We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Figaro

Figaro
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely meal and accommodating staff. This is my second experience dining at Figaro.
Sculpture garden remains beautiful, Pino remains timeless, energy in the place is upbeat and customer service is great. Very well prepared food. Great place to watch the sun set with a glass of wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely setting - fabulous food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Figaro's has become a mainstay of fine dining in La Manzanilla - a classy and interesting restaurant on the beach. Enjoying a glass of wine while watching the sun disappear into the ocean with a light ocean breeze cooling the air is a wonderfully relaxing way to end a day in this quiet little seaside village. The homemade pasta is delicious - offered with a selection of tasty sauces - my favouite is lightly dressed with basil, garlic and a touch of white wine cream sauce. The salads are interesting and the dressings light and flavourful. The selection of pizzas are popular - thin crust, so they are crispy - and hot! Pino has some new and fabulous sculptures - a quarterhorse that looks like it might trot on into the restaurant - and an interesting 'Warhorse' sculpture - fascinating to look at. Both pieces are life size and a reason to wander into the restaurant garden at any time. The 'Sirens' piece inside the restaurant itself is exquisite; the faces are ever changing, depending on light and visual perception - incredible! Pino is a gracious host and his staff are attentive and friendly. Figaros is always an enjoyable dining experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaypea_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
448 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“Good food, service , view in a small town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed meeting Pino the owner who is also a sculpture, the grounds of the restaurant are unique. Atmosphere is nice overlooking beach. Drinks and service were very good. Food Italian was prepared well and very tasty, a definate return place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bezerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dining Experience in An Art Garden Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Figaro was a pleasant and unexpected surprise in this very small town on the Bahia Tinacatica in the State of Jalisco Mexico. The sculpture garden setting is resplendent with sculptures done by the owner Pino, who is from Milano. The beet salad with cabbage and jicama delicately seasoned with a hint of coriander was excellent. The wines from Chilean vintner Antares were good, as good as one might expect in this tiny place. I took a huge gamble and ordered the pasta carbonara thinking why would one order anything other than fish on the very edge of the Pacific Ocean. The carbonara was actually quite excellent with a subtle hint of nutmeg. I will say that the pasta was slightly overcooked but did not resemble "canned spaghetti" as one reviewer has noted. Hint: If the pasta is not cooked to your satisfaction send it back... they will learn very quickly to do it the way you want. You can get almost anything that you want at a restaurant in Mexico, they are pleased to please you and if you don't get it your way and the whine about it you are a moron. Margaritas are not supposed to be over sweet fruity concoctions, they are supposed to be tart treats like their namesake. I will definitely return to Figaro and if I order pasta tell them I want it al dente and will send it back until they get it right. It is the only way they will ever get it right. Pasta is not exactly on the Mexican national cuisine list. I found the carbonara a refreshing change from the fare I have enjoyed for the last several months of travel. It is a wonder that such a place exists in a little village of around 2500 souls on the edge of the ocean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had dinner and 2 Margaritas very recently,,, without a doubt the worst Margaritas I've had in Mexico,, ordered a second one and it came exactly as the first (way way too much lime) even after I asked the bartender to go easy on the lime,,, I ordered the spagetti with seafood (crab, shrimp etc,) absolutly terrible,,, the crab as small as it was had absolutly no meat in it whatsoever..I was very dissapointed in my whole meal,,,although the service was very good from the waiters..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terry5400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Figaro also viewed

La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
La Manzanilla, Costalegre
 

Been to Figaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing