We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like animals, stunning surroundings and good food.......superb!”
Review of Grizzly Bear Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff
1 review
“If you like animals, stunning surroundings and good food.......superb!”
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The best holiday I have had for years!
Comfortable, cosy cabins with the sound of the river and birds
Two very friendly, cuddly dogs to play with!
Kristin cooks better than Jamie Oliver!
Julius is highly entertaining!
The wildlife is spectacular - on my trip 15 bears spotted!!
Wonderful!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Animalcrackers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
111
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This is a long overdue review, as we visited way back in 2007 as part of our honeymoon in British Columbia. I just wrote a long, witty and extremely gracious review to make up for lost time, but unfortunately, since I have fat fingers, I managed to navigate to another website while writing and deleted my entire contribution.

Suffice to say, my wife and I had a fabulous time at Grizzly Bear Ranch. Julius is an extremely knowledgeable, passionate and percpetive guide and Kristin is a brilliant chef and all-round ranch-keeper. We were blessed to have them to ourselves for four brilliant days. The Grizzlies stayed away until we were gone (clearly recognising the presence of an alpha male), but one little black bear was kind enough to stop by for some snaps and the weather was kind. The eco-cabin, in which we stayed, was cozy, comfortable and soothed by the roar of river rapids, just a short stumble from the campfire. And the food was uniformly superb.

We can't recommend GBR highly enough and would love, one day, to head back there for some serious bear action.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Julius and Kristin are the perfect hosts, they welcomed us to their ranch, into their lives and shared their love of this beautiful part of BC. The days are filled with great experiences and the evenings with conviviality. The home-cooked food is delicious and plentiful. The cabins are very comfortable and no expense has been spared on providing domestic amenities that can cope with such a remote spot. We knew that early August was not the best time for bear watching but we topped off our visit to the Ranch with a brief encounter with a young Black Bear a few miles down the track on the drive back to "civilisation". We will be back! Terry & Jackie, London

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

No bears - but we weren't expecting any as wrong time of year, but a fantastic break which more than lived up to expectations. A very relaxing time in wild, pristine surroundings with expert nature guidance and delicious meals. The hospitality of Julius and Kristin was far more than is normally expected of such a holiday - and our knowledge and experience of grizzly bears and rafting is much expanded!

We drove 500 miles from Vancouver and another 500 miles back for this experience. The trip was fantastic (there is so much to see in BC) and the Ranch holiday was a truly memorable experience.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ashbyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

My wife and two boys aged 16 and 18 stayed at Grizzly Bear Ranch for four days and it was a fantastic experience which I would highly recommend to anyone who likes good clean living accomodation which is comfortable and in keeping with its wild surroundings, super home cooked food, hosts that make you feel more like you are staying at the home of your best friends, an emphasis on sustainable, minimal pollution living and an intensive love of the great Canadian outdoors. We rafted and walked and loved every minute of it.

For driving enthusiasts, I would also recommend the route down the side of Trout Lake - scary and fun!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband Terry and I have just visited Grizzly Bear Ranch. If you want a holiday where you want complete wilderness peace and tranquillity, then this is the place for you. We spent five wonderful days with Julius and Kristin. We went out each day wildlife watching along with either Julius or Gillian. Both of whom were very well informed on the wildlife. We were given a lovely pack lunch to take out with us each day, We would arrive back at the ranch about five and then tuck into a delicious meal each evening cooked by Kristin. You would have to taste Kristins food to realise just how wonderful it was. Each day we would wake to a sumptuous breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for both Julius and Kristin. They did everything they could to make the holiday perfect. And boy they did. The cabin was spacious , cozy, and very clean and had all the amenities. . We had a wood burning stove and was very welcome on some evenings. We would sit and watch the birds from the cabin. It was great fun to see the humming birds and to see a pair of northern flickers feeding their young. One evening a white tailed deer came to visit. We are going back in the fall of 2011 and beleive us we can't wait.

Denise and Terry from Derby.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickeytripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, Derbyshire
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2009

My wife and I spent 3 days with Julius & Kristin in this truly wonderful place in a log cabin by the river. The cabin was large and very clean with comfortable beds and an excellent en-suite bathroom. Kristin served up excellent home cooked breakfasts and dinners (with wine and/or beer included) and provided great packed lunches each day.
We spent our days sailing on crystal clear lakes beneath snow topped mountains and scouring the backwoods for bears and other wildlife with Julius who is extremely passionate about the bears and the very knowledgable Gillian. At the end of each great day we returned to sit on the deck outside our cabin watching the river tumble by, listening to the birds sing and watching humming birds fight each other for access to the sugar syrup provided by Kristin.
Would I recommend this place you bet!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Pollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
0.1 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
125 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
221 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Ranch

Property: Grizzly Bear Ranch
Address: Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kaslo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Bear Ranch is a small luxury lodge hidden away in a remote BC valley that offers specialist black bear and grizzly bear viewing holidays as well as summer hiking and rafting adventures. The ranch opened in 2006 and is run by Julius, Kristin and an exceptional team of experienced and certified bear-viewing guides who will take you out on foot, in 4x4s and on river rafts into the surrounding wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Ranch Hotel Kaslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing