We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, accommodation ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais Picaron Hotel
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great food, accommodation ok”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I arrived in the dark so missed out of the scenic location until I checked out in the morning!
Reception was warm and friendly in English and Italian, the double room was small and functional (shower head had good pressure but the head was rubbish). However the bed was comfortable and they had full Italian sky TV.
Highlight was dinner which had a good mixture of local dishes and the normal. All courses were great with a chatty waitresses.
Breakfast was above average on choice and range.
Overall nice hotel, great food but OK accommodation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    81
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
47
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had dinner at Al Picaron. We dropped in without reservations and were quite impressed with the atmosphere and the view. It was a Thursday night, we sat outside and listened to music while we ate. I had the smoked duck salad. It was delicious. The service was great and the price was decent. I would return there in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We arrived in Friuli to fufill their wishes to have their ashes buried nearby. I had stayed at this hotel previously. As usual, the staff was accomodating and a pleasure to deal with.. Due to the burial, they allowed us to have access to our room until late afternoon at no charge. What a kind gesture!!! Every day we were greeted by the staff at the front desk with a friendly smile.

The rooms were lovely and when we asked if we could have adjoining rooms on the patio overlooking the Alps, they immediately accomodated us. The view is breathtaking. The breakfast was spectacular and we looked forward to it every morning. The attendant in the breakfast room could not have been sweeter!!

I have traveled all over the world and I can't say that I have been treated any better!! ---as if we were family. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Friuli. Also, within walking distance of downtown San Daniele and several fantastic restaurants. If you adore prosciutto as I do, this is the place!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torino006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with several other families. Overall, it was a fine stay. Not fantastic, but not bad. We were in a double room and by "double" they mean that they pushed two twin beds together to make a "double" bed. That was a little disappointing, especially for the price we paid (about 100 euro). We were exhausted from a day at a festival, so we slept okay, but it wasn't exactly the most comfortable place to sleep. The size of the room was average for Europe, and the bathroom was also average sized.

Breakfast the next morning was great! They prepared whatever coffee we wanted and kept bringing us more until we asked them to stop. The spread they had out was more than your average croissant. There were hard boiled eggs, several meats and cheeses, cereal, as well as pastries.

We don't have children, but the families we went with did have kids and they loved the area to play outside. Although, bring a pair of tweezers with you—almost all of the kids ended up with splinters from playing on the boat they have outside!
All in all, this wasn't a bad place to stay and we would probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesstagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I stayed here for one night with a colleague whilst in the region. I've been here before on several occasions and it is always clean, with pleasant reception staff and is in a great location for views of the surrounding area. However, if you are driving there without sat nav then be prepared to spend a while looking for the hotel on your first visit as it is by no means the easiest to find.

The bathrooms are tiny, with a shower squeezed into the corner between a wall and the sink. A larger or pregnant person may struggle to get in and out. However, if you like quaint, you will like the bedrooms (which are just right for one person and one suitcase but I imagine for two would be a little tight on space!)

One thing you may want to consider if that you are after an early night or a lie in, then the floor in the corridor just outside your room is a kind of brick tile, which amplifies every footstep and every suitcase being wheeled past, be that late at night or at the crack of dawn. It may be worth asking for a room at the end of the corridor when you book, as I now do.

Breakfast in the hotel is great - a big, spacious room and plenty of choice. We've always been taken out for dinner so I have not had the chance to eat there in the evening, but have enjoyed a few aperitifs outside on the terrace when I've visited at warmer times of the year.

  • Liked — The breakfast - and the scenery
  • Disliked — The size of the bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CEWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Daniele del Friuli
4.2 mi away
Villaverde Hotel & Resort - Wellness SPA & Golf
11.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La' Di Moret
12.8 mi away
Hotel Suite Inn
Hotel Suite Inn
#1 of 22 in Udine
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ai Tre Castelli Alloggio Agrituristico
9.6 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Costantini
1.4 mi away
La Casa Sul Fiume
La Casa Sul Fiume
#4 of 9 in San Daniele del Friuli
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Picaron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Picaron Hotel

Property: Relais Picaron Hotel
Address: Via Astemio, 3, 33038 San Daniele del Friuli, Italy
Location: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Udine > San Daniele del Friuli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Daniele del Friuli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Picaron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Picaron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing