We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconuts Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$189
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$130
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dave Parker Eco Lodge(Apia)(Great Value!)
$50
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Samoa Tradition Resort(Apia)(Great Value!)
$70
$55
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Samoan Outrigger Hotel(Apia)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
213
139
45
32
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
139
45
32
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeal dealbeach falemeal planour honeymoonmini barfishmanoa toursturtles swimmingbeach frontswim up barcoffee tablesinalei resortrestaurant staffsamoan cultureper hourother islandssamoan dishes
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 453 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Wow coconuts is amazing. We stayed here in the second half of our holiday to Samoa. First half on savai'i. Wish we had stayed at coconuts the whole time.

We have been to most of the pacific islands coconuts is one of the best resorts we have stayed at. The staff are so friendly, helpful and welcoming, we were blown away! Albert and Seepa are the best receptionists and the three drivers we had for various outings and transfers where great. They will do anything for you. We wanted to go into Apia and gave about 30 minutes notice. No problem there was a driver ready to take us in 30 minutes we were on our way. We went on another trip to the black sand beach and togitogiga water fall. This trip went over lunchtime and the restaurant staff made us a beautiful picnic lunch to take, it was lovely.

The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Cooked to perfection and outstandingly presented. We had a coco suite it was huge and so well done with the waterfall showers, excellent.

The grounds are immaculately maintained. After the devastating tsunami three years ago that the resort has been through it is looking great. You and the village have and are still doing a fantastic job.

I can not understand why anyone would have negative feedback for coconuts, it's outstanding.


We will definitely be back, hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emeli47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Talofa emili47 and thanks for your Fantastic review of Coconuts Beach Club. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for your very kind words about our resort, our staff, and our restaurant. It was so nice meeting you, and we can't wait to see you again on your next visit to Coconuts. Fa'afetai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at a resort next door, not at Coconuts, but we wanted to review the restaurant. The food is great quality and quite varied, and they have a vegetarian menu. Having the vegetarian options in a menu made it very easy to order vegetarian food, as the staff at most resorts while happy to help often don't have the English skills to understand "this dish but no meat, please put in xyz instead". Overall a great restaurant, great staff, and great atmosphere. We went to the Samoan performance night, which was great.

What we saw of coconuts buildings and grounds in general was really nice. The only thing we didn't like was that the paths were all sand - there's sand everywhere, even between the restaurant and their bathrooms. That alone would put us off staying there. Put some proper paths in, grow some more grass, and it'd be awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Talofa Lava mrtimnz and thanks for your great review of Coconuts Beach Club. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Coconuts, and thanks for your kind words. Hopefully on your next visit, you can stay with us. Our guests just LOVE the sand pathways at Coconuts - we are a very casual, laid-back resort, and when you visit with us, we encourage you to take off your shoes and walk barefoot through our soft white sand. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I booked our holiday in Samoa late last year with our accommodation to be at Coconuts Beach Club Resort. As with any holiday destination where you have never been, you don't know what are in for until you get there. Being an interested Tripadvisor reader, it was concerning to read a number of very negative reviews about Coconuts Resort, particularly after we had already booked it. Well, this review completely dispels the negative writings whether they be about the accommodation, the food or the staff. It was all better than one could wish for.
Let it be put in complete perspective. This was a resort that was almost completely destroyed by the 2009 Tsunami. The local villagers who work there are doing a mighty job rebuilding, not just the resort, but their homes and family life. The resort would be about 90% finished and the plans to build a further 16 Fales on the water will make it one of the most special in Samoa. We booked with the "Meal Deal". The food presentation and quality was incredible. 6 of us travelled together and all of us were blown away by the menu. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Our accommodation was in the Tree House rooms. It was spacious and the decor made you feel you were on an island, not like in a boring hotel room. Our mini fridge was stocked daily with bottled water, 2 local beers and a reasonable bottle of wine. The daily cleaning was very good.
The resort itself offered comfort and total relaxation with the beautiful tropical landscape to cap it off. With it 90% re-built, there are a couple of areas still under repair, but it doesn't detract from how good it was staying there. If we go back to Samoa again and I'm sure we will, we would probably do a week at a resort in Apia to experience the Capital and spend more time on that side of the island, then spend the second week at Coconuts to completely wind down.
We did a couple of tours, one being a day to the other island of Savaii which was really worth while. The resort did that one for us but you can hire local taxis or go on the local bus to get around.
Samoa is a beautiful country, different to any where we have previously been. The people's devotion to their Christian faith is inspiring with stunning churches in every village. The dry season is the perfect time to go there.... 30C days, 24C at night. Any rain was during the evenings.
People with a natural urge to complain need a reality check. Samoa has been through a devastating natural disaster, but is bouncing back. Think about what the locals have been through with their losses. They were great people. I recommend to anyone who wants a holiday at a destination that reflects an unspoilt island feel to go to Samoa and make Coconuts Resort one of your places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Talofa Lava John and thanks for your Perfect review of Coconuts Beach Club! It was our pleasure meeting you and your wife, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't wait for your return visit. Fa'afetai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and were very impressed with the location and the quality of the rooms. However we remain of the view that this resort needs to review its prices as it is way overpriced when compared to other resorts in Samoa which offer much better value for money for the standard of accomodation and service.

We travel to Samoa once a year because we love it so much and were sadly dissapointed at the unhelpful and uninterested service we received from the staff at Coconuts because in our experience that is not usual for Samoa. There were some exceptions but in the main we were unable to get any help with just standard queries and given the prices that are charged, you expect top quality service.

We were unable to go on a snorkelling tour the entire time we stayed here because they were simply not 'available' whenever we enquired (which was first thing in the morning and we made ourselves available for the whole day so it wasnt as if we were not prepared to work around the tides). One day we were unable to get beach towels because the staff were 'taking a break' .... for two hours and no-one else could asssist ! These are just very small examples of what we came to regard as the standard service at Coconuts.

The fact that breakfast is not included in the price (given how expensive the resort is) is simply ridiculous.

Finally we would recommend that they reconsider the ornamental pools in front of the villa's as they simply serve as breeding grounds for mosquitoes!

I do trust that they take notice of this review and make the necessary changes as the location and the rooms are excellent. The main issues are the price and the attitude of the staff - particularly when you are paying what is for Samoa "top dollar'.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Isabel0400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Talofa Isabel and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Coconuts Beach Club. We very much value all guest feedback, as that is what we use to help improve our resort, our facilities, and our experience. We thank you for your honest feedback and have already addressed several of your concerns. We do hope that, despite some of your concerns, that you were able to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that we strive so hard to uphold. Please remember that we are an 'outer' beachfront resort. Many guests confuse our staff's relaxed and island lifestyle as being 'uninterested' or even rude, while most guests actually enjoy the relaxed pace and do their best to embrace the lifestyle. We do think that we are very appropriately priced in comparison to other resorts in Samoa and the islands of the South Pacific. Our resort, our atmosphere, our accommodations, our staff, and our meals are simply second to none. Again, we thank you for taking the time to write a review - we so appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just had the most wonderful week, staying at Coconuts. Myself, hubby and two daughters (5 & 7) had a relaxing holiday. Hubby surfed nearly every day with Neil, from Manoa tours, and enjoyed nearly every one of those surfs....except the one when he snapped his board! We also went on a snorkelling tour with Neil, to Blank Sand Beach.....Beautiful.
The resort itself is gorgeous. So well thought out, and beautifully maintained. The staff, ALL of them, were friendly, and helpful. Nothing was a problem. The food was awesome, and I definitely ate too much, but that's part of a good holiday! The meal deal made it great value too! Everything was done to Samoan time.....relaxed and cheerful.
We will definitely be returning Coconuts!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRM-CO, Manager at Coconuts Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Talofa Helen and thanks so much for your great review of Coconuts Beach Club. We are so happy that you and your husband were able to embrace and enjoy our 'Samoa Time'. We appreciate your wonderful words about our friendly staff, as well as the resort. It was our pleasure meeting you both, and we hope you return soon to your new home in Samoa - Coconuts Beach Club. Fa'afetai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews