We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil oasis on the coral coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Had a one-night weekend stay here. The rooms are set in very well designed gardens in this beautiful small valley, with just a short walk down to the sandy beach front. Good food, well priced and a lovely laid-back attitude to everything. Nicely designed pool. Snorkel gear and kayaks are free, and the reef is right out the front. Clear water, enough interesting things to see, although the coral itself has taken a bit of a hammering over the years - nice to hear that there are coral replanting efforts underway. We had a car, so the access wasn't a problem, but indeed it is a few kms from the main highway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveLaveno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 262 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the place to go if you want to get off the frantic busy lane for a while and re-evaluate what's important.
Before you go:
Decide on your mode of transport and book it. We took a taxi but may choose to hire a car next time. I don't recommend catching the bus - impersonal and a fair hike from the main road to the resort.
Leave messages on your phone and computer that you will be on a much deserved break.
It's very liberating to be away from them.
When you land in Fiji:
Get enough cash out to pay local villagers for "activities" eg fishing with Ben is a must. Fundraising dinner at the local village. And the taxi. ($130- $140 each way). It's a 2 hour journey, that's why!
Buy alcohol from duty free & mixers ( you may want to buy wine in NZ before you leave)
The atmosphere is one of simple and slow (Fiji time). The food was fresh, and Crusoe's resort is a 5 minute walk along the beach if you wanted a change of restaurant or The Shop in the local village will cook fish. Kayaks, snorkel gear, pool available which we didn't use but received great service from Lashnai in the Spa
Although it was overcast(weather-wise) for most of the time we were there (5 days), it didn't matter. We came away refreshed and confirmed that it is possible to live a simpler and slower lifestyle.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Awhina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and and was just just beautiful. Weil set out, great gardens and pool area, and right on The beach.
Staff very helpful in arranging tours etc
If anything a little too quiet for us, is a good 5 kms on a dirt road so going for a wander and explore is a bit difficult, although the staff did drop us off when we needed to go out.
A 5 min walk to another resort if you want a change, and the village next door does cheap massages on the beach...much cheaper than either hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stayed here for two nights. Staff and manager were charming. Food was mainly good, reasonable choice of drinks at OK prices. Room very pleasant and they are about to start refurbishing. Only 16 rooms and people spread out so seems quieter than it is. Good for couples who can amuse themselves. No kids which suited me! Kayaked out to the reef which was fun. Kayaks are free.

Small independent spa run by entrepreneurial young lady.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TallyHoH0Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This resort is tucked away on a beautiful beach and has some very decent snorkeling with gigantic clams. We thought that the complimentary breakfast option was pretty good. The internet isn't cheap, but it works ok. The rooms come with satellite tv which is pretty nice! (not that you are there to watch tv, but its still a nice perk if you want to watch a movie at night) The curry was pretty good as well, but the other dishes could be improved upon. It's a good idea to bring soda, water, and snacks with you to the resort, because it is considerably overpriced at the resort. 98% of the staff is really friendly and helpful.
Our air cond was pretty loud in the room, and there was definitely a good amount of mold in the shower. We would probably stay here again if we were in the area, but we would get a different room!! (#7) The next resort down the beach was nice too, but almost twice the price of what we paid here. We thought it was a good value for our money (even with the mold)
*Try to visit the market in Nadi, because the market is Sigatoka (where our transport driver took us) didn't have a lot of options, but you can purchase the bare essentials.

Room Tip: Try not to get room #7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week and loved it! It's very peaceful, a great place to spend some time watching the beautiful ocean roll in and out and an opportunity to get to know Fiji through the local village.

This isn't an activity led hotel, the pace of life is dreamily slow, but other than the location the staff and local village really make this a paradise away from the world.

If you are looking for a peaceful break then you couldn't get a better place than this!

The staff are all employed from the local village and some are getting training, it's a great
scheme but can lead to a little confusion here and there but it doesn't matter at all. They are wonderful and friendly! The groundskeeper can tell you all about the trees and plants and share his knowledge of the forest and widlife with you over a coconut or on a walk.

The village just 5 mins walk down the beach is the best way to get to know Fiji and its people. So friendly and happy to chat about anything. They really added the icing to the tropical cake.

Only issue we had at the hotel was the food, it was very hit and miss. One meal was amazing the next very average. Some consistency would really help and there's no where else to eat due to the remote location. Rooms are comfortable but could do with a little TLC.

But this is the place to go to unwind, snorkel at your leasuire and get to know Fiji from brilliant people!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Before you book anything (and this is aimed directly at the complainers), it is imperative that you are clear in what it is that you want. Do you want pubs, bars and nightclubs, shopping, tours, five star 24/7 room service, or something that fits your needs. Don't go and book a place just because it fits your tight budget and then feel free to lambast some very hard-working people because your unrealistic expectations were not met.

The reality is Fiji is an Island and as such costs are relatively high for transport and food.

The Wellesley is far, far away from the main centres so be prepared. There is a little shop in the village for basic needs and souvenirs.

Get some drinks and food on your way there to store in the fridge they provide for you in your room. Our driver was more then happy to stop several times on our way from the airport so we could do just that.

Expect to pay $20 - $30 per person per meal in the restaurant (The Wellesley is inexpensive by comparison to neighbouring resorts) and at least $50 per person per 50kms for private travel. Petrol costs these folks nearly $3 per litre. We chose local transport and buses cost $5 if your willing to wait, be patient and soak up the experience.

Our needs were somewhere far from the maddening crowd, no frills, just peace and tranquility with no fuss.

Welcome to The Wellesley.

The rooms are clean and tidy, if not a little dated, but hey this is Fiji. If you want the Sheraton, thats on the main Island too; with prices and complications to match.

Our bed was soft and clean and the housekeeper takes the time each evening to pick fresh flowers, fold down your sheets and make everything all fresh for your dreamy sleep. There is no TV. So what? Did you come to watch TV or get away from it all? Air con is provided and works very well if you need it.

The resort employs staff from the nearby village and does so to promote skills and knowledge in the local community without being exploitative. With this in mind the standard of service is not 5 star, but then your not paying 5 star prices. What you are doing is contributing to a local community. Service times are limited in the restaurant as a result.

There is a sublime well maintained pool, looking out over gardens which are kept by a very hard working man. He is only too happy to explain his labour of love to you, whilst he splits open a fresh coconut for you to drink, with some handy wrapped straws he has in his back pocket.

Walk a little further down the path and Mother Nature has provided for you a beach on a lagoon, protected by some amazing coral reef and its stunning flora and fauna. Grab a complimentary snorkel set and kayak and go forth and explore. There are no stingers or crocs or other nasties to bother you. Just go be free and revel in how beautiful this earth is.

For those who say there is nothing to do. You are either lazy and stupid with no sense of adventure, or just sadly afflicted with a strange illness that renders you blind, deaf and dumb. If your stuck, just ask one of the villagers, there are plenty of them around and they will all open their warm and friendly arms to you willingly.

Whilst we were there, we befriended the local villagers. We went farming with them, we went fishing, we hung out and drank kava (once only, that stuff is strong!), we snorkeled, we listened to stories, we ate village-grown Fijian food, and got in touch with what its like to be a real Fijian. We basked in the sun, read our books, caught up with who we actually were and in between we had a beer or two and danced and laughed under the setting tropical sun as the night time sky exploded with the Milky Way stars and the gentle sound of the villagers singing.

Go here if you want to reconnect with yourself. Go to the Sheraton if you want to pretend your experiencing a new place and a new culture whilst sipping $50 imported Martinis with subservient staff who secretly dislike everything your sad hedonistic lifestyle stands for.

Bula Wellesley, Bula Namaqumaqua Village, Bula Fiji!!!!

Room Tip: Email the resort before you go and be straight with them about what you need / want. They are very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Joseph_Ashmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korolevu
6.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,783 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
1,015 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,138 reviews
9.8 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#2 of 4 in Korolevu
2,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crusoe's Retreat
Crusoe's Retreat
#20 of 24 in Coral Coast
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Resort Fiji

Address: Namaqumaqua Road (off Queens Hwy) | P.O. Box 104, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korolevu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Price Range: $63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellesley Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, exclusivity and magnificent natural beauty are the defining characteristics of Wellesley Resort Fiji. Situated on Fiji’s Coral Coast in 100 acres of pristine tropical rainforest, 17 unique rooms and suites are set back on a valley which overlook the azure waters of the Pacific Ocean. The accommodation is an elegant retreat—chic and contemporary. Reserve our premium Pool Villas which offer privacy and refinement. The Wellesley Resorts boasts an outstanding swimming pool, extensive gardens and stunning white sand beach and blue lagoon. This part of Fiji's Coral Coast is renowned for its crystal clear waters and spectacular diving - this is one of the only white sand, blue lagoon experiences available on Viti Levu (Fiji’s main island). Romance. Rejuvenation. Serenity. Inspiration. Celebration. Everything you expect from one of Fiji’s premier adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wellesley Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Resort Fiji Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Coral Coast
Coral Coast Wellesley
Wellesley Resort Fiji Korolevu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing