We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boca de Iguanas restaurant & inn Chantii Mare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

One of the most beautil beaches on the Costalegre with one of the best boutque hotels around. The restaurant with it's beachfront is fabulous. Not to forget the food prepared by a top notch chef. Romance abounds in the evening with the gorgeous sunsets over the Pacific. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Although we have never stayed in the hotel (we lunch there on a regular basis) we have seen the room...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ifas3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

A very kind friend of ours took us to Restaurant Chantli Mare for Sunday Brunch. We all need more friends like her. First of all the setting is ideal, nestled in among tall whispering palms at the very edge of a WIDE white sand beach that goes on for miles. The inspired design of the buildings fits in so well and is fronted by beautiful landscaping, a navy blue tile pool and then the spacious beachside deck with soring palapa roofs. You can spend the day and evening on the deck enjoying the beautiful views while being served truly inspired cuisine prepared by renowned and mischievous Chef Couillard. All the while you can stay refreshed with great cocktails, cool cervesas and an adventurous wine selection from the deck bar. Need more? The beach, the ocean and the breeze, can't beat that triple play! Don't want to leave? The welcoming suites are individually decorated and supplied with the best linens and necessities. The staff members are very friendly and the Owners are interactive and dedicated to assuring their guests receive the best Chantli Mare has to offer. We have returned again and again. You should too.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms, AHHH
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ondaroad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My sister and I walked from la manzanilla to this new restaurant. The owner was very friendly and the food was prepared and presented beautifully. The restaurant by the pool presents an elegant atmosphere. We had a pumpkin seafood bisque and salad. Fun experience and we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank NorthernLights60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having read such glowing reports about Chantli Mare, we decided to go there for dinner while recently staying in La Manzanilla. The chef is truly gifted and seems like a real character. I have to say that the food was some of the best that we have tasted along this part of the coast of Mexico. The owners were very gracious and the ambiance of the little hotel was perfect, set as it is on the edge of a beautiful white sand beach, on a bay that stretches all the way to La Manzanilla - idyllic. One suggestion I would make, is that the owners advertise themselves a little more and put up better signs. We arrived after dark and it was a little difficult to find the hotel as there were no easily visible signage. If you want a holiday away from it all, then I would imagine this place would fit the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

During a recent visit to Mexico, my sister and her husband, who have a winter home at Barra de Navidad, took my husband and myself to visit this beautiful seaside location with a panoramic view of the ocean. Chantli Mare is a boutique inn not far from La Manzanilla. While admiring this spectacular view, we were soon greeted by Greg Couillard, a known chef in Toronto, Canada for years! He looked happy and relaxed. We decided to stay for lunch. After all, who would turn down food prepared by him? We were not disappointed. Even though we did not stay at the Inn, we had the opportunity to see one of the guest rooms which is tastefully done. After lunch, we took walks along the beach and some of us swam at the ocean. It is an ideal place for those looking for complete rest and relaxation. For us we could not think of a better way to spend a few hours!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, but did day trip there. We ate lunch on the beach and swam in the pool. It is a beautiful property. The food was excellent. The staff was very helpful and we had a great day.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Kate59679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I agree with details and sentiment given in the "First class all the way" review written in Nov '12. To add to that... Our two families of 10 members stayed in 4 rooms in our own southern wing: the 2 adult couples took the ocean view southern rooms, the 3 girls took an ocean view room, and the 3 boys took the courtyard room. We were the biggest party to have stayed at the Chantli Mare Inn since its opening just one month before.

We arrived just before Christmas. The wonderful owners, Roberto and Ivette, and their 3 adorable sons who were visiting for Christmas vacation, saw us putting our ornaments on the local plants and offered us a Christmas tree! That set the tone for the whole week... this fabulous family and their wonderful staff went out of their way to meet every need. Their 3 boys connected immediately with our 6 kids, who were roughly the same age; they joined our family on the crocodile and bird tour, snorkeling, and playing soccer on the beach. Although the sons will not be there when most guests are there since they live in Guadalajara, you can be sure that the hosts are lovely people who raised a great family. (In fact, the oldest son is an architect and designed the renovation of their old family beach home into this beautiful Inn!)

The hosts also have hired exceptional staff who ended up feeling like family to us too! Canadian chef Greg cooked some of the best meals I've ever had; Beto was one of the kindest, gentlest and hardest working people I've ever met; and all of the staff put their hearts and souls into this new operation. It is clear they all take huge pride in it!

The pool is pretty to look at, especially when lit up at night, but is small, colder than the ocean, and we never felt the need for it with the beautiful warm ocean right in front of the hotel. The beach has the softest sand I've ever felt, and was vast and beautiful. The Inn is at the northern end of the Bay which is much less crowded. Even though we had rented a car, I loved our 45 min walks along the beach into La Manzanilla, on the southern end of the Bay. "La Manz" is a sweet town with some good restaurants, a few good shops, a great bookstore, and fun family-centered night life on the square.

In huge hotels, we often feel that we hardly end up seeing our kids or each other. Because this Inn is so intimate (we were the only guests there at the time, since the sons had the other 2 rooms that are normally rented out), we had so much quality time with each other... body surfing and swimming in the warm ocean, playing soccer or hiking up over the ridge, reading and relaxing in the lounge chairs or hammock on the beach, and hanging out on the beach patio over morning coffee, scrumptious meals, and evening margaritas.

A final word on safety, since some may concerned about that in Mexico. We felt VERY safe the whole time there. We flew into Manzanillo and drove about 45 minutes to La Manz, and a week later drove about 3 hours to Puerto Vallarta to fly home. Felt very safe on all the roads. Also felt very safe in the town, and never locked our doors at the Inn.

We LOVE this Inn, its family and staff and give it our HIGHEST recommendation!
Alissa Keny-Guyer, Portland Oregon, Jan 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlissaKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Manzanilla
16.9 mi away
Careyes
Careyes
#2 of 2 in Careyes
79 reviews
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
11.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
11.2 mi away
Cabo Blanco Hotel
Cabo Blanco Hotel
#1 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
235 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
Grand Isla Navidad Resort
#1 of 3 in Isla Navidad
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea

Address: Camino a Boca de Iguanas Km 2.2, La Manzanilla 48898, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > La Manzanilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in La Manzanilla
Price Range: $119 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing