We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite and soulful, full of character and a quality unmatched. A gem of a place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Moo 9 Cafe & Gallery

9 Moo 9 Cafe & Gallery
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Hang Dong
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Home-cooked food using fresh and good-quality ingredients. All food prepared by Siripan on the premises. Pan-fried duck breast, our home-made sausages and pan-dried chicken breast with country salad are the only menu items which do not change. All other items change each week, to offer our customers a wide range of ever-changing choices, both lunches and desserts. Vegetarian options always available.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite and soulful, full of character and a quality unmatched. A gem of a place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Utterly sublime setting with some of the very best food I've ever tasted. This is my 8th time and it simply gets better every time. The opportunity to relax in the beautiful gardens and to browse some of the artefacts is something not to miss. Make sure to check out the gallery too. The architecture is stunning and the fusion of contemporary and traditional Thai adds to the whole vibe. This is a place to lose yourself in; make the most of your time here - and then come back for more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isaanchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful homemade food in the 'secret garden'!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful little cafe away from the hustle of chiang Mai. It's in the garden of a thai artist, and it's the perfect setting and location to relax for a couple of hours. The food was all homemade, sooo good and you were greeted with a warm welcome! This is one little hideaway you have to visit! Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DPKMAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Hideaway in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I hesitate writing this review as I'd love to keep 9 Moo 9 a secret. However, it's too good to keep to myself... When I first moved to Chiang Mai, someone who was leaving told me about 9 Moo 9, saying I HAD visit. I have since introduced countless friends (many who have lived in this area for a long time) to 9 Moo 9, and have yet to find anyone who didn't fall in love with the place.

Tony and Siripan, the owners, are a delightful couple. Siripan is an artist, and her dishes are a culinary delight.

The restaurant is in their garden, and you could literally linger for hours.

It's only open from Thursday through Sunday, and 10-5. They serve scrumptious light lunches and delectable desserts.

It's way off the beaten path (near the Hang Dong golf club), but well worth the trek.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bznberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Delightful and Everything in Between”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have now been to 9 Moo 9 many times, and am pleased to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The place is beautiful, the staff are delightful and the food is absolutely wonderful, prepared with fresh ingredients each time. It is one of the few places I can confidently bring new friends, knowing that they will fall in love with it as I have. Will I go back? Yes...over and over again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThailandTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thank you to everyone at 9Moo9 for making our special day so memorable. We had a small wedding ceremony there last week and it was just perfect. The garden was decorated for us, the food was fresh and delicious and the owners and staff were so friendly! We would definitely recommend you visit 9Moo9.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EDandGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9 Moo 9 Cafe & Gallery also viewed

Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to 9 Moo 9 Cafe & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing