We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristorante Mater - A treasure in the Tuscan Region”
Review of Ristorante Mater

Ristorante Mater
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 7/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Moggiona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $79
Description: The Mater opened its doors in 2017, within the property of Borgo I Tre Baroni. The connection with Nature is evident: we are inside the Casentino Forest National Park, at the foot of the Hermitage and the Camaldoli Monastery. From the warm wooden floor to the root in the center of the restaurant, everything suggests that we have a great respect for Nature and take inspiration from its variety.
Restaurant details
Description: The Mater opened its doors in 2017, within the property of Borgo I Tre Baroni. The connection with Nature is evident: we are inside the Casentino Forest National Park, at the foot of the Hermitage and the Camaldoli Monastery. From the warm wooden floor to the root in the center of the restaurant, everything suggests that we have a great respect for Nature and take inspiration from its variety.
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Mater – an unexpected treasure in the Tuscan region near the town of Poppi. The food was excellent – gourmet meal of Tuscan ingredients. We were staying at the I Tre Baroni Inn which was where the restaurant is located. The food was fresh, elegant, and a pleasure to taste. Each course was a treat. We dined three nights in the restaurant looking forward to what we would try. The staff was courteous and professional. Special comments need to be made about the dining room. There was a large glass window (30+ feet long and 6+ feet high) between the dining room and kitchen. We could watch the meals being prepared. Twice we sat at a table looking into the kitchen. In the dining room, opposite the kitchen, were large glass doors and an outdoor terrace overlooking the valley. One could have dinner on the terrace. This restaurant is special and worth the trip.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 102 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2017

In a difficult time for "fine dining" the Baroni family has upgraded their restaurant and having dined there we can say it was an absolutely unforgettable experience, from the reception to the presentation and taste of the food, to the service. Have a look at our photos to get an idea of how special this place is.
We actually arrived here by chance, as we were looking for a luncheon place on the way to Poppi. Having parked the car we walked down some newish looking steps to a large panoramic verandah, and inside to a very refined dining room. There are a la carte options or set menus. As it was a very hot day we opted for a la carte choices and we ordered an entree and main each. An amuse bouche, another dish between courses and a pre-dessert dish were complimentary from the young chef Filippo. The breads were also outstanding with three types of grissini (wholemeal, chilli and beetroot), focaccia and wholemeal bread rolls. We had wine by the glass and the labels offered were of high quality, including the sauterne.
The property is located on the edge of the Casentino forest with great views from the large windows. Book before you go as the restaurant is usually only open for dinner.
If you drive from Poppi it takes about 20 minutes to get to Moggiona but it is really worth experiencing Mater.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Ristorante Mater can offer a unique experience to the most demanding gourmets. Their philosophy of drawing on Tuscan roots while enriching them with a surprisingly modern twist results in an real feast! I strongly recommend the degustation menu with wine tasting. It was amazing! Definitely worth its price.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank _emeczka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

We have had wonderful meals at hotel Il Tre Baroni in the past but the new Mater restaurant is something else.
The venue is spectacular with a wonderful view over Poppi outside and a full view of the chefs working in their immaculate kitchen inside.
At the table there are some really nice touches like the cork-holder for your wine and mini-stool for handbags.
The food is fine dining with a good selection of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes that look and taste amazing along with little tasting treats between courses. The staff were really accommodating too and were happy to prepare simpler dishes for the children.
One of the best places that we've eaten that didn't have a Michelin star on the door and a 4 week waiting list for a table!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank AandKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

My family and I were able to enjoy this fine dining experience. Once as a tasting menu and once on our wedding night. The food is of highest standard and quality and cooked to perfection by a top chef.

The restaurant itself is stunning with very unique and top of the world features such as a large window where the guests can see what goes on in the kitchen and watch the chef and his team create magic.

Another highlight is a very large wooden table which is used as decoration, a fireplace and all the detailed decorations which changes depending on the season/occassion. I also love how each table has little stools for the ladies handbag so we don't need to leave it on the floor. All the staff members are extremely friendly and speak multiple languages.

Cooking courses are also available for food lovers. My family and friends had the privilege to cook with the chef and then eat the food. This was a great experience in a stunning location!

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone staying at I Tre Baroni or even just passing by. It is worth a visit and it will exceed your expectation.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KyraZ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Mater also viewed

Poppi, Province of Arezzo
Stia, Province of Arezzo
 
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
 
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
Ortignano Raggiolo, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante Mater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing