We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but didn't blow me away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Let me start by saying I didn't pay for my trip it was a freebie for me and I'm glad it was because although I enjoyed parts of it, there was definitely some issues so I'm glad I didn't fork over a ton of money.

1) Grounds around the resort are stunning/well maintained by staff-beautiful

The trouble started when we went inside--We had room 2605 and the mold/mildew smell was unbearable--The sheets were soaking/I was cold all night thanks to the damp/wet. You excuse it to a point but I was almost sick from it.

They moved us the next day to 2708 and it was much better--I was with a group ofr 40 and wondered if the good service was in part due to that --but I'll give them gredit for acting quickly.

Our safe in the first room didn't work --neither did the one in the second --the one in the second room needed a battery change and the maintenance man stood around afterward looking for a tip for doing his job--sorry not going to happen.

Hair blower wasn't working in second room either-but fixed quickly

Steak house was really good, Itailian was above average, didn't bother with the sports bar (reminded me of someone's basement) and didn't care for Mexican but that's all subjective.

Lovely outdoor coffee bar to sit at on the second floor --enjoyed our evening there. Coffee was good but they would have cream one day, milk the next. If you asked for cream on milk days it was nowhere to be found.

It's true that cutlery/cups were often missing on the tables---we found it amusing and had fun with it but no doubt I would have been annoyed if I was paying for any of this.

Staff was pleasant/friendly and ready to lend a hand. No complaints there--we tipped our maid each day/always had a clean room

Pools were really nice/beaches too--can't beat the weather. I don't drink so my experience was limited to doft drinks--each drink was different depending on the bar you hit. Some days like water/some days fine.

Too bad the spa is pay now--we took a tour--it looked lovely

Overall, a nice getaway with lots of little issues that would have really bugged me if I was paying for it

Room Tip: not 2605--if you can go higher aim for that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cm99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear cm99_11:

We have read your reviews and regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. Overall we have taken note of the points you mentioned in particular the issues with the room among others. Rest assured that the necessary steps will be taken to correct these challenges.

We are however happy to know that you did enjoy some aspects of your time with us and we hope you will give us another opportunity to make it right.

We sincerely thank you for your feedback and apologize to members of your group for any inconvenience they experienced.

One again, thank you for sharing your views and we really look forward to hosting you in the future with our warm and friendly service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,576 - 2,582 of 5,440 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the Lady Hamilton in Jamaica from January 5 till January12. We where with a group of about 50 people. We would like to thank all the out standing staff at this hotel. The food and drink was very good, Rooms were large and kept very clean. The nightly shows they were ok but nothing special, the best show that we saw was Cabaret

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taximan150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Taximan150:

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your reviews with us. Your comments are well appreciated as this is one of the ways we improve our products and services.

We are very happy to know that your vacation with us at Grand Palladium Resorts and Spa met your expectations and we really look forward to having you on your next vacation.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived at this beautiful hotel on the 26th Sept last year and stayed for 2 weeks,our whole
2 weeks was absolutely amazing !! We stayed in block 29 overlooking the adult pool with a
Fabulous sea view.Please ignore the bad reviews and all the moaners , I can assure you that
you will not be disappointed by anything the food,the people,the location,the rooms,the
entertainment,the service,the cleanliness, etc etc etc ,have fun enjoy ,we'd go back in a
heartbeat .Yah Man !!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the adult pool are quieter ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Anty-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Anty-Sam:

We have read your reviews and was very delighted to know that your vacation experience met your expectations and that you were overall satisfied with the facility.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to write and share your comments as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our services.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again on your next vacation.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our last vacation was on the Royal Caribbean Oasis of the Seas. This year my family decided to try an all inclusive over Christmas week.

The Good:

If you enjoy recreational water activities, Sunset Cove is a great place to spend your day. There's kayaking (1 and 2 person), paddle boards, wind surfing, snorkling and Hobie catamarans. You an participate in water aerobics class in the mid morning as well.

The infinity pool is great for a cool relaxing dip after an active morning. It's so big that you can always move around and hangout without feeling crowded.

We spent most of our days split between these two places. It made the vacation enjoyable for everyone, despite of the Cons.

The Bad:

The rooms smelled and is the reason I would not come back. We had two rooms in building 13 and they both smelled like a combination of mold and chemicals. When we first opened the door, the smell assaulted our nostrils. After opening both the front door and the patio door for 30 minutes it was a better, but never entirely gone. AC was working, but it does not dehumidify the air. When we slept, I felt moisture creep up from the bed within 10 minutes. Bathroom tiles were cracked and looked dirty. We never used the tub because you can see dirt in it. The TV signal was poor - a number of channels were snowy. When returned from our trip, all our clothes smelled like the room. I had to wash them twice to get the smell entirely out.

The food was below expectations. We arrived on Christmas and the buffet served lobster tails and champaign. This was the only food related highlight of the dinner and we soon found out, of the trip. The buffet always had good variety, but everything was only okay. Searching for a better experience we tried the a la cart restaurants. If you try to go between 6:30 - 8:00, you are in for a long wait.

One night I waited 10 minutes in line just to put my room number in line, only to be told they are not taking any more names. They have an over 1 hour wait and don't know if they can serve everyone by closing. It would have saved us time and frustration if they just put a sign up. Another night at the Jamaican restaurant we were told that it was going to be a 20 minute wait, but ended up waiting over 45 minutes. I looked in side the restaurant and there was a large table for 12 sitting empty the entire time, supposedly under-reservation. No one ever came and it was finally taken apart after an hour.

The food once you do get in was disappointing. The Jamaican restaurant's crispy whole snapper was the only decent dish worth remembering. The food at Lotus, is made by people who've never tasted sushi or pad thai before. Poseidon, the sea food restaurant had crab cakes that were more cake than crab. The seared tuna was made from frozen tuna...in fact most of the food tasted fishy, likely all made from frozen ingredients.

Food comes very slowly across the board. We usually go down to the buffet for dessert because we get sick of waiting.

The in-room wifi $20 a day and $70 a week is a joke. It's so slow that it's unusable. The free wifi in the lobby was actually worlds better. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Assistant Food & Beverage Director at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Laurieq77,

Greetings, thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your views that help us to improve our hotel. It is great that you loved the Sunset Cove beach. Like many of our guests, you too have taken liking to the calm ambiance of the cove.

I am sorry for the situations you have encountered and the waiting you have mentioned. We try to make our best accommodating as fast as possible all our guest.

It is wonderful that you have enjoyed your overall stay.

It was our pleasure hosting you.

Best Wishes,


Victor Caride
Assistant Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our third trip to Jamaica, first at Lady H. I must state the food in Jamaica is consistently good, no matter where you go. Compared to all the other Caribbean places we visited, food is always great, never got sick on anything!
Food at Lady H. was amazing, and buffet was as good as A la carte. We never had big lines, and got in to restaurants easily if you went early. They would reserve you if there was a special event.
Staff was always nice, some not always as happy but same as anywhere else. If we worked at a bar with 50 hands outstretched saying `gimmie gimmie a drink`` it might wear the smile off our faces too!
Overall we were treated like royalty! It was nice to sail the Catamarans on our own. Beach staff should have a clipboard to list who is next, but we did get to sail them a lot!
Shows were average, but don't miss the Couples one! Infinity bar had great singers on some nights, beautiful spot to dance overlooking the ocean in the moonlight.
Make sure to go to the Jerk Hut at Sunset cove beach! We ate there every lunch, on the beach. First place we never had huge line ups for anything. We always got pool or beach chairs. No one bothered us to sell anything, like they did at Negril beach.
We brought lots of candies for the school kids....so nice to see them smile so happy!
If you can bring some Nutella, they really love it but cant get it! .... the tour guide ``Nicola`` would really be happy if you brought some...as well as school supplies for kids....cold medicine or aspirin....and Old cell phones (unlocked) are good to barter with as well. Prices were pretty decent on clothes.

Room Tip: Bring a soft pillow! Villa 27 is good location. Take a Bubba to save trips to the bar. They sell th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlduhaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Mlduhaime:

We have read your reviews and was very delighted to know that your vacation experience met your expectations.

Your positive comments regarding the staff, food and the overall hotel facility was carefully noted and this information will be shared among our staff.

We want to thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments with us as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our service. We really look forward to hosting you again on your next vacation with us.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great week at the Palladium. This was mostly because of the friendly staff. We stayed the week previous at a different Hotel and the staff there were not friendly at all. We enjoyed the Pool the Beach, tried paddle boarding......found the food quite good here. The room was comfortable and roomy......it was nice to have the lady Hamilton wristband which was just part of our package with Transat....but it meant we could make our dinner reservations in advance which was nice.......some people had to do the first come, first serve and some nights those lineups seemed long. We did find Jamaica to be expensive......no great deals anywhere that we went......taxi's were very expensive and because the resorts that we stayed at were for from anywhere.....we had to use taxi's or book excursions. The Hotels in Montego Bay may be closer so that you can walk some places??????I don't know. We did feel comfortable and safe everywhere we did go.
Warning for people who travel with a wheelchair in Jamaica.....You will not get your wheelchair at the gate when you get off your plane......they will have one of the airport wheelchairs to use but only an employee at the airport can push the chair until you get through to the baggage area and get your own chair. Mary-Lou
St. Albert, Alberta

Room Tip: Villa # 27, 28 & 29 are close to the main lobby and the restuarants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryLou2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear MaryLou2014:

We have read your comments and were very happy to know that our staff here at Grand Palladium made your vacation a great one. Rest assured that these comments will be shared with them as this is one of the ways we grow and improve our services.

We are pleased to know that you found our food to be your personal liking and rest assured that it can only get better.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and share your comments with us and we look forward to hosting you as our return guest on your next vacation.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Grand Palladium over New Years. I love the resort layout, it's large but does not feel crowded. Food was better the previous 2 years. I think they have to reconsider changing the chef in charge as this year 2013 the quality did go down. Pleasant staff, the entertainment did improve in 2013. Good kids program. The evening local entertainment for adults did improve. The best thing about this resort there's no hassle to find a lounge chair and shade, cannot say that about other resorts. Overall, I would visit again and recommend this resort to friends and family. Keep up the good work just keep working on improving the food and expand the local Jamaican food in the buffet section it was better 2 years ago.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is great with 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Denise105:

We have read your reviews and was very delighted to know that you have chosen our resort for your third vacation visit. Our return guests are very important to us and we really want to that thank you for taking the time to write and share your reviews.

Your comments regarding the food was carefully noted and this information will be shared and discussed with the relevant persons.

Once again, thank you for your business and we look forward to hosting you again on your next vacation in the true Palladium spirit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucea
21.3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,750 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,705 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
3,152 reviews
19.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa

Address: Building 27, Lucea 8800, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Hanover Parish > Lucea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lucea
Price Range: $294 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is bathed by the calm turquoise waters of Jamaica's north coast, in a small bay on a privileged enclave on the coast. The design is a perfect harmony between modernand luxurious facilities of a first class hotel and the attractive natural environment of the area characterized by the turquoise sea and the relief of the landscape. The complexalso houses an ultramodern Spa, which is equipped with the most advanced facilities and offers guests a wide variety of therapies and services. Near the village of Lucea and approximately 30 minutes from Montego Bay and its airport. Within the complex is theGrand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa has a total of 540 guestrooms in 15 villas ofthree levels with 6 Suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa. The Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa has a total of 516 rooms distributed in 13 villas of three levels with 6 suites and 30 Junior Suites per villa and 48 two-story cabins with 4 cabins suites (adults only) each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Palladium Hotel Group, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Hotel Lucea
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa Jamaica/Lucea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing