We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A spectacular romantic getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellesley Resort Fiji

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Korolevu
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A spectacular romantic getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

My partner and I were looking for a place to get away to with the aim of relaxing and not doing much else - The Wellesley was perfect for just that. We stayed in the only Romance Suite and I can only say that the room was 5 stars. The outdoor bathroom was quite an experience - especially lazing in the spa even when it was raining lightly.

This resort is small (15 rooms I think) and thus very intimate. There is not much to do apart from eat, drink, laze around by the pool, laze around on the beach, snorkel (more on that later), and go on excursions. The beach, whilst nothing compared to an Australian beach, was pretty good compared to other beaches on the main Island. The water was extremely shallow out to the reef, but nothing great for snorkelling. We did take the Crusoe's (next resort down - ~1km along the beach) boat out for snorkelling for FJD$15 (actually, we managed to get it for free) which took us to a much better snorkelling place a bit further away. We didn't go on any excursions apart from an organised visit to the local village where most of the hotel workers come from - which in itself was quite interesting.

The pool at the hotel was beautiful and there was plenty of space for all the guests.

The food was pretty damn good. Other guests said it was better than most places in Fiji.

The only bad comment I have about this hotel is that the staff were almost too eager to please. So rather than asking questions, they just said 'yes' and did their thing. Sometimes this meant you didn't get exactly what you ordered off the menu - but it was still excellent tucker!

If you want a real relaxing holiday with your loved one - this is it.

I also suggest that after finding your best price online, contact the hotel directly. They matched the price for us plus threw in free return airport transfers.

  • Liked — The isolation and the intimacy
  • Disliked — 2 hour drive from Nadi airport
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigKevOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    25
    21
    19
See reviews for
20
161
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

My partner and I stayed at this resort for 4 nights in August 2008. We booked a great value deal on the internet, the Imperial Suite Indulgence package which included all meals for ~A$250 per night.

The resort is situated about 2 hrs drive from Nadi airport and is in an isolated area with it's own secluded beach and lagoon. Note that the resort only includes airport pickup (we were collected in a private car, an old 4WD for the 2hr journey) but does NOT include the return journey from the resort back to the airport (which costs $140 per car!).

The resort itself is beautiful and overall was peaceful, relaxing and comfortable. There are only 16 rooms so the great thing is that there are no crowds and the staff know you by name. You are left to do however much you please (kayak, snorkel, swim), and there are no organised activities. Those staying longer may find this a little boring.

Our room was an Imperial suite and was spacious, modern and nicely decorated with a sofa and TV in the room. Unlike the rest of the room, the bathroom was old (1980's decor) and our shower head sprayed water everywhere. On a minor note, the pillows were stained and old, something I did not expect for a 4.5 star hotel.

There is supposedly internet wifi access all over the resort, however we found the connection very patchy and temperamental and definitely not available in all places. Although we were on a holiday, there was some important work tasks we were relying on the internet to do, and this was difficult at times.

Meals are all included and the open dining room overlooked the swimming pool, palm trees and ocean in the distance. The tables, crockery and cutlery were not as clean as i expected from a 4.5 star hotel. Food was plentiful but was unfresh, not appetising and extremely disappointing. The food that appeared on the plate was nothing like the description on the menu. For example, the "seared tiger prawns" were small frozen prawns which were soggy and unfresh, bread/panini was rock hard, "chicken kiev" was a deep fried thing I could have bought in the frozen section of a supermarket, pork chops smelt bad, "salt and pepper battered calamari" were infact frozen fish fingers in rings and not calamari/squid at all, "chocolate fondue" was a skewer of fruit dumped inside a dish of chocolate milk....I could go on and on.

If you do decide to choose a package not including meals, an average main meal at dinner costs ~$30 but is bad quality and not worth the money.

I developed gastroenteritis on my last 2 days there and I heard other guests saying that they did not feel well. There is only one restaurant and the resort is isolated so there is no where else to eat.

I have to say, the beach and lagoon are quite beautiful, but the food itself is enough to not ever want to return.

  • Liked — Scenery and surrounds
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lwlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

We had a fantastic time at the Wellesley. My partner and I stayed for 6 nights and we were looked after like royalty! The rooms were well appointed, tastefully decorated and were very clean.

Management and staff were accomodating to all of our needs, they were all very friendly and pleasant. It felt like were were part of a little community family; our requests were never too troublesome for Management and staff to address.

It is a lovely peaceful resort with a beautiful beach. We took advantage of the free snokelling and kayaking facilities available. Beautiful fish were only a 15 metre snorkel from our seemingly private beach. You can take the kayaks via the coast and into the mangrove inlets at high tide and kayak slowly through the eeriely peaceful water forest. It was just a awesome experience!

The resort assisted on many occasions with arranging transport at ungodlly hours in order for us to enjoy white water rafting and hiking inland, sailing around the Yasawa Islands and jet skiing at Pacific Harbour. They even left the restaurant open for us if they knew we were getting in late from our day tours.

Contrary to another review, we found the food absolutely fantastic with high standard presentation, quality, freshness and a great variety of dishes were offered for all sittings. I would highly recommend the fully inclusive dining package as we only had to pay for our drinks and the savings were excellent.

Do not hesitate to chose the Wellesley if you want a peaceful and tranquil experience of Fiji away from all the other tourists. There are 15 rooms available at the resort thus you don't have to wait in line for a single thing or get to the pool early to claim your lounge.

We experienced fond memories at the Wellesley and would highly recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Liked — peacefulness
  • Disliked — No lighting at the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacqNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

Second stay in 3 months – what more can I say. We originally went to the Wellesley in April this year as we were attending a conference at the Fijian (Shangri-La) but wanted to extend our stay and have a few days at a smaller and more intimate resort. The Wellesley delivered with dividends. Hence our second stay in June for my birthday. We live in WA and usually holiday in Asia so for us to want to travel to Fiji to stay at the Wellesley (8 hours flying plus airport layover time) is saying something. (We also stayed at Taveuni Palms on Taveuni Island for 7 nights – review to come – fabulous resort).

The rooms at the Wellesley are quite lovely and very comfortable. They have recently been refurbished and there are now honeymoon suites complete with outdoor bathroom and spa available. We have stayed in both room types and prefer the honeymoon suites as they are newer, have a bit more room and of course have a spa. Rooms very clean and good daily housekeeping service. Books and games available in reception for you to borrow.

The food, particularly dinner, was very, very good and as some other reviewers have stated, the Galliano chicken was amazing. Drink prices very reasonable, particularly in comparison with other resorts in Fiji.

Yes the resort is small (16 rooms I think?) however, for couples this is a perfect and romantic resort in which to relax, read a book and have some cocktails by the pool and ultimately enjoy some quality time with your loved one. At times we felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves. On one day, we were the only guests by the pool. One thing we have found on both visits is that all guests are very friendly towards each other and whilst we did not get to know any other couple well, it was nice to have the occasional short chat and swap tips on where to snorkel, kayak or which tours to do.

There are kayaks and snorkeling gear provided for use free of charge. Snorkeling was surprisingly good, plenty of coral bombies – you just need to go out past the weed. We took the kayaks out and jumped off when we were far enough out. Getting back on was fun…

If you are after a large resort with several restaurants and bars, kids club and multiple pools then try another hotel like the Shanri-La (where by the way you will pay through the nose for drinks and average food).

Couple of minor points that let the resort down slightly – taps on sink loose and shower head could do with replacing (plenty of water pressure – just an older style fitting). Hopefully management will attend to smaller things and keep up maintenance – after all, it’s the little things that count.

  • Liked — The amazing lush gardens and view from the restaurant to the ocean
  • Disliked — Couple of maintenance issues that need to be gotten on top of
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Niiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

We found the Wellesley on the internet and thought it looked like a nice place to spend a few days on our way back to the UK.

Arriving at the hotel we were amazed, for the first time in our lives a hotel had turned out to be much much better than it came across in the promotional literature.

The hotel is great but the amazing thing is the location. The white sand beach and lagoon are just incredible and the best thing is that because it is a small resort we pretty much had it to ourselves the whole time we were there.

We stayed in one of the suites which was large and furnished beautifully . Our meals were included in our package and we found the food to be very good.

We approached the resort directly when we made our booking and we were able to negotiate a really good rate. I dont know if they do this all the time or just because we made our reservation last minute but my advice would be to contact them directly and see if they are keen to do a deal.

We really hope we get the opportunity to return there at some time as we had a thoroughly relaxing time.

  • Liked — The wonderfull beach
  • Disliked — The road into the resort is a bit bumpy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackheathCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

My Husband and I had the absolute pleasure of staying at this wonderful resort recenlty. We stayed for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. We found the staff and facilities were exceptional and meals were always delicious. The gardens and grounds were spectacular and the beach was white and sandy. We stayed in the Romance suite which was beautifully decorated in a balinese theme. The decor was very modern and very clean. It has its own very private outdoor spa and shower set in a tropical theme. I am surprised to read the previous review about the decking incident as we found the enitre resort to be very well structured and safe. i do not believe it is a dangerous resort in the slightest. I cannot recommend this resort enough to anyone wanting a peaceful and romantic getaway and who are looking for personalised service without the crowds!!, Thank you to the Wellesly staff for making our trip so wonderful! If you are looking at staying here we also definately recommend the "Jewel of Fiji" tour, it was well worth it!!

  • Liked — very private, small, no crowds, personalised, views of beach,reef
  • Disliked — having to go home!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Birthdaysurprise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

I would agree with other people experiences of the resort ie great location, local staff etc HOWEVER, We were there as part of a once in a lifetime experience and were travelling on to continue our holidays to the states which was in part spoilt due to the negigence of the resort and its owners. Unfortunatley the resort is rather old in places. Whilst we were there there had been some running repairs to the pool decking but due to "costs" the whole lot was not being replaced. My husband was unfortunate enough to go straight through the rotten decking trapping his knee and strained his ligaments also causing a hemotoma. Although the managers on the ground were helpful, apologetic and quick to take responsibilty the owners have been totally useless and basically give the attitude that they have had our money and to "claim on our travel insurance" for the medical bills etc that we have incurred. We have also been "informed" that we refused a docotor even though one was called but wasnt able to visit the resort as it was a weekend!!! Needless to say now we are back in the UK it has been placed in the hands of our solictors. If you do book this resort be warned and becareful, I would personally say that it would be unsuitable and downright dangerous for most people particualy Older people and children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The rotten Decking
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandrontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korolevu
19.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
9.9 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
19.2 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Resort Fiji

Property: Wellesley Resort Fiji
Address: Namaqumaqua Road (off Queens Hwy) | P.O. Box 104, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korolevu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Korolevu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellesley Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellesley Resort is one of Fiji's newest boutique resorts. It boasts a fabulous lagoon, pool and stunning white sand beach. This part of Fiji's Coral Coast is renowned for its crystal clear waters and spectacular diving - this is the only white sand, blue lagoon experience on the mainland. And it's all yours... miles of it! Set in 100 acres of lush tropical rain forest and island gardens, the Wellesley is a hideaway of intimate and serene seclusion. The stylish decor, high standards of cuisine and the genuine hosted experience our staff offer are nothing less than one would expect from a resort carrying the Wellesley brand. It's all about style... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wellesley Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Resort Fiji Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Coral Coast
Coral Coast Wellesley
Wellesley Resort Fiji Korolevu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing