We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!”
Review of Llansteffan Beach

Llansteffan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were so fortunate on our visit that not only was the beach quiet from other visitors, but also the sun was shining with all it's might!
Lovely sandy beach with fish 'n' chip shop and tearoom/gift shop in the adjoining car park. Sadly no swimming due to dangerous currents, but paddling is a must.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lozzak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Plenty of sand and parking”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very nice place, not far from Carmarthen town West Wales. Plenty of free parking.
Enough sand for every one, but swimming is not permitted. Nice walk up to the castle and refreshments available.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We love visiting Llansteffan when we are staying in Carmarthenshire. Lovely big beach with about half of it dog friendly during the Summer months. Even on a glorious sunny day it doesn't get busy which is great. The Castle Inn is great for a drink while Florries is great for Fish & Chips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could have been more dog friendly”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely place if not a little difficult to get to; that is possibly its secret? We started our visit at the National Trust car park at Lord's Park and took the coastal path over Wharley Point to Scott's Bay. This was fully accessible for Harvey the Dog with good views over the Taf and Towy estuaries. There is a good footpath back to the car park from the Bay. In all this took us about an hour making good use of the view seats which are scattered along the coastal path. We then drove to Llansteffan and made good use of the Beach tea rooms. Excellent value. We then set off to walk along the beach to the castle only to find Harvey isn't allowed on the beach May to September. As a responsible dog owner I find this irritating. We worked our way inland and round to the castle. This is quite a steep climb. As we got to the outer gatehouse there was another "no dogs" sign. Given that the castle is a ruin this seems rather OTT. So Lansteffan is a little gem as is the Beach tea rooms. Not so sure about the smell of fish and chips but they seemed to be doing a roaring trade!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Soft sand!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have not seen a beach with sand this soft elsewhere in Britain. And when the tide went out it was lovely to walk on the hard, wet sand almost in the middle of the bay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llansteffan Beach also viewed

Llansteffan, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Pendine, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Llansteffan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing