We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Nearby Hotels
$365
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$291
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
$167
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$270
$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tambua Sands(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$96
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
$107
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bedarra Beach Inn(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
$106
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Waidroka Bay Resort(Korovisilou)
$174
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$112
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
113
83
26
23
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
83
26
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal villageindulgence packagedirt roadcoral coasttropical forestbeach barwhite sand beachhidden paradiseother guestscoconut tastingrental carfresh coconutrooms are comfortableinsect repellentprivate poolclear waterget away from it all
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 267 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a week and loved it! It's very peaceful, a great place to spend some time watching the beautiful ocean roll in and out and an opportunity to get to know Fiji through the local village.

This isn't an activity led hotel, the pace of life is dreamily slow, but other than the location the staff and local village really make this a paradise away from the world.

If you are looking for a peaceful break then you couldn't get a better place than this!

The staff are all employed from the local village and some are getting training, it's a great
scheme but can lead to a little confusion here and there but it doesn't matter at all. They are wonderful and friendly! The groundskeeper can tell you all about the trees and plants and share his knowledge of the forest and widlife with you over a coconut or on a walk.

The village just 5 mins walk down the beach is the best way to get to know Fiji and its people. So friendly and happy to chat about anything. They really added the icing to the tropical cake.

Only issue we had at the hotel was the food, it was very hit and miss. One meal was amazing the next very average. Some consistency would really help and there's no where else to eat due to the remote location. Rooms are comfortable but could do with a little TLC.

But this is the place to go to unwind, snorkel at your leasuire and get to know Fiji from brilliant people!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Before you book anything (and this is aimed directly at the complainers), it is imperative that you are clear in what it is that you want. Do you want pubs, bars and nightclubs, shopping, tours, five star 24/7 room service, or something that fits your needs. Don't go and book a place just because it fits your tight budget and then feel free to lambast some very hard-working people because your unrealistic expectations were not met.

The reality is Fiji is an Island and as such costs are relatively high for transport and food.

The Wellesley is far, far away from the main centres so be prepared. There is a little shop in the village for basic needs and souvenirs.

Get some drinks and food on your way there to store in the fridge they provide for you in your room. Our driver was more then happy to stop several times on our way from the airport so we could do just that.

Expect to pay $20 - $30 per person per meal in the restaurant (The Wellesley is inexpensive by comparison to neighbouring resorts) and at least $50 per person per 50kms for private travel. Petrol costs these folks nearly $3 per litre. We chose local transport and buses cost $5 if your willing to wait, be patient and soak up the experience.

Our needs were somewhere far from the maddening crowd, no frills, just peace and tranquility with no fuss.

Welcome to The Wellesley.

The rooms are clean and tidy, if not a little dated, but hey this is Fiji. If you want the Sheraton, thats on the main Island too; with prices and complications to match.

Our bed was soft and clean and the housekeeper takes the time each evening to pick fresh flowers, fold down your sheets and make everything all fresh for your dreamy sleep. There is no TV. So what? Did you come to watch TV or get away from it all? Air con is provided and works very well if you need it.

The resort employs staff from the nearby village and does so to promote skills and knowledge in the local community without being exploitative. With this in mind the standard of service is not 5 star, but then your not paying 5 star prices. What you are doing is contributing to a local community. Service times are limited in the restaurant as a result.

There is a sublime well maintained pool, looking out over gardens which are kept by a very hard working man. He is only too happy to explain his labour of love to you, whilst he splits open a fresh coconut for you to drink, with some handy wrapped straws he has in his back pocket.

Walk a little further down the path and Mother Nature has provided for you a beach on a lagoon, protected by some amazing coral reef and its stunning flora and fauna. Grab a complimentary snorkel set and kayak and go forth and explore. There are no stingers or crocs or other nasties to bother you. Just go be free and revel in how beautiful this earth is.

For those who say there is nothing to do. You are either lazy and stupid with no sense of adventure, or just sadly afflicted with a strange illness that renders you blind, deaf and dumb. If your stuck, just ask one of the villagers, there are plenty of them around and they will all open their warm and friendly arms to you willingly.

Whilst we were there, we befriended the local villagers. We went farming with them, we went fishing, we hung out and drank kava (once only, that stuff is strong!), we snorkeled, we listened to stories, we ate village-grown Fijian food, and got in touch with what its like to be a real Fijian. We basked in the sun, read our books, caught up with who we actually were and in between we had a beer or two and danced and laughed under the setting tropical sun as the night time sky exploded with the Milky Way stars and the gentle sound of the villagers singing.

Go here if you want to reconnect with yourself. Go to the Sheraton if you want to pretend your experiencing a new place and a new culture whilst sipping $50 imported Martinis with subservient staff who secretly dislike everything your sad hedonistic lifestyle stands for.

Bula Wellesley, Bula Namaqumaqua Village, Bula Fiji!!!!

Room Tip: Email the resort before you go and be straight with them about what you need / want. They are very honest and very obliging. If they can do something for you, they will no fuss.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Joseph_Ashmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were in a group of 16, 8 couples, When we arrived at Nadi Airport they only had enough room for 12 people so they tried to arrange a taxi which they expected us to pay for, approx. $200-$250AUD. We told them that this was not an option so we had to wait an extra 2 hrs at the airport for another vehicle to take us to the resort. At least 3 couples in our party had to change rooms because of air con not working and another room had a rat the size of a cat living in it. We were there for 8 days and we were told all about the activities available to us such as shopping, fishing and golf, 1. shopping, we had to arrange for a lift up to the bus stop on the main Rd which is about 3klm from the resort, it took us to Sigatoka which is the closest shops to the resort, 50klm. After shopping we couldn't get a bus back to the resort so we had to catch a taxi which, luckily are very cheap in Fiji, $50. 2. Fishing, well what can I say, they arranged for the gardener to take us out fishing in a little dhingy that could only take 2 people and charged us $45 a head and we caught nothing, but we did get sunburn. 3. Golf, They will drop you off on the main rd so you can catch a bus into Suva then from the bus to a taxi to take you to the golf course at a cost of about $200. Finally we had a flight home about 8am so we needed to leave the resort about 4.30am to get us to the airport 1 and a half hrs before the flight, even though we paid for all transfers they couldn't guarantee the transport that early in the morning so we all left a day early and stayed at Raffles which is across the road from the airport. So I don't think I could recommend the Wellersly to anyone unless you want to go to a place that is off the beaten track and you DON'T want to go anywhere or do anything.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room had very attractive hard and soft furnishings.
Both the cultivated and wild aspects of the resort setting were sublime.
The continental breakfast was adequate but the hot add-ons were on the pricey side.
Dinner was of an average standard.
Wellesley has very few organised activities but these are available in the adjacent village and the nearby resort.
We would recommend for adults.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nebyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Wellesley Resort. It was quite a drive from the airport...about 2 hours. But the driver, Joe, was lovely and filled us in on Fijian culture and different things we could do in the area on our way to the resort. He also stopped at a supermarket so that we could pick up beers and water for our room (worth doing as it works out way cheaper than resort prices). As it was later in the evening and the resort restaurant would have been closed on our arrival (10pm) he even offered to stop at a restaurant so that we could eat.

Our room was gorgeous. Absolutely spotless; the sheets were turned down every evening while we were at dinner and a fresh flower arrangement was left on the bed.

All of the staff on this small resort come from the small village next door which I thought was really great. The Wellesley make a point of employing local people, giving them experience in the biggest industry in their country. Everyone was so very friendly and they always remembered guests names which added to the personal experience.

The beach is stunning, so very quiet and calm. Only 10 minutes walk along the beach to Crusoes which is a little busier.

Quite a lot of the reviewers here complain about the quality of the food at the Wellesley and unfortunately, I'd have to agree. It's quite hit and miss. Sometimes you get something quite good but there isn't enough of it and other times it's just ok! If you do choose to stay here I'd suggest a couple of nights dining here and the rest at Crusoes where the food is definitely better.

We did a day cruise from Nadi. We had to leave the resort at 6.30 to get to the Warwick Resort (25 min drive, 50FJD) where we were collected by a bus (included in the price of pretty much any cruise you do, we did the Whales Tale which was awesome). The bus took us the rest of the way - just over 1hr 30mins. We slept most of it so it was painless really!

What made this resort really special was its location and the friendly people that worked there. The resort is quite far away from anything at all and so all you have to do is relax!!! It's set in lush tropical gardens, the pool is clean and tranquil and the beach is at the bottom of the garden.

A must do is a 'Mary's Fijian Massage' on the beach. She is a lovely lady from the village who has built her own little bamboo shack on the beach and charges 40FJD for a 1 hour massage which she does while singing old Fijian songs to you. It's about a 5 minute walk along from the resort and if she isn't at the shack then she's usually hanging out at the village shop which can be found on the beach just before the shack.

I thought The Wellesley was a little slice of heaven. Do it - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlenedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews