We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Niente”
Review of Palapa Joe's

Palapa Joe's
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Far Niente”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Palapa Joe's is a great place to experience this Italian concept of passing time. On my first visit I enjoyed a glass of Concha y Toro Sauvignon Blanc Reservado and on my second visit I am enjoying another. I had the artichoke heart appetizer the first time and am enjoying a generous serving of quacamole and totopos this time. Willie is the gracious host ant the place is open and airy with a nice garden, is impeccably clean and has a pleasant staff. If you have a desire to catch up with the world outside there is a TV with CNN, or Telenovelas... name your poison... there are 12 tequilas too. A stop in La Manzanilla should include a visit to Palapa Joes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice place off the beach to meet friends and listen to music. Very good salads and great margaritas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shark2th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Locals seem to like it”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I think people like to gather there. The music is loud and we could hear it from a block away at night. The food was okay, but nothing special. The service was so-so. We went in during the day and were about the only customers there except for locals at the bar, so we were pretty much served and forgotten.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Remi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, oregon, USA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Crunchy tacos!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Even in the midst of hurricane prep, palapa Joel's pumped out good quality food! We have been here several times and have always had good food. Try the crunchy tacos, nachos, pizzas and anything on special. Chill atmosphere, clean, good!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanderson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“La Manzanilla's living room”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a gringo owned bar and cafe. That said it is really a great super casual spot to relax and get a good meal, meet great people or watch TV on one of the two big screens. The owner Willy does a great job with filling the place with local gringo talent at night. The scene is fun and genuine expat good times. My strong recommendation for food is their Sopa Azteca, a homemade tortilla soup with hunks of avocado, chicken and cheese. Yum! The owner Willy is a long haired gringo who plays a mean guitar. He hosts special events like a real American Thanksgiving, the Superbowl and even the inauguration ceremony of the US president at his place. He has even has hosted Guy Fierri as a special chef a while back. You will find Mexicans, Canadians and Americans all enjoying Palapa Joes. . Don't expect gourmet however. Do expect to feel welcome and well fed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palapa Joe's also viewed

La Manzanilla, Costalegre
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 

Been to Palapa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing