We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmm!”

Prosciutteria dall'Ava
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mmmm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice modern buildings. You can get a glimpse of the factory floor (behind glass), we didn't ask for a tour, but I can imagine it can be arranged. We ordered a plate with 4 kinds of ham (young, old, very old, ancient) and some mozzarella/melon, Freshly cut, delicious! Great place when you're just passing through and want to get a speed dive in San Daniele Ham.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    133
    81
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aviano
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth a stop for the shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were visiting the bordano Butterfly house and on our way back we stopped by this restaurant/shop. It is right on the 463 road so very convenient. We did not eat at the restaurant but greatly enjoyed the shopping. Everything in the shop is very upscale gourmet. A great place to stop to buy packaged prosciutto. I made their prosciutto filled tortellini for my son (just prepared in boiling chicken broth) and he loves this with some parmesean sprinkled on top. I also brought some chopped prosciutto in a package to add to various dishes such as pasta. I prepared some Italian stir fried greens and scallions and finished it with the ham pieces - very delish! I hope to come back soon to buy some smoked trout to try.

I have eaten at the DOK restaurant in Pordenone and everything is top quality. I had gnocci made with turnip - very light and tasty. We ordered various meats to try, the local prosciutto plus some exotic types of meat. Overall, I would stay with the tried and true San Daniele ham.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chocolateloverAviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Keeping their roots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Dok Dall'AVA was one of the first Prosciutto based full service restaurants. Recently they built a new restaurant much larger than the original. Usually this leads to lower quality and more of a tourist trap. Somehow they've managed to actually improve their prosciutto and keep the quality in the kitchen. It's still a tourist draw and avoid the place if you see several tour buses parked in front. But they offer a number of different hams, from different ages, to wild boar, goose, and venison. They also offer some typical friulan dishes which if to your liking are quite good. You can still buy sliced to go as well as other gourmet items. Worth a visit, but do not forgo visiting the center of San Daniele, that's the true prosciutto experience.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Friuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Prosciutto Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

On the road to San Daniele, you will find this Prosciutto Palace. Not only do they serve freshly cut, wonderful prosciutto, but they have a museum and a great gift shop. The menu is vast, serving prosciutto in all its glory. Popularized by locals and tourists alike, it provides fine dining in a beatiful friulano setting.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torino006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prosciutteria dall'Ava also viewed

San Daniele del Friuli, Province of Udine
San Daniele del Friuli, Province of Udine
 
San Daniele del Friuli, Province of Udine
San Daniele del Friuli, Province of Udine
 

Been to Prosciutteria dall'Ava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing