We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Hellbourg”
Review of L'Orchidee Rose

L'Orchidee Rose
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Orchidee Rose
Ranked #16 of 16 Salazie B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value in Hellbourg”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very good value- short walk to village centre. High in the mountains of Reunion. Room perfectly adequate, evening meal good value. Self service breakfast included. Owners do not speak English but were very helpful

Room Tip: Slightly extra for terrace/mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    14
    18
    22
See reviews for
7
48
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I find the low reviews of the others rather inexplicable. This place is pretty much a guesthouse, a gite, and as such it is very inexpensive. You get what you pay for. My expectations were not high.

The room was sparsely furnished and rather tacky looking. The bathroom was on the small side and rather cold. There was serviceable wifi and it was free. There is parking available on the grounds.

I had their dinner and it was one of the few times on the island that I got to sample Reunionaise creole cuisine. I can't say I loved it because Indian Ocean creole cooking isn't my thing. But it was nice and portions were plentiful, which was great because I was really hungry. They gave me their pineapple confiture which was great for me because local confitures is something I actively try to buy whereever I go. Though the proprietors didn't speak any English, we managed to communicate, and this level of English competency is something I expected in Reunion.

Hell-Bourg being a very small town everything is within walking distance, including trail heads.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

we spent the 1 night, however the lady (I guess the owner) doesn't speak at all English. I booked the accommodation through Agoda booking portal, however after arrival the lady wanted to pay again. At the end, after difficult discussion french vs. english, I showed a printed reservation email from Agoda and everything turned to right way. The room was small but enough for one night oversleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giggy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
261 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

L’Orchidee Rose is not quite a hotel, as is mentioned on its website, but rather a guesthouse. The place looks nice and was good enough for the two nights we spent there. I had a room with very large bathroom while my friend had a smaller room and an even bigger shower. The rooms weren’t aired when we arrived, so we needed to keep the windows open to get some fresh air. At night I needed an extra blanket because it was too cold (keeping the window open). We had chosen not to eat in the ‘hotel’, but to try our luck in other restaurants in Hell Bourg (one good advice: book for dinner in advance because every restaurant is either closed or full!). I think this was a good choice. Breakfast wasn’t very good. There was hardly any choice (French bread, hard butter, some exotic jams and cheese spread + drinks) and it was a do-it-yourself concept: take the plate out of the cupboard, get what you need out of the fridge… in a way it looks like a buffet-type of breakfast but since the owners asked us at which time we’d have breakfast, they could at least put the plates on the table as well. Later on we went to the bakery in town to get some decent breakfast. Some positive points of this guesthouse are the private parking space and a very fast wifi connection. It’s a good place to sleep for anyone who doesn’t require luxury. The owner of this guesthouse was friendly but talked a little too much (as is also mentioned in earlier reviews).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salazie
5.8 mi away
Le Vieux Cep
Le Vieux Cep
#2 of 5 in Cilaos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ferme Auberge du Pommeau
Ferme Auberge du Pommeau
#1 of 1 in La Plaine-des-Palmistes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Le Cilaos
Hotel Le Cilaos
#4 of 5 in Cilaos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel des Neiges
Hotel des Neiges
#1 of 5 in Cilaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Relais des Cimes
Le Relais des Cimes
#1 of 16 in Salazie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gite du Piton d'Anchaing
Gite du Piton d'Anchaing
#3 of 3 in Hell-Bourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Orchidee Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orchidee Rose

Property: L'Orchidee Rose
Address: 26, Rue Olivier Manes Hell-Bourg, Salazie 97433, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Benoit > Salazie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Salazie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Orchidee Rose 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Orchidee Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Orchidee Rose Reunion Island/Salazie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing