We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine”

Boonsiri Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phimai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boonsiri Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Phimai B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly fine”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

First off, the guesthouse is a stone's throw from the Phimai ruins. The rooms themselves (Fan room, 350 baht a night discounted to 300 if staying longer) are fine and very clean. Could use a brush in the corners but otherwise everything was clean and orderly.

The owner speaks excellent English and with a smile. He's quick to respond to any request. The other ladies speak no English or little but they were kind and soft.

The tv for me was all thai channels so I unplugged it and used it for charging. There was only one other free plugin.

They also cook downstairs and the meals are of good value and taste. However, like most of the town, don't expect a meal past 7pm. Much of the town closes between 5-8pm. Even the night market winds down by 9.

I initially wanted to stay only one night but the area was relaxing and so easy to walk that I stayed a second rather than go back to Khorat.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

decided to visit the khemer ruins in phimai so, grabbed the bus and headed over - just taking a minute or 2 to make a quick check for guesthouse options in phimai. Boonsiri came pretty highly recommended, so gave them a call and booked.

Arrived fairly late in the day. No problem. They're located behind the corner the buses drop you off at by the clock tower....a 5 minute walk if you walk slow. Reasonably well sign-posted. The walkway into the place is narrow but well-lit and the owners, who also run a roasted duck business are right there - as well as 2 lab retrievers who are wonderfully well-mannered.

We took the air conditioned private room with private bath. Everything was spotlessly clean. Bed was firm - but that's how they are in this part of the world. No soap or toilet paper when we got into the room. Immediately taken care of when we asked about it.

The only point to understand is that the doorway is closed sometime around 10 or 11PM. It is NOT a curfew. They'll usually wait up, but if they're not, just ring the bell any time, no matter how late. Frankly, Phimai is not much of a 'party till 4AM' kind of place - at least for us. Some decent restaurants are around though.

Cable tv - loads of channels - mainly Thai but we caught a couple English movies while we stayed there.

Good, pretty fast wifi - but they charge for it...Well, they gave us a few hours free, but I think it was 100THB/day unlimited - kind of a dated approach these days and I was initially a little put out, but when I looked at total cost to stay there - using the facilities I wanted, it was still very good value.

To get to Prasat Hin...go out the front door, turn right walk 150 yards. What could be easier?

In short...this is a guesthouse, not the Mandarin Oriental. Its clean, safe and friendly and reasonably-priced. What more do you expect, really.

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor which opens onto a little courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apaimanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Location is just perfect just near this beautiful temple and near the night market.
The guesthouse is an hidden gem. Satff is really helpful. The room was really spacious, clean, with a closet, air con and private bathroom.
You really feel comfortable. The building itself is great too.
We didn't try the breakfast.
Really recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irkutsk, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Located in center if town. Right near Phimai historical park, main showplace.
Clean rooms with everything needed.
Shower, toilet, fan, TV, wi-fi (not too expensive).
Beautiful terrace.
Parking in the yard.
Very friendly owner with excellent English.
Rooms available from dormitory to doubles.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyatkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

From walking in the door and been greeted by George, our stay was fantastic. No, its not 5 star but its not priced there either. The rooms are clean, aircon cold and quiet, bathroom great. Food is good. And the location. Wow, 50m to the Phimai historical part, right in the middle of town.

George's local knowledge and sense of humour makes a stay fun. The day trips he organised to Phnom Rung are both cheap but excellent (love his new car!).

From memory we paid 500 Baht a night for aircon with ensuite. The day trip was 900Baht per person and well worth it.

Room Tip: Just ask to have a look
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very quiet rooms right in the centre of Phimai, A couple of minutes away from the main entrance to the historical park and the night market. The owner speaks an excellent English and is - like everybody in Thailand - extremely friendly and helpful. The entrance is not exactly easy to find, but it's worth looking for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogsmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We got a big but slightly basic AC room with ensuite and tv for 500b. Nice big patio area with chair just outisde the room. They serve really cheap thai food downstairs which i unfortunately didn't notice till i left. the staff were really friendly and helpfull, the woman who owned it even gave us a handfull of sweets each when we left which was really cute.
Our room was 1 minute walk to the khmer ruins which were amazing, i advice taking some food and relaxing on the grass in the shade of the amazing ruins. The centre of town is also 2 minutes walk. A nice place to eat in town, (there are few with english menus) is on the corner opposite the clock tower.
If in phimai i also advie going to see sai ngam one of the biggest banyan trees in thailand. just 20 minutes walk out of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phimai hotels
0.0 mi away
Amatara Hotel
Amatara Hotel
#2 of 2 in Phimai
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phimai Paradise House
Phimai Paradise House
#2 of 4 in Phimai
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phimai Paradise Hotel
Phimai Paradise Hotel
#2 of 4 in Phimai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Benya Guest House
Benya Guest House
#3 of 4 in Phimai
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Phimaibury
#4 of 4 in Phimai
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonsiri Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonsiri Guest House

Property: Boonsiri Guest House
Address: 228 Chomsudasadet Rd., Phimai 30110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Phimai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Phimai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing