We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Mermaid Homestay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
231
57
9
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
57
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindu and pradeepbamboo cottageher husbandthottada beachdelicious foodbreakfast and dinnerwonderful hoststhe ownerprivate beachkind of placerooms are cleantheyyam ritualrelaxing staytrain ticketsperfect place to relaxhome stayhome cooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 305 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed here twice, once back in 2011 with friends and again in march with my partner. It is a lovely home stay in beautiful and tranquil surroundings. The staff look after you very well and the food is tasty, plentiful and very healthy! The rooms are clean and modern with nice seating areas outside. You pretty much have your own private beach to yourself. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahMG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during March 2013. Blue Mermaid was very clean, quite basic but very pleasant. We had booked to stay at Kannur Beach House (Next door) but refused the rooms we were offered. We were fortunate enough to get a room at Blue Mermaid. A blessing in disguise. A much nicer homestay at a lower room rate. Whew!!!
We were made very welcome by Indu (Owner) and her staff.
There was plenty of food at each meal. The food was typical Keralan cuisine with fresh fish for most evening meals and fresh fruit to accompany breakfast. The filtered (Not bottled mineral) water provided with the meals was perfectly fine to drink. We never had an upset stomach.
Overall, a very nice relaxing stay in lovely surroundings right by an empty beach.

Room Tip: Bamboo cottage is a private cottage on stilts overlooking the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What can we say? A truly wonderful experience to spend 8 nights at Blue Mermaid. Far more than a holiday, it was like a home from home...in paradise. Indu and her family and staff looked after our every need, from delicious home cooking to forward travel arrangements with friends and colleagues across Kerala. Most importantly we felt welcomed and loved by all there, who shared smiles and laughter, helped us learn Malayalam and greeted us with warm hugs morning and night. The warmth of the people was complimented by the wonderful scenery, tranquil atmosphere and outstanding birdlife - sea eagles, kingfishers, woodpeckers and more graced our doorstep in the surrounding palms every day. The beach was clean and quiet and safe for swimming most days. We were so happy to see in the New Year for 2013 there, a very special place for us to do so and a very special time in our lives. We will never forget our time with all our friends, who feel more like extended family across the sea. And hopefully we will return to do it all again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaHagen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in November 2011 and promised ourselves we would return to Blue Mermaid it was such a delightful place to stay. We don't normally return as we like to seek out new places but Blue Mermaid didn't disappoint. In fact we stayed at the start of our February holiday but finished the holiday there too and plan to return again next year.
All stays here have been in Bamboo Cottage with it's lovely view to the beach.
Indu has made some improvements since our last visit with the completion of a restaurant and additional rooms. The food here is first class and included in the room rate.
Make sure your driver has directions as Blue Mermaid is a little hard to find being so isolated, but that is the attaction, no traffic noise just the sound of the sea and birdlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete_n_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A lovely getaway in a quaint little town, Blue mermaid is 'the' place to repetitively go to if you like the sun, the waves and solitude. My travel agent 'take a break - bangalore' organized this trip for me and it turned out to be one of the best holidays of my life. The place inspires you to completely unwind and become one with nature. Rooms 1 & 2 we stayed in are comfortable and provide enough cross ventilation. It's good value for money as far as accommodation, ambience and food are concerned. Indu is a great host and takes very good care of her guests. She is also adept at organizing local sightseeing trips! The only 2 things to keep in mind are that the beach access is over a large clump of rocks (hence not suitable for the aged/ ailing/ kids who will have to take a 1/2 km walk across a fairly flat land to reach the sea side) and you definitely need to carry a mosquito repellant spray or cream.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms 1 and 2 if you like staying on the ground floor and enjoy sea breeze!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews