We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Narittaya Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Narittaya is a very special resort. Relaxing, beautiful location, excellent service and truly outstanding food. As I was visiting my grandchildrens' school on the 2 mornings we took breakfast I could not savour this experience as much as I would have liked as we had to leave at 8.00am. However, we shall be back to enjoy the delicious home made bread and conserves.
I've marked the spa as excellent even though I did not use it myself. This is based on my husband's report and if they managed to keep him happy it must be great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Denise247,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed our services, especially the SPA. On your next visit we hope you will have more time to enable us to pamper you with our services once again.

Sincerely yours

Narittaya Resort and Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    36
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
58
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What can I say about narritaya? Not a bad word for sure.
This place is special. Very unique.
A little piece of peace in the chiang mai hills.... An oasis of veggies and organic food.
What makes this place special is the service- it is seriously heart felt. It is the absolute opposite of a cold 5 star resort. It is not 5 star as mentioned in another review but makes up for it in soul and that makes it so comfortable.
The restaurant is the highlight- teddy and co make seriously good food. Highly recommend- morning glory, wraps, anything with smoked duck, matabak. We felt so welcome trying new dishes and tasters. What a great food experience and all looking out over the veggie patches!
The private pool villas are a must-book and the photos online don't do them justice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella-C-Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Your review was lovely, and I think really pointed out some of the highlights of the resort. Teddy is very talented in the kitchen and he and the rest of the staff are exceedingly skilled at providing first rate service. We really feel going" extra mile" will set us apart from other resorts in Chiang Mai so it's very validating to have our guests recognize our efforts.

We hope you'll have a chance to come back and visit again soon. Until then, all the best...

Your friends at Narittaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family and I (2 young kids) just spent 3 weeks in Narittaya. We loved it and have already booked for next year! It is not a hugely fancy place with extensive facilities, and for anyone wanting gold-standard luxury this is not the place. But what it lacks in infrastructure, it more than makes up in ambience and spirit. The staff are simply wonderful, with a warmth that goes beyond even the legendary Thai hospitality. As an example, one evening we arrived back late from a restaurant in town in pouring tropical rain and our 5-yr old daughter had fallen asleep in the car. As my wife and I wondered how we would get her from the car to the room (50m walk), we drove in to Narittaya to have the hotel manager and the night guard welcome us with open umbrellas - they escorted me, getting soaked, whilst I held my daughter dry under the umbrellas. This goes far beyond the call of customer service; it shows heart and caring. The grounds of the resort are beautiful, and with its rural setting (but still just 20 minutes from the centre of Chiang Mai) it affords lovely walks and bike rides. The real gem in Narittaya, though, is the kitchen. The Thai food is very different to what you would find in more traditional restaurants, with a fabulous mix and match of flavours and food textures. Even the basic tom yum kung has a subtlety and refinement that is delicious. The lightly batter fried morning glory with the sour-spicy sauce is difficult to define in words - it has to be tasted to be believed. This is a place to unwind, to eat great food, to do some yoga (with the brilliant teacher Hiromi), to indulge occasionally in the spa, to read, to walk and cycle. It is also a great base to explore Chiang Mai and surroundings - rent a car and have tons of fun in beautiful Chiang Mai. I highly recommend the drive from the resort up to Samoeng and then from there to Mae Rim, a gorgeous trip through the forested mountains that can be made in to a full day with elephant camp and lunch and orchid farm, etc all along the way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiangMaiRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
After reading your review, we have come to the conclusion that we need to hire you as a content writer for our website and other marketing materials:-) lol. Your review was great to read...insightful and detailed.

Although we only had a chance to spend a little time together before I left to for my visit to the United States, I do remember you and your lovely family and so glad you enjoyed your three weeks at the resort. I hope you'll come back and enjoy the food in the yoga once more. We have a lot of great plans on the horizon and look forward to sharing these ongoing improvements with returning guests.

All the best from your friends at Narrittaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I spent 3 days at the resort and thoroughly enjoyed myself, thank you Narittaya. I will be honest and say that the resort was obviously in need of some updating especially in the rooms as I love my comfort but it can be described as good value for money. What makes Narittaya special is the wonderful staff that go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. What ever the resort lacked in facilities they made up for with spirit. I would definitely stay there again just to experience their heart warming Thai hospitality.

Room Tip: Bring lots of bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to write us a review. Obviously, we are elated when we hear that our service and staff have done a great job. We hope you will come back and enjoy the resort again, as we have plans to renovate as well as continue update the rooms. We hope they'll be to your liking on your next visit.
All the best from your friends at Narrittaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Narritaya resort for a second time and this time I brought the family along.
First time my wife and I stayed we had peace and quiet and were so pleased at how friendly and helpful the Resort staff were.
The second time I was not supprised to find that the staff again really went out of their way to ensure our time was memorable.
Amazing on site restaraunt which grows its own vegetables which youcan see being picked in a truly beautiful garden which is constantly maintained
The Accommodation itself is absoluley prestine and magical, Whether your staying as a couple or with your family.
Location is perfect.....approximately 15-20 mins from the airport located south west of the main Chiang mai centre. Away from all the hustle and bustle giving peace and quiet throughout. All the Sights are within a 20 minute driving range.
I have travelled all over the world and stayed in some truly magnificent places but I have to say the Narritaya Resort and Spa is up their at the top. It will certainly take some beating.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give is to make sure you switch off your telephone and kick back and relax. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Mick!
We have all sorts of folks come through the resort and we enjoy each one of them. Every once in a while we see a familiar face and it makes our job even more fun. Thank you for coming back to Narittaya and for your great review! We miss seeing you and your little ones playing around the resort and hope we might entice you and your lovely family back for a 3rd time!

Until then, take care of yourself while away at work and our best to you're whole gang!

In health and happiness,

Your Friends at Natittaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled around the world this summer, and looking back on all our accomodations and human encounters, our four days at Narittaya truly stand out. We'll never forget our time there and certainly harbor the hope of going back. Since our son lives in Chiangmai, a return trip is possible and, really, one of our motives in making one would be to go back to this resort. For details, we agree fully with Todd B's review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bret2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Bret, You were a pleasure to have at the Resort and we loved talking with you about all of your travel adventures. We are also glad your son escaped the dreaded Dengue Fever and it turned out to be something far less serious.

We hope you will come back, until then...we will keep a place reserved for you overlooking the garden in the restaurant!

All the best,

Your Narittaya Friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Narittaya resort is beyond comparison. It offers tremendous value for its guests with spacious modern villa's, beautiful grounds, delicious organic food and a relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel right at home.

I stayed at the resort for 11 days in a modern pool villa and honestly had difficulties in leaving this great place. The very kind and extremely helpful staff, as well as some other really wonderful guests, created a special atmosphere and a truly unique experience.

Pisit, Lita and Poh catered to my every need and for instance made fresh vegetable (detox) smoothies and teas with ingredients hand-picked from their own garden each day.

The resort has a fantastic spa at fair prices and shouldn't be missed. Also, Hiromi offers daily yoga and meditation sessions and does an amazing job at it.

Narittaya is about 20mins by car/scooter from the centre of Chiang Mai, but I did not find this to be a problem at all, as two or three days in Chiang Mai city were sufficient for me. I heard that the resort is planning on implementing a daily transfer service to/from Chiang Mai, so that will make it even easier. Any other day trips can easily be done from here as well and there are bicycles to take you to the nearby canyon, shops and fitness center.

In short: unless you want to be in the midst of the hustle & bustle of Chiang Mai city, this definitely is the place to go for. One word of caution though: it will be difficult to leave!

Room Tip: Try to get a pool villa. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akri0200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarittayaChiangmai, Manager at Narittaya Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Albert, We loved your review because you mentioned how our guests interact with other guests and the staff to make a more personable experience. We loved having you at the resort and the fact that you took full advantage of all that we have to offer with your detox, yoga and spa activities makes you somewhat of a Narittaya expert. We hope we will see you as you round out your Southeast Asia tour. Until then, all the best from your good friends at Narittaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hang Dong
9.7 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
5.8 mi away
Marndadee Heritage River Village
7.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,061 reviews
2.7 mi away
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
3.8 mi away
North Hill City Resort
North Hill City Resort
#2 of 12 in Hang Dong
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narittaya Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narittaya Resort and Spa

Property: Narittaya Resort and Spa
Address: 9 Moo 11Namphrae | Nam Phrae, 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Narittaya Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narittaya Resort and Spa is an intimate boutique resort set in a serene foothill of Chiang Mai's Suthep Mountain, north of Thailand. On the outskirts of the main city, with a mere fifteen minutes' drive, this hidden gem offers an escape from the chaotic lifestyle and entrance into Zion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Narittaya Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narittaya Resort And Spa Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing