We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of england in mae chaem”
Review of Chaem Muang House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Chaem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaem Muang House
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Mae chaem house could only be described as a beautiful boutique B & B. Set in a magnificent established garden this small establishment of only four rooms is a real find. While a little expensive by local regional guesthouse standards at 1200 B per night it is well worth it and a cut above the norm. The rooms are large, clean and airy with a nice bathroom. (Only one room is a double however as the rest are twins ) . The owner is a gracious host and speaks excellent english. A light breakfast is served on a open plan balcony over looking the rice paddies. Excellent coffee ! A great place to unwind

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sailcat119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My recent visit to Mae Chaem allowed me to notice a few upcoming resorts and little hotels, most owned and operated by locals. Unsurprisingly as tourism has grown so fast, there are more people expanding their journey in some areas around the famous Chiang Mai. So, Mae Chaem could be one of the easy destination.

Last Saturday was my second time to visit there. I did not hesitate to call Khun Penkhae, the owner of Chaem Muang House, weeks before to book two rooms. Somehow, she remembered we were a couple who once spent a night at her place many years ago. Mae Chaem is a small cute little town of Chiang Mai surrounded by hills of Inthanon. The town itself gets famous with the local northern style "Teen-Joak" fabric, and that you can still find many households doing this traditional weeping for their living.

At Chaem Muang House, things were almost just the same. The cleanliness was the most important thing we liked about this place, as well as how this wooden house was furnished. The way Khun Penkhae took care of her guests was very sweet and friendly. It never made us feel like staying in a cold hotel, but a long-lost friend's, so that was how we ended up with a deep and peaceful sleep.

^_^

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms available. Any of them are just perfect !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are traveling from Chiang Mai to Mae Hongson via the southern route 108 and you turn off towards Doi Inthanon it's worthwhile to spend the night at this sleepy little town. The most comfortable accommodation one can find in Mad Chaem is at this little B&B. If my memory doesn't trick me there are only four rooms, all equipped with A/C (not that you'd need it necessarely) and a private bathroom. been there a few times already and always had a very peaceful night. There is no restaurant attached, however the place provides a simple but sumptuous breakfast. great road onwards to Khum Yuam and further on to Mae Hongson

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbertbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arrived quite late in the day having not booked,fortunately rooms were available we only needed to stay for one night and we were made very welcome. Accommodation is close to the road but was not too noisy until the town began to start moving in the morning. A small town / village so obviously don't expect all the choice you may find in larger, that's said we managed to get food quite late locally just down the road. Morning breakfast was lovely and a great improvement on others we had experienced!

Would return if needed to stay in this location, a pool would be nice which others may be able to offer however this is not a negative point against the accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris68200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank MANU06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Bobby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Chaem
1.2 mi away
Kwan Lah Homestay
Kwan Lah Homestay
#1 of 5 in Mae Chaem
15 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hot Coffee Guest House and Resort
4.7 mi away
Kowit Maechaem Farmhouse
Kowit Maechaem Farmhouse
#1 of 3 in Mae Chaem
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Touch Star Resort
Touch Star Resort
#155 of 392 in Chiang Mai
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Navasoung Resort
Navasoung Resort
#1 of 1 in Mae Chaem
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chadaporn Rentroom
Chadaporn Rentroom
#3 of 3 in Mae Chaem
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaem Muang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaem Muang House

Address: 41 Moo 4 | Tapha Subdistrict, Mae Chaem 50270, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Chaem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mae Chaem
Price Range: $1 - $1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing