We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Family Resort”
Review of Naviti Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Naviti Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2007

I only wrote this review following discussions with three other people of different ages who have stayed here in 2007 who all had the same experience.
We arrived on the all inclusive package, with an expectation that this was not going to be a 5 star hotel but somewhere between a 3-4 Star.
The fascilities were good - Nice Restaurants and Pool Fascilities. The lagoon is a huge detraction as it is browny and certainly not a swimming area and only usable at high tide.
Problems:
1. Meals were only available at fixed times and nearly always included chips rather than vegetables or salad.
If you have young children you can not eat with them at night time. The children have a childrens dinner early 5.30pm when only children are allowed to eat in the restaurant. You can eat with your children but only at other restraunts which do not open until 6.30pm which is difficult with young children as they often go to bed around this time. The childrens menu has no health food options.
2.You have difficulty obtaiing bottles water before 9.00am. the staff need heavy persuation to give you water and the hotel shop does not open until after 9.00am.
3. Whilst the Staff always greet you with the customary "BULA" you can not help but feel that they do this they have been instructed to. They often will appear from no-where to great you with BULA....but when you ask staff members for assistance they tend to go away never to be seen again.
4. Never make the miskatke of asking for something that is not a standard item or service because they will find this too difficult and almost not know how to achieve the simplest things. ie we asked for a bowl of vegetables for our 1 year old (we did not want to feed her on chips for a week) and they could not work out how to do this.
5.Pools - If you are into heavy drinking then this is the place for you, there always appared to be drunk people at the swimming pool morning and night.
6. A friend who visited had a child 13years old who was not able to attend the kids club (over 12years) and could not spend the evening with the adults as too young for this. So they were heavily restricted apparently staff stated that activitites would be on for this age group but they were always cancelled at the last minute.
We lasted one week and then moved hotels to the Shangri-La which is more upmarket and had none of these problems - I guess you get what you pay for.
The Naviti (and I beleive the Warwick too) would be good for young people and singles and families that want to dump the kids and hit the grog. Anyone who wants to spend time together as a family or relax without drunkness and bad language all around then I suggest you look elsewhere- Definitely recommend the shangri_la

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank peakandsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 1,967 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

We have just returned from an 8 night stay at the fantastic Naviti Resort. Our party consisted of myself, my husband, our 4 yr old daughter and both sets of our parents. We all had a wonderful holiday and plan to return!

A lot has been said about this resort already so I will try and write some extra info. The resort was clean and very tidy, has a lovely friendly feel - this was not our first trip to Fiji and we also stayed at another (more expensive) resort - which left a lot to be desired!. The Naviti is excellent value for money - take the inclusive deal - you wont be disappointed.

We stayed in the new wing; our rooms were beautiful (527, 528. 529). It was a short walk to the restaurants etc but that was our exercise for the day, also far enough from the lounge to not hear the disco in the evenings.

The food is good, however the buffets can be a bit 'ordinary' after a while so don’t forget you can dine at the Taeli fine dining restaurant as part of your 'inclusive' deal. You can also eat at the Chinese restaurant - there is a set menu for inclusive guests or you can eat off the menu with a 25% discount. Mains about $18fj for sweet and sour etc (before discount).
Breakfasts are divine -buffet - the 'egg man' is my new best friend! He makes the best omelettes. Also try the banana bread.
Lunch - buffet or there are a couple of menus to choose from - burgers etc and a pizza menu - yum!

The glass bottom boat is excellent but if the tides are right go in the morning for the coral viewing the winds picked up every afternoon while we were there and it makes it quite choppy.

We took a trip to the Kula Eco Park $20per adult entry. Lots of animals to see. Hand fed sea turtles, held Fijian Iguanas and snakes, saw lots of birds, a lovely day out. Took a taxi from the resort $40fj return (20 mins each way and the cabbie waited for us) and he also stopped at my request in a village so I could shop for shells in the 'shell house' (good prices, lots of selection, lovely lady).

Cocktails are $10 fj however our other resort was charging more than twice that!
The drinks are strong but good, the wines are Aus or NZ, the beer is Fijian. (Inclusive)

The free nightly entertainment shows were great (Fijian dancing, Polynesian dancing, kava ceremony, fire twirling, and church choir).

Our daughter was too young to go to kids club alone; however we could take her along at any time to join in. Lots of fun activities, donkey rides, fish feeding, crab racing, dancing competitions. Special mention to the DJ - he had us all in stiches, and the multi talented Bill.

Hair braiding across the road (next to the car rental), $2 per braid, crafts, clothing, necklaces etc also available in the village next door to the resort.

Things to take with you , bug spray ( tho not as bad as I imagined), sun screen, reef shoes (we picked up some aqua socks at Big W Australia for about $9 a pair they were great for walking on the reef and out to the island).

Previously mentioned by another poster - a 90 min trip from airport, maybe the only drawback, however lots to look at on the way. Not sure I would want to do the trip in the dark!
You will also go home with extra kilos!

All in all a wonderful place to visit, great value for money and lots of happy, friendly staff.
No sign of a coup, no trouble and everyone grateful that people are still coming to Fiji.

Love it - planning to return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank charmbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed at the Fijian for just over a week and it was absolute bliss! The staff are amazing, the facilities devine and they were incredible with our 14 month old daugther. Fortunatley we saved up for a luxury holiday and stayed in the suite - it was AMAZING. I've stayed at the Fijian before in the garden view room, and whilst adequate the suite was a dream come true! I HIGHLY recommend the babysitting services - at only $20 (Aust) for 3 hours its a bargain for some much needed rest. (The kids club only take children after 2 years of age). Also make sure you include dinner in your package as you will save heaps of money this way! and if you ask you can use your credit at ANY restaurant (there are about 5) - we tried all of them and I can honestly say I never had a bad meal - in fact the food was fantastic!

Enjoy!

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank carriemeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

If you are looking for a relaxing family holiday then the Naviti is the place to go. We were there in the July school holidays and although it was busy the only time we really had to queue was for the breakfast buffet.
We visited with our two children aged 12 and 9. They were a bit too grown up to attend the Kids Club but this didn't matter as they spent most of their time in the new pool. Pool volleyball with Bill at 11-30am each day was a highlight. They also enjoyed going out in the kayaks and the paddle boats and playing tennis and volleyball. If you want a good spot by the pool at busy times it pays to get your towels when the activities hut opens in the morning and put them on the sun loungers you want.
The staff were mostly friendly - a special mention for Dave who always had a smile and a wave for us.
The all-inclusive is definitely the way to go. The kids could go up to the pool bar and get drinks whenever they liked and there was plenty for them to choose from at the buffets. The children's buffet in the evening was fine for our 9 year old but a bit limited for our 12 year old. He had the buffet from the main restaurant - this was still free for him. We went out to the Bamboo restaurant 3 times. The food here was very nice - after the first few nights we were getting a little tired of the main buffet. We took the children to the Bamboo Restaurant twice and although we had to pay for them there it only cost us about $20FJD each time for a really nice chinese meal with excellent service.
We took the shuttle to the Warwick twice and spent the afternoon there. The snorkelling there is good and we played mini-golf, pool and table tennis there as well (all for no charge). This is more of a couples resort and probably slightly more up-market than the Naviti. We had a very nice lunch there one day and got a $10FJD credit each towards our meal.
The rooms were good - we were in the new Nadi wing. I agree with a previous reviewer who said that it took a very long time for the hot water to come through for a shower!
Overall we had a great time. It was a great place for a relaxing family holiday - none of us wanted to come home!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sunseeker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

A bit late in posting my review, but memories still fresh months on.

Fantastic resort which has everything one could need, from a round of golf to a relaxing massage. We stayed in the new Nadi wing with out 3 1/2 year old daughter and room was pleanty big enough and well equipped. The only downfalls were the distance from the main hub of the resort (but it was close to the new poor and swim up bar!) and the hot water took 10 mins to come through each day.

I could not advise more strongly than to go with the all inclusive, never had to buy a thing unless you wanted a cocktail at $ 10 fjd each.

As for the family friendlyness, they have everything really and the beautiful fijians had our daughters name by day 2 and never missed. At dinner time often taking her off for a dance with the nightly entertainment while we ate. Never felt uncomforatble around the place at all.

Went for a look at the Warwick, seemed nice but Naviti seemed prettier and tidier.

I had a massage everyday with the friendly ladies in the hut down the end of the beach and my daughters hair braided for next to nothing, also brought some souveniers from the blue hut across the road from Naviti.

Had a divine meal one night at Bamboo terrace, wow, a definate must. Also did the firewalking show which was a bit boring and not worth the price but interesting all the same.

Would definatley recommend this place to families with young or even teenage children and honeymooners (although pay the extra and get a bure)

Would defniately visit again given the chance.

P.s The one and a 1/2 hour transfer from the airport was the only downfall.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

After staying at Plantation Idland 2 years ago we thought we would stay on the mainland for something a bit different.

The Naviti with its all inclusive deal and with 16 of us travelling, paid for by mum, this seemed a good option. And to the best part it worked out well.

I have 4 daughters aged 2 - 9

In a nutshell:
* General restaurant and bar staff were not as friendly as we had hoped especially for the kids. At Plantation the staff had more time doting on the kids
* housekeeping staff were fantastic and were friendlier
* standard rooms were small but adequate
* no water slide but pools were of a decent size
* no satellite so had to go to the Warwick to watch the Sprinboks play the Wallabies
* beach facilities such as the catarmaran need updating and there was only 1
* kids club was quite busy and run by only one lady. Similar activity each night so not a lot of variety. Plantation was better
* not much for teenagers to do
* restrictions on all you can eat in the different restaurants

On the positive:
*Always heaps of food and of a good quality
*generally relaxed atmosphere
*clean and tidy resort

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SydneyTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Spent a week at The Naviti over easter this year with my husband and 2 daughters (8 &11) And what a great time we had , Loved almost every minute of it. Not going to bore you with all the stuff that's in previous reviews as most people enjoyed it as much as we did , so i'm going to try and give some info thats not in other reviews.
On arrival in Fiji be prepared for a bit of a hair raising drive between the airport and naviti, they drive quite crazly and the roads are not great with heaps of speed bumps which the taxi drivers don't slow down for! took just over 1.5 hours to get there.
The staff are extremely genuinly friendly except 1 or 2. The conceirge boys are great and Bill needs a mention too.
Room
The room was basically what I had expected, we had a queen , a single and a roll away, a bit cramped but your hardly in the room anyway. very clean, beds comfy , pillows on the hard side, tea and coffee repalced everyday. no ice tray in the freezer so next trip we'll take one with us, our room was a long way from the bar so remembering to get a glass of ice before we left on an evening was a must for my night cap of dutyfree baileys.
Bathroom was good so long as you're a close family , the bathroom doors are louvered so sounds travel straight through and our door didnt latch closed either. Thankfully there was a really powerful fan above the toilet or we may have had to leave the room a couple of times. Heaps and heaps of toilettries are provided, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and moisturiser, so if your not too fussed about what you wash your hair with leave your own stuff at home. My kids and husband used them and said it was great.
we packed not a lot of gear to wear but still way too much. days are litteraly togs boardies sarongs and t shirts, nights i got a bit more dressy, the kids wore a summer dress or shorts and my husband just wore casual shorts and polo shirt or bula shirt and his thongs. no need for jeans, dress shirts or dress shoes here , unless you want to, i still wore heels on a night makes me feel like im on holidays then. Like other reviews i had a big bag of washing done across the road for $15, its $18 or $20 in the hotel but they put it all through the dryer, not good for a lot of t shirts.
Food was ok to great, depending where you ate, our favourite was the Bamboo restaurant , which only went to on night 3 and ate there twice after that and once at the Talei ( only one fully airconditioned). The Talei was also good. the night Buffet was ok depending what was on offer as its a different theme each night , the lovo night was good , you could smell the meat cooking outside all day. Breaky and Lunch was ok depending on the day . The pool grill food was sometimes a better choice for lunches. The alcohol was good , very stong drinks , was very disappointed that they put the price of there cocktails up 100% 3 days before we got there, went from $5.50 to $10 on the 1st April , don't know if it was done becasue of the full house over easter, will be interested to find out if they dropped the price back down again. They were still selling them for $5.50 at the Bamboo restaurant , but we only discovered this the night before we left or we would have been over there every evening for a few cocktails.
the start of our holiday it wasn't that busy there but by easter saturday thru Monday it was packed, the resort did find it a little hard to look after so many guests with long wait on drinks, public toilets with no toilet paper left and the food deteriorated a bit . Just ment going back to your room to use the toilet and getting 3 drinks at the bar instead of 1. The pool area is magnificent but I was a little concerned on those busy days how people can stay in the pool swim up bar from 10am until 5pm drinking beer all day and you never see them leave the pool, makes you think!
But the pool was cleaned really well evey morning and lots of chemicals added. Hired a car from conceirge much cheaper than through the tour shop, very easy to drive around. went to Suva , won't be doing that again, not the nicest of experiences especially for my two daughters. I think we were the only aussies in the city centre and we got hassled unbelievably, might be better to go in on a day when P&O cruises are in town , won't stand out as much then. We only spent 1 hour in Suva and were very happy to get back in the car, My youngest said to me," Mum I thought you were going to snap my fingers off you were holding my hand that tight". That tells you how it was.
Kids club was great ( lots of different activities) for my youngest but my eldest wasn't happy there, we made her go in 4 nights so we could have dinner on own . Oh the kids buffet is great for the kids.
Well we had a great time, just be prepared for Fiji Time, don't take your watch, leave your mobile in your room for emergencies and go relax. One tip if you have a portable dvd player take that with you with some connectors or a playstation , just in case the weathers not good , as the tv over there is very poor and the movies the hotel put on have a habbit of not working properly, and as we found out they don't always put apprpriate movies on at the right times . like MA rated movies at 7.30pm, just be aware of it. Weve already booked for next easter and taking friends with us , Its a great family resort , if you don't like kids don't go you'd be better off at the Warwick (beautiful water), And if you your single and want to pick up i'd probably go somewhere else cos theres no young singles here.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QUEEN_OF_CATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korolevu
2.9 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,706 reviews
34.0 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
18.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
36.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
2.9 mi away
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naviti Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naviti Resort

Address: Queens Road, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korolevu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Price Range: $109 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Naviti Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Naviti Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naviti Hotel Korolevu
Fiji Naviti Resort
Naviti Hotel Sigatoka
Naviti Resort Sigatoka
Naviti Resort Fiji/Korolevu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing