We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grizzly Bear Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaslo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Bear Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Travelling all the way from New Zealand with a desire to see Grizzlies, the time, effort and expense is considerable so we weighed our options carefully. We decided that 'an experience' was what we were after rather than just a photo shoot, and chose Grizzly Bear Ranch as a place where we could have a nice time, see lots of wonderful things, experience the wilds of British Columbia, and hopefully see bears. We were prepared for nature to take its course as we know these are completely wild animals and there is no guarantee that they will decide to turn up. However we were not disappointed on any count! We stayed in a lovely log cabin with a wood stove and possibly the best view in the world, relaxed on our deck over-looking the river and ate the most delicious food shared with wonderful company. We walked through old growth cedar forest where our guide shared information on all aspects of the forest; we hiked to beautiful falls with a stunning view over the lake; we went white-water rafting (a new experience for us 50 somethings!) and felt totally safe in all environments with our experienced guides. We saw literally dozens of bald eagles, heard a cougar early one morning, and yes! saw grizzlies - several different family groups of mothers and cubs were just the icing on the cake for us. Thank you Julius and Kristin for providing such a wonderful opportunity. Camilla & Steve.

Room Tip: Hiking boots are a must if you want to get the most out of your experience, and these are log cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

If you are thinking of a grizzly bear viewing trip, you will have read all the reviews from previous visitors to each property. I could just say the same things as all the rest, but that wouldn`t help to make a selection, so I`ll try to build on those others for GBR and try to add something a little different. After all, most are pretty expensive, so you want to make the "right" choice and feel you have got value for money.
You may be a seasoned bear viewer and just want to visit another location, in which case move on to the next review, or like me be doing it for the first time. If that is the case, you will want to be sure that what is on offer meets your needs. No trip can guarantee a view, so you need to maximise your chances. GBR does this by having an itinerary visiting numerous locations almost daily and some seemingly resident mother/cub families continuously foraging. Secondly, you will want to ensure you are safe whilst getting those wonderful views. The GBR protocols and check lists are almost military in their format with guides being monitored all the time. Then, at the end of the day, you will want to eat and rest well in preparation for the next. GBR does this in a manner Julius and Kristin, the owners, describe as environmentally compatible; that involves eating together with other guests in the main ranch house (their home) then sleeping in your own wood stove heated log cabin, all adjacent to the river on which you will be taking a raft trip the next day!
If that sounds like the perfect way to view bears and other wild life, then take a close look at GBR and I`m sure you will enjoy it.
If, however, you want a guarantee of seeing bears and the best purely photographic opportunities, you MIGHT be disappointed as the real wild world doesn`t always perform on cue and when that happens the environmental approach may fall a little flat, having spent all that money to get there. In saying that I would not want to deter you from going - I had a wonderful experience and DID see a lot of bears, but you should do the homework and decide exactly what you want.
I should like to thank Julius, Kristin, Lily, Olly, Tamara and the bears for making my dream come true - a most enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank briandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I did have high expectations. SInce I consumed Jack London novels as a kid I have wanted to visit Canada. In contrast to the fictional nature of London´s stories, I really wanted my vacation to be as authentic and simple as possible. And did I ever experience more "bang for the bucks". The combined effort of Julius, Kristin, Ollie, Tamara, Lily, the dogs and the wild animals made our stay one of the most memorable we have experienced (taking into account that we have been traveling A LOT). Everything from the food and wine, to the trekking and rafting was delivered with a fantastic blend of passion and professionalism. It gave us the impression of true enthusiasm for the wildlife and for creating the ultimate experience. And where the vacation experience alone was simply outstanding, the stories of the people there enhanced the feeling that is still left in us. We will be back - and this time for serious trekking and Julius will have to prepare for more discussions along the great lines of history.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at Grizzly Bear Ranch in late September as part of a 2 week BC trip and it was the best part of our trip. We have been (to other places) to spot bears in BC before without luck, but GBR did not disappoint with a Mum and 2 cubs on our first outing. (12 bears in total, lots of eagles, salmon, kingfishers, deer and a porcupine.) We saw much other animal and birdlife too: The walks, rafting and drives give you a good feel for the whole area and how all of nature coexists. The guides are fantastic, each with their own field of expertise. Thank you Julius, Ollie, Tamara and Lily! There are plenty of activities to keep you busy and enable you to see the landscape and wildlife from different viewpoints. The team are good at adapting the schedule to the group and the conditions. The cabins are a perfect balance of low environmental footprint and cosy comfort, set in a beautiful location. The food is great and varied (thanks Bree and Kristin!) with sociable eating round one big table in the main house. We had a good group and many laughs at mealtimes. In summary, Julius and Kristin have a little piece of heaven here in the Selkirk mountains and are wonderful hosts. Highly recommended, but don't tell too many people!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I spent several nights the week of 3 OCT 11 at Grizzly Bear Ranch and had the trip of a lifetime. Set in an incomparable location in British Columbia the beauty of the land is surpassed only by the hospitality of the hosts themselves. Kristin and Julius are not only extremely well versed in the subject of wildlife, particularly grizzly bears, but also are witty, charming, and very worldly wise- no discussion is beyond their grasp. The meals are eaten family style and are always exceptional. Kristin is a superb chef who could as easily be preparing her specialities in a gourmet restaurant as at Grizzly Bear Ranch. The cabins are bright, cheery, clean, and cozy and perfect for the setting. The wildlife is amazing! We saw multiple grizzly bears on several occasions. Some of these were at quite close but safe range. Julius is a stickler for safety both for the sake of his guests and for that of the bears themselves. I should point out that this was my second trip to Grizzly Bear Ranch; by luck of the draw I saw no bears my first trip but was so impressed otherwise by the entire operation that I couldn't wait to return. This trip was unsurpassed in all regards. In addition to grizzlies there were too many eagles to count and although we didn't see wolves, we saw numerous fresh wolf tracks indicating their presence- all this plus great food, wonderful accommodations, and fabulous company! If you are looking for a wildlife/ outdoors experience like none you have ever had, hosted in an incomparable setting by two of the most interesting people you have ever met, then you MUST visit Grizzly Bear Ranch. You will forever cherish the trip if you do.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had a four night stay at the Grizzly Bear Ranch last month and can honestly say it was the best trip ever!!! Julius and Kristin are wonderful hosts. Lily, Tamara and Olli were perfect guides enabling us to see bears every day. ( and lots of salmon!)
The setting is just perfect, right on the river and the cabins are beautifully cozy.
We went walking, out in the 4x4's and rafting - so you get a different perspective every day.
Meal times were lovely with everyone together around a fantastic big table eating lovely home cooked food. ( thank you Kristin and Bree ) We were lucky enough to share our few days with a great group of people so there was a lot of laughing!! Truly a trip we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have recently returned from the Grizzly Bear Ranch and can understand why they have such good ratings on here. The setting is simply beautiful. Our cabin overlooked the river. The cabins all look great, very cozy. Our cabin (Volga) had a lovely wood burning stove, which we used, but the weather wasn't cold enough for it, but we had to try it. We had some wildlife DVD's in the cabin, but never had time to watch them as they kept us busy. Kristin, Julius, Lily, Bree, Ollie and Tamara were all fantastic. We got to see lots of grizzly bears and bald eagles. We went out in 4x4's, rafting and hiking, so the days were full. We really liked the small group size of 8 people, it was great. We were with a great group of people, we all got on well and had a good laugh. The food was delicious, proper home cooked, local food. We would like to go back in the spring to see the black bears. Just one tip, take note of the details provided when you book which say avoid the Trout Lake route. We didn't realise this and the drive was a little scary as the highway turns into a dirt track, which is used by logging trucks. We fly into Calgary and drove through Banff, we stopped in Golden (Vagabond Lodge) on the first night before heading to Kaslo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
0.1 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
19.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Bear Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Bear Ranch

Property: Grizzly Bear Ranch
Address: Highway 31, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kaslo
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Bear Ranch is a small luxury lodge hidden away in a remote BC valley that offers specialist black bear and grizzly bear viewing holidays as well as summer hiking and rafting adventures. The ranch opened in 2006 and is run by Julius, Kristin and an exceptional team of experienced and certified bear-viewing guides who will take you out on foot, in 4x4s and on river rafts into the surrounding wilderness. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Bear Ranch Hotel Kaslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing