We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really interesting botanic garden, plus great food”
Review of Dokmai Garden

Dokmai Garden
Ranked #3 of 22 things to do in Hang Dong
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A really interesting botanic garden, plus great food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Eric and his wife Kate set up the garden 5 years ago. Eric takes you on the tour himself and as he planted every tree and shrub he really knows about the plants. Kate provided a lovely lunch and home-made fruit juice made from hibiscus which was a perfect thirst quencher. We had intended to spend a few hours there but spent most of the day there and a few days later we went back for cuttings. Eric also acts as a guide to the jungles of the national parks, you can arrange day trips or longer. Eric's information and knowledge me really appreciate the tropical vegetation. While I was there a family with 3 young children arrived and there was plenty for the children to see and do and taste.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    9
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great insight into plants and culture of the area.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading Eric’s blogs for a year now I was suitably impressed with the amount of knowledge I could pick up visiting the place. It gave me a great understanding of the plants I have been seeing daily in my home town Luang Prabang and Ketsanee was a great host. Her mother’s rosella juice is the perfect finish to a long stroll around the impressive garden.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MekongQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

First of all inform yourself and your driver well as to where it is, its not that well known. Best thing to do is phone Erik at the garden first and he will organise a tuktuk driver for you that knows the way.
This was a great little trip around Eriks wonderfully kept garden. Erik is very well-informed, PhD in botany I believe, and passionate about what he does. If you want to learn a little, or a lot, about Thailand's fauna this is highly recommended. I believe they also do wellness/detox type offers where you can work in the gardens.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mangotonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worth the travel”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is quite a long way south past the samoeng turning and almost at Sanpatong along the irrigation canal road.The Swedish owner is justifably proud of many of his rare species'
The dood news is that by the end of the year the dual carriage way will extend all the way.
A real labour of love
It deserves to be successful
Ron

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ronwparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited Dokmai Garden in the off season so were the only people there. The restaurant was not in service at this time but we were given a very thorough and informative tour by Erik, introducing us to many unusual plants. We learned a lot of unique facts about plants and their products and their history in the area.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hudsonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dokmai Garden also viewed

Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Dokmai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing