We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life Changing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grizzly Bear Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Life Changing Experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited the ranch in early Oct. The setting is idyllic, the cabin was warm and cosy, and the staff, exceptional. I call them 'staff' but, from the first moment , we felt like a family. They all went out of their way to ensure that our stay was everything we wanted it to be. And the food? Well I definitely want to adopt Kristin. She has inspired me to take up cookery again. We were lucky enough to see bears up close on the first evening. Had we gone home then, we would have been happy. But the stay just got better. It was as though the bears were coming to see us, not the other way round. Our guides were excellent - knowing just how far we could approach without disturbing the bears. And also knowing when we needed to retreat.... Rafting was such fun, and we saw the bears from the river. We met some lovely fellow guests too. Can't wait for our next visit. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Bears are most active at dawn and dusk, so be prepared to get up very early (welcome cup of tea deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank val w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
109
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hugely enjoyed our trip to Grizzly Bear ranch in mid-October 2012. For viewing bears in their natural setting and unspoilt by human encroachment, this does not get any better. Saw loads of bears and learnt loads about them in the process. Julius and Kristin have a created a little magical corner in the natural world and we are much the richer by experiencing it with them. This is national geographic moments at first hand and our expectations were easily exceeded. The team do a great job - Julius and the guides are informative, helpful and welcoming and really know their stuff. The indefatigable John' I love the smell of bear scat in the mornings' Reynolds will spot a bear for you almost to order. Kristin makes the ranch so homely you have to force yourself to leave it in order to do the thing you came here to do - view the bears. Great place, great experience - thank you guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Everything we had hoped and more.
We were the last visitors of the season but were treated as if we were the first.
Julius and Kristin were great hosts, they along with the guides , Lilly , Tamara and Ollie were extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the bears and the other animals we encountered.
We stayed for 3 nights as guests but left feeling part of the "family"
We stayed in the Volga cabin and found it very comfortable.
Well worth the long trip from the UK.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AntCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Given the other great reviews, how do I describe just how fantastic my stay at Grizzly Bear Ranch last week (October 2012) was?

Watching bears has been something I’ve wanted to do for over 20 years, so as long as I was lucky enough to see at least one, I would have been happy. I did not expect to meet such great fellow guests (we laughed from the moment we met till we returned to the car park at Kaslo), and such an amazing team of people at the ranch. Julius and Kristin were wonderful hosts and I found the enthusiasm, knowledge and passion of both them and their guides, Lily, Ollie, Tamara and John truly inspiring.

The ranch is lovely, set in breathtaking surroundings, the cabins cozy and warm, the food delicious. Everything, from the moment we arrived at Kaslo, was perfectly organized.

Watching the bears (and we saw them everyday, which I know is not guaranteed) was a blessing that I will never forget.

I had a magical time at Grizzly Bear Ranch - I fell in love with the bears, the countryside and the people. I hope to return.

If you are thinking of visiting the Ranch, book it now, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grizzly Bear Ranch in mid October of 2012, and the both of us can not wait to return. The ranch exceeded our "high" expectations  in every possible way.

The ranch is situated  in the middle of no- where, but... we were far from roughing it. The accommodations were cozy and comfortable and the food is over the top! Julius and Kristen know how to put people at ease and make them feel right at home.

We saw lots of Grizzly Bears on our trip, and were blown away by their beauty and intelligence. We never grew tired of observing them in their natural habitat. The Guides are  World Class. We will never forget Lily, Tamara, Ollie and Jon, a.k.a Kodiak.
It  always struck me, how they seemed to get just as excited about seeing a  Grizzly Bear as we all did.

Lastly, a special thanks to Julius and Kristen for following their passion and dreams. They have truly brought joy to so many people's life's... including ours!

We hope to see them all again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellen576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We visited Grizzly Bear Ranch in late September; specifically visiting at this time to catch the salmon run and choosing GBR for the unique, personal wildlife experience.

The setting in which we were able to view the bears and other wildlife with minimum disruption to them, either from the riverbank or on the river itself, made it feel all the more special. Sighting bears each day and for quite prolonged periods was such an astonishing pleasure and exceeded our expectations.

The hospitality was phenomenal, and we really enjoyed the company and conversation offered by Julius and Kristin, as well as the guides and fellow guests.

Everything was so well organised and everyone so passionate and incredibly knowledgeable. We won’t forget rafting under Ollie’s expert, enthusiastic! guidance on the serene Lardeau river; chainsaw operation tips from Lily! and John’s punctual humour.

Thank you all so much, we’re in awe of you all and very envious!

If ever you needed inspiration and an incredible holiday experience you must visit Julius and Kristin at Grizzly Bear Ranch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Mich_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife Veronica and I had waited 9 long months for our visit and it was so worth the wait!

I'm not sure that I can add much to what has been said previously - the accomodation and food are superb and the location is spectacular. Julius and Kristin are great and obviously passionate about bears. The same came be said of our guides - Lily, Tamarra, Ollie and John - who were all a mine of information on all things "natural history" and i would like to thank them all for their efforts. Sadly the bears didn't exactly cooperate (but that is wildlife viewing - if you want to guarantee seeing a bear go to a zoo!) but the one encounter we did have was amazing and one we will never forget.

Having never done any rafting (and Veronica being a non swimmer and nervous of fast moving water) I was uncertain about the prospect - but of course the concern was needless. This is a very professional organisation - thorough briefings and the correct equipment meant for 3 very very enjoyable trips down the Lardeau River -absolutely idyllic.

A very memorable 3 days and hopefully we will return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
0.1 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
121 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
217 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Ranch

Property: Grizzly Bear Ranch
Address: Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kaslo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Bear Ranch is a small luxury lodge hidden away in a remote BC valley that offers specialist black bear and grizzly bear viewing holidays as well as summer hiking and rafting adventures. The ranch opened in 2006 and is run by Julius, Kristin and an exceptional team of experienced and certified bear-viewing guides who will take you out on foot, in 4x4s and on river rafts into the surrounding wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Ranch Hotel Kaslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing