Jamaican slang) each afternoon. We did archery, tennis, bingo, beach olympics, volleyball, mini-golf tournie, etc. Always something to do, or not if we chose. Peanutz and Lady Diva were especially memorable. They even exchanged emails with our kids. 007 is quite entertaining also. Very funny guy!
I really could go on all day about the many positive things we experienced there. It is not a 5 star, but probably will be eventually. Staff and food are already there in my opinion. We are planning to return again next year for March break. This will be the first time we have went to a resort a second time. Not that other ones weren't great, but this one is really special to us. Our family had the time of our lives and didn't want to come home. So just remember, there are some people you will never please, so if loose pool tiles and uneven paving is going to spoil your trip, you have a lot bigger issues. So don't let the reviews scare you off. I would recommend this resort 100% and will be returning next year. vacation, I'm thinking the only people that wrote in must have been very hard to please or unhappy all the time. From the first day there we were blown away. First of all it is stunning to look at. Check-in took all of 5 minutes. I had written in a week before and requested (if possible) ocean view, 3rd floor, and near the pool, hoping I would at least get one. Well I never even had to mention it, all 3 request were met. Rooms were very nice. View was amazing!!
The two best things about this place are the staff and the food. We ate at a different restaurant each night. The only 2 that didn't thrill us, were the Jamaican (sorry), and the seafood. Maybe we didn't order the right things. Indian, believe it or not, was my favorite. Get the butter chicken and the shrimp dish, to die for. Asian is also very good food and a nice experience. They have the traditional cushions on the floor and chopsticks. The kids thought it was neat. My husbands favorite was Mexican, and the kids liked the steakhouse and Italian. We also really liked the wine they served. It was from Argentina. The only one we waited too long in was the Mexican. The rest were fast. The Italian one is smaller, so longer waits to get into it. Every server we had was friendly and helpful with great recommendations.
Now the service is a little slow at the pool bar and swim up bar, but it is only because they are a little under staffed. If you are patient, you will get a drink. Vacations are no time to get hot over little things, and remember there are so many bars that you can get a drink at, all you have to do is go for a short walk to find another.
The service at the Infinity bar and Miss Lou's (little hidden gem upstairs that serves premium drinks) is excellent. Especially Cleon, Clyde and our buddy Alrick. They are the happiest entertaining fellows you will ever meet. We actually taped them and put them on Youtube. On a side note if you plan on doing any side trips talk to Alrick, he has some really good connections that are very reasonable. Tell him Steve sent you.
Speaking of good service, our transfer company also was excellent. They are called Clives travel. Our drivers Leroy and Dean were very knowledgeable and friendly. Stopped at all the right spots on the drive there and home.
Now a big part of the fun here is the animation crew. They are very upbeat, and entertaining, always happy and singing. Are you catching a theme here. Very friendly place. There were many fun activities going on every day. My kids (age 13 and 15) loved participating. They even took Patois lessons (Jamaican slang) each afternoon. We did archery, tennis, bingo, beach olympics, volleyball, mini-golf tournie, etc. Always something to do, or not if we chose. Peanutz and Lady Diva were especially memorable. They even exchanged emails with our kids. 007 is quite entertaining also. Very funny guy!
I really could go on all day about the many positive things we experienced there. It is not a 5 star, but probably will be eventually. Staff and food are already there in my opinion. We are planning to return again next year for March break. This will be the first time we have went to a resort a second time. Not that other ones weren't great, but this one is really special to us. Our family had the time of our lives and didn't want to come home. So just remember, there are some people you will never please, so if loose pool tiles and uneven paving is going to spoil your trip, you have a lot bigger issues. So don't let the reviews scare you off. I would recommend this resort 100% and will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hockeymom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Check-In - Very Smooth, better than at the comfort inn we slept in before we left. Apple vacations met us immediately in the airports main lobby. Boarded a bus and left in 15 minutes with the rest of the passengers. 45 min ride, driver very entertaining. Close to the airport in our terms but the roads are not. Was offered Mimosa even before i completed check in. Bus Boy took us to our room and carried our luggage up 4 flight of stairs cards work.

Room- Very Good. 24" LCD with channels in all languages(except it went out during a rainstorm, inherent in being so far south). Mini Bar is better than most 5star hotel minibars which offer only a coffee maker and some cups. This one had soda,beer, and water. They also had teacups and saucers and spoons with all the accessories to make coffee. Well Furnished, even though pillow is a little flat(no big deal). Bed is very firm but very sleepable and besides its good to sleep on a firm mattress. Shower and Jacuzzi worked. A/C took the humidity right out once you leave it on overnight. Remember, leave a key card in the slot to keep the A/C on. Safe worked well. Ocean view included.

Food- With 3 Buffets and 8 restaurants, plus a sports bar, there is no reason you should go hungry. All the restaurants were great. Key here is to not have a large party. 2-3 people take 2-7 minutes to seat. Portion sizes were excellent and presentation was amazing. If you feel hungry on the beach, go to the sunset beach were fresh jerk chicken is made daily among other items along with popcorn and nachos and other American favorite snacks. Snack bar always has food for the midnight munchies.

Nightlife-Not strong here but that's the sacrifice for being self-contained.They do have a night bar with live band every night and a discotheque and a casino and a sports bar.

Service- Excellent, everybody was friendly,prompt and courteous. No one asked to sell drugs. Tip is not required but is greatly appreciated and will make very good service become excellent.

Swimming - Pools are cold for march because they are unheated, i guess it just the season. People were still crowding at the swim up bar to get warmed up. 5 Pools, 1 on Jamaica side ,1 kiddy,1 huge main pool,1 adult pool and 1 at the fitness center. all but the kiddy and fitness pools have bars.

Bars- Some are stocked better than others. The main pool bars and the dedicated bars are the best. Remember that the pool bars but only a little alcohol in the drinks for obvious reasons. Show bar was good, Drinks are good to very good albeit with cheap liquor(makes little difference in cocktails plus all but high end stuff(ie 150$ bottle of champagne) is included).

Fitness Center- Medium size and well equipped.

Beaches-All good depending on what you like. Some are deep and wavy and others are shallow and sandy.

Towels-Always plentiful

Water Sports - Very Good except that the scuba shop can only has 20 set of snorkel gear. Be there early around 10 am. Paddle boats and kayaks are always available. Catamarans have a line forming but 90% of the time , you can get one.

Location-Gorgeous, no wind, not too hot, not too humid. Nights are excellent. Only problem is walking around everywhere because it is quite large. Oh well ,burn those calories from the buffet off.

Maintenance- Very good. Safe was running low on battery. Stopped by front desk on the way to dinner to leave a notice. Was fixed by the time we came back. Maintenance and grounds are always hard at work doing something.

Security- At night they are plentiful and on alert. The whole resort has a 12ft razor wire fence around it.

Return - Smooth. Got ready, called the front desk and dispatched a bell boy within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MedicineMan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This place was great! Built in the last year so nothing broken down.
Rooms air conditioning was one of the best I ever had.
I went with my husband and another couple we are in are early 30's. We stayed in the Grand Palladium side but you had use of both resorts. They had 2nd floor we had first. Their room was less humid, however ours had better water pressure it's a crapshoot that kind of stuff, anyway we got over it fast when we looked out the back sliding doors and we were 10 feet from the ocean. Awesome view, roomy, nice soaker tub.
The age group there was 30-50 not many children at all but great facilities if you were coming with them, private kids pool and play areas.
The staff were friendly , accomodating, they could get you anything you wanted if you asked nicely :), but not pushy when it came time for daily entertainment. If you wanted to join in the activities then fine, if not they would leave you alone. They would give out free bottles of rum for the winners too, which has never happend to me at other all-inclusive resorts I have been to before in, Mexico or Dominican. Anyway, the indoor bar that was open every night until 11pm has Heiniken beer and there is a sports bar open 24 hours that has booze and food which was good after the disco. There tap beer doesn't suck either! You have many places around the resort to get booze but suggest bringing a thermos we didn't but the smater ones did so you don't have to refill those tiny plastic cups so much and it kept their drinks cool, will bring next time for sure!
Great food in both buffet areas lots to choose from. No reservations in all the 6 themed restaurants for dinner, you just walk in and no limits on how many times per week, unbelievable!
Co-ed soccer games on turf, and complimentary water sports on the Lady Hamilton side. Ping-pong and pool and sports on T.V. in the sports bar, who could ask for anything more?
For cheaper alternative for a day excursion off the resort for a change, I would suggest taking a red plated (legitimate) cab to Rick's cafe for a day trip. It's an amazing bar on the cliffs with great music cliff jumpers, and vibes, we went on the bus tour with shopping first with others from the hotel the shopping was a waste of time, and left not enough time for Rick's Cafe and you have to leave early too, oh well we know for next time.
Weather was a little windy when we went, but that's because we went the first week of February, but always sunny never rained.
Great night entertainment, with bands and stage performances.
No casino built yet, but didn't realize until we were leaving, what does that say.
I miss this place, it will be in my memories for ever I had a blast!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tiggerthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

before we left for our 5 day vacation to jamaica, we read plenty of reviews. most of the reviews for the grand palladium lady were not so good. im here to set the record straight.

rooms: the room we got was the villa suite overlooking the ocean. this is a must. we had our own private outdoor shower, with a jacuzzi tub for four in our room. as stated in a few of the previous reviews, the beds were a little hard, but not bad at all (not even an issue). our balcony had an amazing view of the beach, with 2 sunbeds on the terrace. there was a huge his/ her closet aside from the his/her bathroom vanity. i cant state how wonderful the rooms were, so please look at our pictures for the full effect.

service: before i write this review id like to comment on previous ones. the service was better than expected. remember, you are going to a country that appreciates tourism as a part of their own survival, so all the people we met would bend over backwards for our needs. everything we asked for came promptly and without hesitation. just try to remember you are on vacation, and relax.

food: the food wasn't bad. there was a lot of choices from american cuisine to ethic food, to oriental. so you will find something you like im sure. even with so many different choices, i would suggest you try some of the authentic jamaican cuisine (ackee and salt fish/ jerk chicken) Again, your visiting another country, its just good manners to try their food. dont let the hotel be your only source of food either. have a cabbie drive you to a local restaurant. NOT KFC- lol

excursions: we did most of the excursions offered to us, and i will only comment on 1. the chukka canopy tour was the most fun i have had in a while. was a rush. you are strapped to a harness about 200 hundred high going 1000 feet across at 35 mph. AWESOME, just look at my pics. i highly recommend this tour.

getting around: this is very important. most of the hotels have contracts with a certain taxi company or tour company. this may seem like the best value or price, or you might be scared to venture off with an independent taxi. DONT BE SCARED. this was the highlight of the trip, and i suggest all vacationers to travel this way. instead of using the hotels taxi go out of the hotel and get an independent driver. dont worry its safe. the hotel will get the license plate and information from the driver, so nothing will happen. not to mention, they are workers too and could use some support. this is the best way to get an inside look at jamaica. not only will they take you to your destination, but they will walk with you or wait for you to be done and take you back. our driver hung out with us and made sure we didnt get ripped off while shopping. i highly recommend him and told him i would give him a shout out (BB - [--]) have your hotel receptionist call him for you.

final: please dont forget, this is a vacation and you are supposed to relax. please look at the pictures i posted to get a better idea of how beautiful and awesome this trip was. words cannot describe.

p.s. i know it sounds like i work for jamaica or something, but im just thrilled to let people know how much fun we had

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pokes204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The Lady Hamilton Resort is new and looks impressive on first glance. Rooms are fine but nothing special. The staff generally are friendly. The restaurants are good except for their horrible attempt at doing asian. (yeah, maybe I was being too optimistic)
The all-inclusive is really pretty inclusive. Not too many extra hidden charges. Lucea doesn't have much but isn't too far from Negrille. This was my first time Jamaica but it was a fairly generic but pleasant experience. Good if you need to relax in the sun. It was remarkably windy in Lucea- I don't know if it usually windy or not because of location. The beaches were nice and there were more pools than you knew what to do with.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ewl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,607 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,214 reviews
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Building 27, Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $257 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 cabins suites (adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Palladium Hotel Group, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing