We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem, Best View in Canadian North America, Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Cafe

Rosewood Cafe
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Kaslo
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pacific Northwest, WA State
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem, Best View in Canadian North America, Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is pure magic. From the first turn down 5th Street (the really only main street in Kaslo) this pretty little rosey pink building stares at you at the end of the block. Arrive at the restaurant and turn around and see a view unlike no other.

The economy has changed since 1998 when it was the only find dining north of Spokane. Now there are other places in Nelson that make wanting to drive further north worthwhile.

The blackened salmon is incredible. The meat (pork or beef ribs, steaks, blackened steak, prime rib) are always top notch.

The wine selection is always superb, make sure you ask for a Canadaian Red!

Where else can you get several martini's in what seems like the middle of nowhere.

I can't say enough of this place. Thank you for your years of excellence.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MasonGunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    17
    4
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had lunch sitting outside in the front garden patio. Fabulous salad which we shared - it was so large! Our waitress was lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LINDSAY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was at this restaurant last year and thought I had made a poor choice, chicken pot pie. This year I went for dinner and had the roast beef. I was disappointed again. And the prices are high for the quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBonneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Bc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total charmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Grant is the part owner chef of this mountain magic cafe. Generous servings of classic cafe fare. Prime rib over the top and the home made berry pies will make you wish you ordered desert first. Charming service and toys for kids. Ate two nights in a row

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we tried was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Quiche, pulled pork sandwich, chowder, chef's salad, ribs, lemon merengue pie - everything was great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosewood Cafe also viewed

Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 
Kaslo, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Rosewood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing