We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$315
$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rhodes Beach Resort Negril(Green Island)(Great Value!)
$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Round Hill Hotel & Villas(Hopewell)(Great Value!)
$306
$269
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$94
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$711
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedonism II(Negril)
$639
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tryall Club(Sandy Bay)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silent Waters Villa(Montego Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (5,666)
Filter reviews
5,666 results
Traveler rating
2,556
1,735
725
390
260
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,556
1,735
725
390
260
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand palladium lady hamiltonadult poolinfinity barjerk hutsports barmain poola la carte restaurantssteakjerk chickenimperial cluboutdoor showerhoneymoon villasunset cove beachseafoodmontego baywater sportsour favourite
Filter
Updating list...
2,952 - 2,957 of 5,666 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Definitely NOT a 5* hotel. Agree with previous comments regarding Villa 40, steep hill and undulating pathways throughout the resort, incompetence of staff in buffet restaurants and housekeeping - we were prepared for the Jamaicans to be laid back but some of them are just downright lazy. No management visible in the buffet restaurants so they basically did what they wanted (which wasnt much) Staff, service and food in a la carte restaurants was all very good. More staff needed in the Infinity Bar and Miss Lou's in the evenings. Beaches not always cleaned - a cushion from the nearby pool was on the beach for the whole 2 weeks we were there, along with broken sunbeds, and the bins only emptied once. Maid service was good one day, forgot us the next, same with the refilling of the minibar. Have been to other Grand Palladium hotels but will not be returning to this one.

Room Tip: If you're put in Villa 40 ask to be moved especially if you have walking difficulties or a bad back, the slope really is quite steep.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saintmac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Saintmac16:

Thank you for your review and your concerns are duly noted. Our sincere apologies if we did not meet your expectations.
We keep having training with our team members in order for us to provide you with a better service. I hope you give us one more opportunity to see the changes that we are doing and you can have a memorable vacation.
Again thanks much for your comments they will be used in a positive manner.

Best regards
Eugenia Santos
Food and Bverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I travelled here for a two week break at the end of June 2013. I had paid close attention to some of the reviews that had previously posted here - some excellent, some poor and some quite middling. I have to say that overall the reviews have largely been on point in that the GPLH is most definitely not a 5 star hotel but is a pretty good 4 at best. That is not a negative but rather a reflection that this place is huge and it would be a hard ask to instil and maintain 5 star standards in a place which on the whole is by the numbers.

I am no stranger to Jamdown with this being my 7th time here (family ting yu nuh).Once we had pass through customs on arrival we were greeted by our 'First Choice' Rep who was warm and welcoming and doubled up as a tour guide on the 30 mins journey or so to the hotel.

The photos published on various sites were a true reflection of the hotel itself with one side of the complex being the Grand Palladium Jamaica for Thompson bookers and the Lady Hamilton for us who booked through First Choice.

Views
From what we saw and where we went on site, the views are superb looking out to sea from the beach. We managed to get some lovely sunset shots from the Poseidon seafood restaurant and the huge complex is visually very well maintained with lush flowerbeds and lawns.

Food
Numerically a superb choice of places to dine, though admittedly there was on occasions an inordinate amount of queuing at Bubba's steak house, though this seemed to be more to do with patriotic, homesick Americans, perhaps not be able to go without their dose of steak, rather than a deficiency in terms of space. On the whole good but could be hit and miss at some of the restaurants. Was very disappointed at the Lotus oriental restaurant as the food was lukewarm in temperature and perhaps not prepared fresh. We didn't stay there to finish that meal nor eat there again.

The most impressive restaurant by far was Xaymaica!!!!! you have got to go there - no questions about it. Fried whole snapper? Cho cho and coconut salad? sea trout with bammies? me nearly bus fe mi gut. Omar the waiter was the star there charming guest with his politeness if not his singing!! The buffet restaurants were of a very very good standard considering the numbers they had to cater for. They offered theme nights throughout but made sure that they also put on some local offerings which was welcome. Poseidon also very very good standard of seafood though disappoint not to sea lobster on the menu. Bhogali Indian was also excellent and we regret discovering this place late into our stay as we would have like to gone there again. 22 hour sports diner was surprisingly good and came in handy when we had one or two late excursions.

The Jerk shack by the beach was exceptionally good as I expected some toned-down nonsense but the food was on point with a hot sauce for de adults and barbecue for de minors.

Rooms
We had a standard room. Our first room was ok, except for a leaking sink and some damp odour, which became unbearable for my other half. We endured one week before she asked for a room change. I'm glad she was so persistent as our next room gave us an elevated view from which we had views of a lagoon and Lucea in the distance. The mini bar was ok, nothing special (they forgot to refill me red stripe),

Facilities
On the whole ok/good. Property generally well maintained other than some running repairs. The beaches gorgeous, other than a mouse during service at Bubbas, we had no probs with infestation. One negative though is that we felt the choice for younger children (3- 9) was somewhat limited with the small little kids club which seemed to be something of a late after-though or token offering. They could do well to install a proper children's pool to make this more accessible for families. They had good tennis, basketball and football astro courts and a little putt and play mini golf. they also have shop on site for souvenirs and supplies.

Staff
Generally friendly and polite and keen to please throughout. Did not encounter any rudeness as such and staff generally served well with or without a tip, so nuh feel no pressure but bless them if yu can man.

Would definately consider going again if some of the little cons such as children facilities could be improved, but even so a lovely place and well worth visiting. not a five star, but you should be guaranteed a nice time here nonetheless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lawgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review based off your stay here at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton. We are elated that your vacation with us was a wonderful one and that you enjoyed all that our property has to offer.

It was our pleasure hosting you and we welcome you to visit again in the near future. Please feel free to contact us if there is anything that we can do from this end. Until your next stay, best wishes from our Palladium Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I have travelled with First Choice on several occasions now and can quite honestly say that this was our worst experience to date:-
1. There is no mention in the brochure or on site that this complex has steep hills, and its grounds are undulating in the extreme. There are no lifts in the apartment blocks and we were placed on the top floor. My wife suffers from asthma and severe rheumatic arthritis and the conditions do not lend themselves to anybody with a medical condition!?
2. After a flight of 9½ hours, a 45 minute wait on the coach for transfer, a 45 minute coach transfer in itself, we were not happy and did not expect to wait a further ¾ hour to check in at the reception. We were offered no welcome drink or indeed any water?
3. This was supposed to be a 5* premier location – there is no room service for food?
4. The Maid/Chambermaid service is mediocre to say the least
5. The Minibar service is poor. It is not restocked for days at a time.
6. The Ice machine did not work on one occasion for 4 days?
7. On our arrival, we complained of the following: No Plug in the wash basin, the ceiling fan was noisy, the air conditioning was not working fully, and the tv reception was appalling and of poor quality.
8. The room telephone only worked on a few occasions
9. There is no waiter/waitress service for drinks at the pool or on the beach.
10. There is no booking facility for any of the restaurants and there was always queues (some waits as long as 1¼ hours)
11. The beaches are not cleaned and are dirty (waste materials such as straws, cups, empty bottles, and cigarette ends etc.)
12. There are not enough evening bars (none in Reception) and the waiter/waitress service in the three available was poor – there were occasions when we had to wait for over 20 minutes for refills.
13. The food quality is okay but definitely NOT 5* - more like 3-4*.
14. The customer service is NON-EXISTENT (some exceptions)

Room Tip: Roomsin Block 40 are the furthest away. Nice and quiet but be preaped for a long walk with hills involved and a steep gradient up to the block
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Food and Beverage Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Sir;

I am terribly sorry about the facts you describe.
We don't have elevator in none of the 30 villas in our compound, but definitely if we can accommodate any guest's request, we try to do it. Of course special request will be done upon availability, but we try to satisfy everyone.
We are sorry if you never found waiter service by the beach, we don't have this type of service not either we advertise it. We have a lot of bars and self service machines with easy access for everyone. Just around the main pool you can find Kool Shady and Las Brisas Bar. By the Jamaican Side you have Roxelle Bar, Coral Bar by the Coral beach, etc...
About some other things mentioned, believe me that we try to make every day this Resort better and work on them to have happy and satisfied guests. Thanks much for your feedback.

Best regards
Eugenia Santos
Food and beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been here twice now ,once to the palladium and once to the Jamaica ,it is fab ,
We have also been to the riu Negril and this is far better ,
Plenty to do ,proper drinks brands,cocktails,
Bar staff are slow at times but this is Jamaica ,)
All restaurants are great ,they all do kids menu ,ie burgers and steaks ,
Fish restaurant is a must and they do lobster which yer you have to pay 30 bucks for but it was worth it ,
Chinese was our favourite and we went three times ,)))
Could fault the room ,shower was limp headed and bath didn't work too well ,but we didn't bother to complain about these ,we did get the back lock sorted ,it was done straight away ,
What I'm trying to say is if you are scared of lizards ,cockroaches ,and little ants ,stay away ,we saw some ,the cockroach we killed and chucked out ,the lizard we left alone ,the ants are good to keep the Americans away ,,)) joke ..)
All we did for two weeks was eat,sun,sleep,sun ,swim lots ,eat,drink lots and swim again ,played mini balls on the beach and I went out most days on sail boat or canoe ,we loved it and are coming back ,but if your fussy ,go to Spain ,))

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Gr0en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Gr0en:

Let me say a huge thank you, for such a great review,and it was truly our pleasure to have hosted you, and looking forward to your return soon.
Of course, I hope you come back to Jamaica !!!


Regards
Eugenia Santos
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice enough hotel but certainly not a five star resort or five star service, i have stayed at 3 and 4 star all inclusive resorts in Caribbean and they by far outshine this hotel. Bit far away from everything too so a good bus ride to any of the trip locations which are expensive.

Many things in hotel not working/broken, such as pool jets/jacuzzi and showers, towel rails in bedroom coming out of wall. empty bottles/rubbish around pool areas, had to chase housekeeping for towels several times (tipping made no difference) at 5 to 6 pm even though room cleaned at 8am and still waited good half hour and chased for second time to get that ar.

Nothing to do in the evening unless you want to get drunk, the show is the same each night just different theme/costumes. children/teenagers cannot go into disco or spa so limited to the main pool and so adults retricted too unless happy to leave children alone. When there is a storm (and we had rain every day and 6 lightening storms in August) you are evacuated from beach and pool so you can only go to your room, nothing to do otherwise. Wifi signal terrible, beach very rocky with stones, and queuing for restaurants awful, unless you go at 5.30 to 6 you will have a good hours wait and this means you have to go and get showered etc around 4 pm so loosing time that you may actually get at pool and so ave something to do, and then you have to hope that you have towels or that room cleaned.

Mexican Resturant is awful, food not cooked despite 45 minute wait for main course and when told they put in microwave so hot sour cream! Tasted awful so avoid!

Essentially an American clientele hotel, the Americans come first as so many of them, i find Amerians fine in own contry, great customer service etc but on holiday themselves they don't care how nosy they are, how rude they are, they push in front at bar, complain about everything such as beer not being chilled enough when its on ap and going into a cilled glass! very unfair towards the staff at hotel, every night we were woken between 12-2 am by arguments, drunk arrogant Americans, was same in every room block, everyone complained, they would get told by us/security several times about noise and they would say " oh sorry" and carry on. Hotel expected us to move rooms not them - how is that fair?

Was to be such a special holiday for us my husbands 50th birthday and it was disappointing, right from arrival, tired etc and they did not have room with two beds for my children and they were not near us, we had to move rooms next day so could not unpack and begin holiday really until 5pm day after arrival and the staff on reception seemed not to care less, I'd not ave been so upset but I had emailed three times and rung hotel prior to my arrival to ensure rooms were together and children had bed each, a simple request you would think and I ad confirmation of my request yet still did not happen.

I've paid less and had more from all inclusive resorts, would be hesitant to book first choice again as do not feel I was give an honest view of resort and I'd contacted them prior to my visit as had seen reviews on trip advisor that concerned me, sadly the reviews are much closer to the real hotel and experience than the sales talk from first choice! Not good value for £7300 I spent for this holiday.

Not a nightmare experience as I have been to worse in Negril in fact but not value for money and I'm sad the reviews were right.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiestaJamaica, Manager at Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Tracey G:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sorry to hear that you found so similar the shows, but we think they are pretty different, in fact you have a lot of activities and parties, you have Cabaret Show , you have International Show, Jamaican Show, Ideal couple, Whyte Party, POP Party, Bon Fire, Pastry Show, pool party, etc.... Any suggestion or comment it's really appreciated in order for us to make our product better.

As you mention we don't allow kids/children in our disco following the regulations of the country, however we have the mini disco, just for them and their parents. Now as well we have our Black and Whyte teenager club that is a real success .

If it is raining it's not much that we can do, but the same way than in our original cities or countries, the activities are a little bit more limited, and different, you always can go to any bar, sports bar, Miss Lou Bar and play some of the games, we still have entertainment going on with rain, etc.. You always can go to the room and watch TV. In the Caribbean we are a little bit more limited, but still we do have a few things to do.

Thank you again for your valued critique. Most of which will help us improve our service standards.

Best regards
Eugenia Santos
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews