We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
St James

“Great place to eat”

Basil Cafe Restaurant
Order Online
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in St James
Description: Basil Cafe Restaurant Provides Appetizers, Soup & Salad, Beef/Pork/Chicken Entrees, Seafood, Persian Dishes and Desserts to the Saint James, NY Area
Restaurant details
Description: Basil Cafe Restaurant Provides Appetizers, Soup & Salad, Beef/Pork/Chicken Entrees, Seafood, Persian Dishes and Desserts to the Saint James, NY Area
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We had lunch there today. The BBQ flatbread was delicious. They give you a cup of soup with your pita lunch. The pita was light and we each had a different filling. All were very good. Waitress was very friendly. Plan to go back for dinner. It’s a BYOB place

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gutfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2019

the chef is terrific
whether you have koobideh, sultan, one of the pasta with chicken dishes fish, salads, soups----all are great
never anything less than great
BYOB which is also not bad
the service is very attentive and very nice
the wife of the chef runs it and also does a great job keeping things moving in a very nice way
when it is warm enough, sitting out not he back terrace is especially nice
you cannot do better and the price is really right

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2019

We very much enjoyed the ambience and friendly staff who were very attentive. I expected more traditional Persian selections and more variety so I was a little disappointed. Everything was very healthy, clean food so we will give it another shot for sure.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Desiada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2019

We are from Nassau county and now have to make our way to St James more often. We had come to see other things in the area and happened upon this lovely gem. The food was delicious and the staff and chef friendly. Cant wait to come back Be aware..BYOB

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quest440259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019

Very welcoming restaurant with very diverse menu choices! Food was delicious- love the outside eating area in the back!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lcg7248395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Saint James, Long Island
Saint James, Long Island
 
Saint James, Long Island
Saint James, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Saint James, Long Island
 

Been to Basil Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing