We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with Kuala Lipis”
Review of Lipis Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lipis Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kuala Lipis
Reviewed June 4, 2012

There's not much of a reason to go to Kuala Lipis, and the accommodation standards is another big drawback. The rooms at this hotel are small, old and basic for the price. And it's supposed to be the best in town!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great facade. That's all.
Dismal, soulless room.
Grim breakfast room, meagre selection for breakfast.
Kuala Lipis is a forgotten place, with no attractions. You're better off at Jerantut.

Room Tip: DON'T stay in a standard room. The so-called "De luxe" (a little more expensive) is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Arrived on the late train at 11 pm, and walked through the mostly-deserted town looking for a place to stay. Based on reviews the last time I had internet, I had narrowed down my choices to two hotels: the Lipis Plaza and the other big hotel in town. I thought I preferred the LP, but had no idea how to get there from the train station (the other hotel is pretty much visible from all over). Helpfully, they have a road sign at the main intersection across the railroad tracks, and the total walk from the station to the hotel was maybe 500 meters.

Walked-in without a reservation and got a deluxe double for the published promo rate of 90 RM (I didn't even ask about a discount, so you may get it for less). The room is dated basic, but clean, with two single beds, a TV with 5 channels (mostly local), and free, glorious wifi throughout the hotel. Breakfast is basic only, but they have scrambled eggs/toast/coffee for their western options, and noodles/tea for the local fare. And yes, like the other reviewer, I also saw cold, congealed baked beans - recommend that if this is what you want, you make it to breakfast early!

All in all, I'm fairly pleased with the Lipis Plaza: rooms are clean, offer decent value, and the hotel is located in a convenient area - perfect for a night of sleep before exploring the town for a day, or getting on your way again. I'll stay again if I find myself passing through for the night.

Room Tip: The "deluxe" rooms face the road and have a tiny balcony, but also have more street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaikoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is, in most respects, an adequate country hotel. The price seems about right, the rooms, while not fancy, offer reasonable comfort and cleanliness and the hotel is close enough to the collection of historic structures in town. However, this hotel does have one very bad feature, and that is the kitchen. We ate dinner here and the food was very bland and uninspiring. Perhaps they had heard that Westerners do not like spicy food, but the results were truly tasteless. Worse by far was the breakfast offerings the following morning. Cold, congealed baked beans in a metal tray were a truly unappealing sight. Please try harder.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Although you couldn't call this a class hotel, if you want to stay the night in Kuala Lipis (maybe before taking the boat at Kuala Tembeling) then this is probably the best choice in the area.
Just an hour to Kuala Tembeling where you take the boat to Taman Negara.
The rooms are acceptable ... a bit tired, and don't leave your warm laptop on the floor otherwise you'll find a thousand little beasties enjoying the warmth.
Beakfast is at best very limited .. but there possibly isn't any better hotel in the area.
It's a matter of accepting what there is and not being too picky.
I can recomment a nice little restaurant in Kuala Lipis ... walk across the bridge and you see above you on the corner overlooking the river a restaurant ... good food and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Though we were disappointed with Kuala Lipis on the whole, the Lipis Plaza -- which didn't seem to be in any of the three guidebooks we were carrying -- was a pleasant surprise. It's good value, with a decent breakfest buffet and we enjoyed the balconies. Rooms are clean. Parking is plentiful.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YonHither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Lipis Plaza Hotel is 'The Hotel' in Kuala Lipis town. I am highly recommanded this Hotel to tripadvisor member!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank laisk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lipis Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lipis Plaza Hotel

Address: Lot 6, Lipis Plaza Hotel Jalan Benta Lipis | Jalan Lipis-Benta, Kuala Lipis 27200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Lipis District > Kuala Lipis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kuala Lipis
Price Range: $21 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lipis Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lipis Plaza Hotel welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lipis Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lipis Plaza Hotel Kuala Lipis, Pahang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing