We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tapas, Diverse menu, awesome desserts!”

Nics Restaurant & Playground
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Hang Dong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: - Ambient indoor (Aircon) dining area- Alfresco dining in our landscaped garden- health & freshly made whole foods- Menu: Tapas, Pizza, Salads, Pasta, Fingerfood, Wraps, Paninis- Homemade Cakes- Special Kids Menu- Fresh Juices & Smoothies
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Tapas, Diverse menu, awesome desserts!”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My wife and I eat at Nics frequently. In fact, we have introduced at least 10 other couples to Nics. The problem with Nics menu, is that there are so many items to choose from, and they are all good. Seriously, the food quality is refreshing, and the presentation of their plates is always well done. The wait staff are pleasant and engaging and speak English well.

Their Tapas menu is extensive; in fact, we had been there at least 5 times before we made it past the Tapas list to the main entrees. And the main entrees are wonderful too.

We rarely have enough room for dessert, since we always seem to select one more tapas than we can finish. But when we do have dessert we are never disappointed. The owner makes her own desserts and they never last longer than the day they were made. Excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shmave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    36
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“Great casual place!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nic's is one of our most favorite places in town! It is perfect for a relaxed and casual lunch or dinner with family and friends! The menu is very diverse and appetizing, and there is a really nice kids menu too. the food is delicious and always fresh with a lovely home made touch to it! The playground is one of the kind!!! Kids just love going there!! but even if you are on your own, it is great to pop over to have a bite to eat or for cup of coffee and a slice of cake (which are divine by the way) while you are checking your emails. They have free WiFi and play cool chill out background music. There is also a separate air conditioned area which is lovely on a hot day!! Stuff is always friendly and make you feel welcomed. It is reasonably priced and definitely offers a very good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaisAnais81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nic's for Kids!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

That's a excellent family restaurant. I know Nic's Restaurant already since they started in Koh Phangan.
Quality of service and food is just perfect! The price of food for this fresh and good quality is more then okay.
A fantastic playground for kids.

We like this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaerimBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Over-priced, Poor Service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Nics has been around for a few years and recently revised all of their pricing. Their dishes are now significantly smaller than in the past and 20-30% more expensive. Quality of the food has significantly deteriorated.

Nics appears to have had a significant turn over of their wait staff and service has gone downhill.

We won't be wasting our money at this "kid friendly" resturant in future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NooriS, Owner at Nics Restaurant & Playground, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Mr. Christopher,
sad to hear, that you feel this way about our restaurant.
I think, before writing such a bad review you should have better done some research
about us.
1. we have not been open for years, it has been 1 year and 8 months
2. our significant turn over of wait staff has been „1“ which we can prove with pictures
3. after having the same prices in our menu for over 1 and a half years, the prices for
shopping have of course changed dramatical (exp. 1 kg of shrimps when we started
180 Baht now 349 Baht) and our portions are still the same. Our “significant” price increase is 10-15% and not like you wrote 20-30%. I don't know who is doing the shopping in your house, but obviously not you.
After reading the other reviews you have given Restaurants and Hotels at Trip-advisor I was asking myself, what else is this person doing. You sound like someone who is very difficult to please but still you should be honest and stay with the truth and not damaging other people business with your reviews. We have been listed at Trip-advisor the past 8 years and we even wrote a notification to them about your kind of a reputation- or business-damaging comment.
Maybe you should find some balance in your Life and start seeing the positive things in live instead of the negative.
I wish you a happier life.
Best regards
Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
“Excellent family restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We loved nic's in phangan because the food and atmosphere was great. Nic's in hang dong was perfect for us. The food was fantastic and we loved the playground. They have created the ultimate family restaurant. I wish there was a nic's where we live!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miramar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nics Restaurant & Playground also viewed

Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Nics Restaurant & Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing