We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My husband and I went to this resort for our Anniversay and were extrememly pleased. I had contacted the resort before our arrival, were welcomed with a Happy Anniversay plate of chocolates which was a great way to start our vacation. Check in went smoothly. From our experience the later you check in, more dealys. We try to get to our destination close to lunch time then we can get something to eat, have some coctails, go to the beach, if we have to wait for our room. Our room was gorgeous, overlooking the sunset cove. Yes, it is all-inclusive but we always take extra ones with us to tip the maids and good service. And you get back what you give, a smiles works too!!!. The complaints we read in reviews are so exaggerated. Yes there are a few tiles missing, blah, blah, blah. If you want the Ritz then pay for the Ritz. This is a beautiful resort and in time will be even better. Yes Jamaicans are a little slow, (remember, you are on an island in the caribbean, duh!) but then we went on vacation to relax, not rush or feel pressured about time. The food was wonderful, something for everyone. Go visit Amoy in Lou's Bar, she is fabulous. This resort is not for people who want to go sight seeing every day and there are excursions for that if you choose. The beaches are all different, some are rocky no long stretches to walk on. If anything it showed the beauty of the island. We enjoyed doing not much of anything! If I would complain about anything it would be about the people who are rude and impatient and expect service when they snap their fingers, and yes there were a few, for me it was embarrassing. I expect the price of this resort will go up, grab it now. Would we go back? In a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chinariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,825 - 4,831 of 5,440 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton March 7 - 14, 2009
I was amazed at how beautiful the entire resort was! From the villas to the lobbys to the views!! AMAZING!

I was worried reading all of the mixed reviews before we left but we had a wonderful time and miss it very much now that we are back in Toronto.

This resort could totally be a 5* resort, once they work out the kinks. Staff needs to be trained to be more attentive and they've got to maintain the hotel better. There are a few tiles missing from the pools, there are some bricks that are wonky in the front of the hotel (I tripped and stubbed my toe) and the hot tubs at the spa are in no way hot. They are lukewarm at best.

The Beaches are a bit rocky... not fine sand but being man made, I guess you cant expect fine sand beaches. I did however like the option of having different beaches to go to!
Snorkeling is okay... Not a ton of fish to see but we did see some sort of puffer fish and some kind of ray...
Food... is mostly warm. It was hard to find hot food but it was fine... no biggie!
we tried most of the a la cartes and they were all pretty good. Italian was not good
at all! The appetizers were fine, but the mains were pretty disgusting.
Rooms... Absolutely gorgeous and very big in size! I love the bathrooms! huge whirlpool
soaker tub and a big walk in shower. The bed was a bit hard but didnt bother
me all that much.

all in all, I had a great vacation, it was a beautiful resort and if you're not super nit picky you'll love it too! I would definetly reccommend this resort
P.S try the Miami Vice! daiquiri, pinacolada, rum and curacao. Delish!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jamaicalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We booked this trip last minute and are so glad we went to Jamaica and stayed at the Grand Palladium. We booked thru "Book It" and had no problems with our reservations or transfers with "Jamaican Tours". The bus driver was very informative and the ride too about 45min. There was a little line for check-in (we arrived about 5:30pm after a long line thru customs) but we were served cool, fruity drinks. We were taken right to our beautiful room. The weather was a little cool one day and windy most days. We weren't in the water as much as we expected but the pool and beach were great. We participated in lots of activities and sat over by the activity center - no problem getting chairs. The resort is very big and there seemed to be a lot of people there but it didn't feel crowded. Overall we would definitely recommend the Grand Palladium - see below for more specifics on the different aspect of the resort:

Room: Our room was large, clean and had a nice view of the spa/pool. We had two firm double beds and a large pullout sofa bed. We had a jacuzzi tub and separate shower. Housekeeping was great. We called for more towels and sheets for the sofa and they were there when we got back from dinner. There were some shelves in the closet to put your clothes on but no drawers. Safe worked fine. Fridge was stocked with soda and beer daily.

Pool: The pool was beautiful. No jets or fountains. A little cool. Clean. People were having a lot of fun at the swim up bar! Plenty of lounges in the pool. TONS of chairs around the pool and more shady palm umbrellas than we've ever seen. Never a problem getting a chair in shade or sun. Towel cards not a problem either.

Beach: Quite rocky and not very long to walk along. There is a cove that is sandy but has some seaweed but good for swimming with some waves. The water activity beach is not connected to the rest of the beach so we never made it down there (you have to walk thru where the buildings are.) Beautiful water and sand is fine - perfect for lounging on the beach. They were building " platform shelters" on the beach while we were there.

Activities: The activity team of 8-10 people/day were great. Started the morning with stretching. Lots of beach volleyball. Water aerobics, dance lessons, ping pong, bocci ball, bean bag toss, patois (Jamaican) lessons, and dance lessons: merrange, belly dancing, reggae, and salsa. Also belly flop and drinking contests, trivia and bingo. They were there all day and then started the evening entertainment with dancing. They were great about being enthusiastic but not too pushy. They were fun but aware when kids were present to be appropriate with language and jokes. Mini golf was out front and simple. Saw lots of people playing tennis.

Shows: Entertainment team started with awards and dancing. Most nights were dancing. Not great. Didn't go to the disco or casino. Didn't go on the free trips to Margaritaville that left at 10:00pm - sign up at activity center.

Food/Restaurants: Lots of places to eat outside and enjoy the beautiful views. Service in general was a little slow but friendly. Loved that there were no reservations for the a la cartes. We tended to go early (6pm) and had no wait. If you did have to wait there were bars with drinks available - the bar at the Asian/Creole restaurant had the best drinks! Breakfast had smoothies, omlettes, cereals, fruits, etc. Lunch buffet at the Blue Lagoon overlooking the pool was fresh and good variety. Dinner buffet was ok.

Asian (Lotus House): Inside, A/C. We tried tons of stuff here with mixed reviews. Had great sushi the first time, not as good the second time. Lots of good appetizers and noodles.

Italian (Pastaforia): Outside with nice view of sunset. Love the bruschetta. Entrees were good. Tiramisu dessert was the best in a chocolate cup,

Indian: Heard other people raving about this one.

Drinks: Much stronger than in Mexico. Good variety. Bartenders were great.

We had a great time being on Jamaica time - no problem man!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed at the Lady Hamilton side of the Grand Palladium from March 7-14, 2009. We booked our trip through Air Transat, which we later found out made us part of the "Imperial Club". We did not pay anymore booking through Air Transat as they had a sale and we only paid $1500 each including all taxes - this included the flight, transportation to and from the hotel and and ofcourse the hotel, food and drinks. With the Imperial Club (black wristband) we got 15% off at the spa and did not have to wait as long to get into the restaurants. One night there were 22 people ahead of us at the Italian Restaurant and we got in after only 2 people - we only had to wait for the other "black wristbands" ahead of us. We were in building 32 on the third floor surrounded by ocean. The rooms were great! Beds were a little hard but we didn't let that ruin our trip. I have read some of the other reviews where guests didn't get slippers or robes or face clothes - we had all. We received the fruit plate and the bottle or rum and the gift - a wood plaque that says Lady Hamilton. One day our fridge was not filled - we went to the front desk and asked for 2 bottles of water - they had no problem giving these to us. We never ran out of hot water but later on in the day the water would fluctuate between hot and cold. We brought our own snorkel gear which I would definitely recommend. We went snorkeling everyday - saw lots of fish and coral. The best beach to snorkel at was Sunset beach. We also went kayaking and paddleboating which were both free. The drinks were fine - once you make friends with the bar tenders they will take care of you and keep you entertained. The resort had some "blemishes" but we definitely did not let these ruin our trip and they were constantly being worked on. The adult pool was closed for two days to fix broken tiles. The food was great - we went to the Italian, Steakhouse, Oriental, Creole and the Mexican twice. We were not very impressed with the Steakhouse but the other restaurants were really good. We went on the Appleton Rum/YS Falls/Black River tour and the Ziplining Adventure and to Negril/Margariteville/Rick's Cafe tour. I would definitely reccommend YS falls it was beautiful and not as busy as Dunns. Negril beach is amazing. Ziplining was also fun. If you are going to this resort make sure you bring your own mugs - most people had travel mugs as the cups they use for drinks are extremely small. Do not buy gifts on the resort as they are way over priced. And come prepared with with any medication you may need (such as Tylenol, Dremamine etc.) as it is really expensive as well. We would definitely come back to this resort and would recommend it to all of our friends!!!! If you are easy going and don't let the little things bug you then you will enjoy this resort as much as we did. We had a great time!!!! And we were surprised and happy to learn that the resort was full of Canadians.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank heatherb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Grand Palladium. The rooms were exactly as presented on the website. We took advantage of the spa, beach activities, and onsite tour booking. I would return happily at any time.

Two restaurants did an exception job with the menu and service. The Indian restuarant was our favorite followed by the Italian restaurant. I wouldn't have minded the opportunity to eat more of the local cuisine.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kcarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Just got back after 2 weeks at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, the place is huge, lots or restaurant to choose from and very nice gym. Lots of walking because the place is huge, the beaches are not the same as the 7 mile beach, sand not the same and lots of rocks in water, compared to the 7 mile beach its not that nice. But the food was very good and the rooms are awesome we had a deluxe room because my daughter came down the second week. We had 2 flat screen tv on the wall, 2 fridge which they fill everyday for free. I went back to seven mile beach twice though missing the water there. Went up in mountain and spent a day at a Jamaican family, they don't have houses like us, we must be very spoiled here. but the hotel is terrific and always entertainment for those who are looking for that. 24 hr food also available at sports bar and beer. People there are very nice and they respect tourist. Yeah Mon, everything good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fussy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Palladium (Lady Hamilton Side) Resort and Spa for 7 days in the beginning of March. Its about a 45 minute drive from the Montego bay airport. The hotal is huge and quite nice. I read alot of the reviews before we left and was quite nervous about all of the bad reviews. Here is what I thought;

Rooms...Are very nice and large. I will say that for anyone who might have trouble walking, you might want to reconcider your choice of hotels. This resort is huge and you have to walk to get everywhere. There is one elevator in the lobby (and the week that we were there is was broken). If you do go, you should request a ground floor room (Rooms go up 4 staircases with no railings) close to the main pool area (as this is the closest walk). The whole hotel, incl. lobby and rooms are marble, therefore very slippery when wet (lady next door to us broke her leg getting out of the shower by slipping on floor). If you are planning more than 2 people in a 2 bedroom suite, the 3rd person will be sleeping on a pull out couch that is right on the floor. Also, in past reviews people all complained about the air conditioning not working well......when you check in ask for an extra room key, when you are in your room you need to put a key in a little box next to the door, which makes your lights, minifridge and AIR CONDITIONING work, once that key is removed everything turns off.

Food/Drinks...Food is very average. Buffet at breakfast and lunch were good with basic food items. At dinner we chose to try a different restaurant every night. The best were the Steak house (Ribeye steak was the best), the Asian restaurant and the Mexican. Be prepared that almost all of the food at the restaurants is premade, and they sit in warmers, so most of the food will not be hot. Service varied from night to night. We mostly tipped about $20 (usd) every night to each server. Drinks were ok. There are no call drinks or Red Stripe anywhere on the property, except for an upstairs enclosed bar that is only open at night. All of the other bars serve "Real Rock" beer and the cheap appleton rum. If you order drinks, like daiquiris, you have to ask for rum or else you will probably get a virgin. Most people there were tipping $1-$2 per round, and yes, the bartenders are expecting tips. You also might want to bring a large mug with a lid for drinks. They give you small plastic cups that can tip, and they get hot quick.

Property... The resort is in the most beautiful spot. There are ocean views almost everywhere. The pool area is also very nice. As all of the other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel, for being Brand-new, looks a little run down. There are a ton of pool tiles that are up and the railings at the pool were not even usable. While we were there they actually closed the adult pool, emptied it and fixed it. While we were there, everyday, they were also lifting up 20 feet of sidewalk and fixing it. We chose to overlook this, and not let it affect our stay. The large pool is quite cold, you might want to think about bringing a cheap raft to float on, as it is also deep.

Entertainment...The property has daily and nightly entertainment. Daily entertainment varies from day to day. They offer things like, dance classes, water aerobics, volleyball and horseshoe tournaments etc. If you are traveling with small children, be aware that when they have raggae dance classes, it gets pretty sexual, which might be inappropriate for small children (also some of the nightly entertainment does as well). The nightly entertainment is very average with randon dancing and etc. If you are there on a Friday night they have a huge steel drum band show that is great and very entertaining. There is also a nightly band that plays in the upstairs infinity bar, and also a disco late night.

Activities.... We have been to Jamaica about 6 times and love it very much. This time while we were there we went to Rick's cafe (about 45 min away in Negril). It is a great place to go in the late evening and watch the sunset. They also have cliff jumping there which is a ton of fun. We didnt go this time, but Dunns river falls is also very fun, however it is about 3 hours away so it will be a whole day trip.

Overall, we were all happy with the resort in general. With all of the other beautiful resorts in jamaica, I'm not sure that I would consider this hotel again, but was still happy with the experience that we had while we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
21.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,750 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,705 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,152 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Building 27, Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $294 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 cabins suites (adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Palladium Hotel Group, TravelUp, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing