We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location right on the lake”
Review of Kaslo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kaslo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location right on the lake”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a remodelled 1950s hotel. They have done an excellent job. The room we had overlooked the lake Very comfortable beds. Fridge in the room. Free Internet. Walking distance to beach shops and restaurants.
The pub has good pub food. The wine list was a major disappointment. Here we are near bc wine country and the wines did not reflect that.
The service was good in the hotel and average in the pub. We paid 170 plus taxes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the wine list! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
70
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff at the Kaslo Hotel were very supportive and polite as they helped us plan and carry out our wedding day. If I had any requests, they did their absolute best to accommodate all that they could up to, on the wedding and after. If anyone is looking for a very beautiful, easy accessible spot in Kaslo to host a wedding, with extremely friendly and helpful staff, I HIGHLY recommend the Kaslo Hotel.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed to choose a lakeside view :) The View is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

When visiting Kaslo this is the place to stay. The only reason I came to Kaslo was because it was on the route of our bike tour. We stayed at Kaslo Hotel for two nights. Our group was for 33 cyclists and we were very impressed with this place. The room I was in was oversized so we had plenty of room and the balcony was very nice. Our room faced the street side which was fine. This hotel was incredibly accommodating to our bike tour group. I loved this place and will be back someday. For a town of 950 I was surprised at how good the eating establishments were, how nice the shops were. The location is absolutely stunning and I love the slow pace of Kaslo.

Room Tip: I am not sure of the price difference but getting a room on the lakeside would be very special. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnoliaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We enjoyed having you! Please come again and experience a lake-side room, the view is absolutely gorgeous to wake up to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice room with kingsize bed streetside. It was clean and the bathroom is very modern and clean as well. Every room has a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. Great. We stayed for dinner and had burger, fries and caesar salad. Everything tasted very good, only the caesar dressig tasted a little bit to strong because of the garlic. Great hotel and very good restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honigbiene007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just spent 2 nights at the Kaslo Hotel. This hotel was rebuilt in 2009 and done with quality workmanship. It is right on the little main street in Kaslo so steps from everything, including the pub and restaurant which are on the main floor of the hotel. The back of the hotel and the pub look out over the lake and the pub has an outdoor patio. We had a corner room on the second floor with a huge deck area and a view of the lake. Make sure you get a lake view. This hotel is modern but has architectural details that, in places, make it look like it was build in another century. The rooms are charming, comfortable [pillow top mattress], and modern with granite and stone tile in the bathroom. A thoroughly modern room with touches of the past like a rocking chair, free WIFI in the room and free long distance even to the US. We really liked this hotel! It is not 'tired' or outdated and not old. It is very lovely. We had two meals in the pub. The food was good and the prices reasonable.

Room Tip: 201 has the biggest outdoor area and the most afternoon sun. The other lakeview rooms aren't on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henlely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback on our Hotel, pub and restaurant! The owners took much time and consideration in the remodeling of The Kaslo Hotel. Great care was taken in the effort to make it very much like a historic hotel, right down to the the little details. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were quite looking forward to our visit and had high expectations, based on reviews and the good things that we had heard about the hotel from friends. I also spoke to the manager ahead of time, and she was incredibly helpful and professional.

Unfortunately, it wasn't a great experience. I will give 1 star for the rooms, which are very well appointed and well maintained, 1 star for the huge balcony, and 1 for the location and view over the lake and mountains. Beyond that, this place certainly wasn't worth the money, and in fact was an uncomfortable visit.

It was a very hot weekend, and the air conditioner didn't work. I see from reviews that other guests have had that issue, so I am not sure why management is not making an effort to correct it. We had to open the windows, and with the jazz festival in town, there was a lot of street noise, and sleep was difficult and uncomfortable. On top of that, the pub had a band playing, VERY loudly, until 3 in the morning. We called down, and all they had to say was "just a few more songs then it will get quieter" - this at 1 am!

We ate at the restaurant one evening, and I found the food pretty bad - very bland vegetables, and thin and overcooked fish. My husband had a burger, and found it okay.

I think that management has to decide who thier target audience is, and adapt the hotel to that audience. Either you want a higher end crowd who is willing to pay the higher prices, in which case you offer peace and quiet, and a good dining experience, or you want the young drinking crowd who will hang out at the pub until all hours and then stay over, in which case the price needs to come down.

My husband will be staying at the hotel in the fall for an off site business meeting, so I will wait to hear how that goes before deciding, but at this point, I don't intend to visit again. Our accommodation of choice in the area has become Wing Creek Resort, which is simply awesome....check it out!

Room Tip: If there is a band playing in the pub that night, none of the rooms are good. Otherwise, lakeside r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edesem123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay with us. I am very sorry that the air conditioner was not working up to par for you during your stay. Kaslo had some power issues/outages this summer, and that created problems with the controls on our geo-thermal air conditioning . We had technicians in on more than one occasion. We have gotten things in working order now, and they have been since shortly after your stay.

I am very sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by all the celebrating happening down below you. Every August long weekend for the last 21 years, Kaslo is host to the annual Jazz Etc. Festival. Over 1000 people flock to Kaslo on this weekend to enjoy a wide range of music, both at the festival site, as well as at local establishments. We strive to let our guests know ahead of time on nights when we have live music that they will hear noise from the pub. This is especially true on weekends such as this. Nonetheless, even when we have live music, there are still options for rooms where you would not be disturbed. Unfortunately, as is the case with many accommodations in Kaslo and area, we book up almost a full year in advance, so if there are any rooms left leading up to the Jazz Festival weekend, they are usually ones closer to the pub.

I see that your husband is going to return for another stay here in the Fall. We trust that he will have a much different experience here with us this next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is revamped heritage hotel. It's five stars taking it for what it is - an excellent overnight stop when touring small towns in BC. There was no closet or desk in our room. If you want an iron and ironing board you have to ask for it.

The room was clean and comfortable. The service friendly and excellent. No couch but a comfortable rocking chair, great decks - ask for the water side for a spectacular view.

The bar is great. Excellent choice of beers from local Micro breweries. The fish and chips is excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaslo H, Manager at Kaslo Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We are so happy that your group had such an excellent time here with us, that you are considering coming back again next year. Your group booked all 11 of our guest rooms, as well as all 3 of our condos on the top floor. Unfortunately you got booked into one of our smaller rooms, which does not have a closet or desk. Maybe next year you will be able to be booked into either a larger guest room, or one of our luxurious condos (which all have couches and full kitchens). Thanks again for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we are looking forward to hosting your group again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaslo
20.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
224 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Valhalla Inn
The Valhalla Inn
#2 of 2 in New Denver
45 reviews
21.5 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#2 of 2 in New Denver
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kaslo Manor Lodge
Kaslo Manor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Kaslo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaslo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaslo Hotel

Property: Kaslo Hotel
Address: 430 Front Street, Kaslo, British Columbia V0G 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Kaslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kaslo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New boutique heritage style hotel with eleven luxury rooms, a one bedroom condo, 2 bedroom condo, and a 3 bedroom condo. All rooms have a lake and/or mountain view and private verandas. The hotel is located in the center of the charming village of Kaslo, on Kootenay Lake. The lakeview restaurant and pub, with patio, serve lunch and dinner. It is soon to have a microbrewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaslo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaslo Hotel And Brew Pub

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing