We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The height of praise for the high resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hang Dong
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The height of praise for the high resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

To say that I can't say enough in praise of The High Resort would be a cop out, because I can. We stayed 4 nights here before 3 nights in Chiang Mai itself and it was in every aspect a superb experience.

We arrived after a very stressful 22-hour journey from London (complications at Bangkok when we were on standby and got bumped off a flight to Chiang Mai four times in a row). Within minutes it all became a distant memory as we settled into what is truly a retreat from the stresses of life.

We were greeted by June at reception, one of the High Resort's greatest assets. She's also a wonderful Ambassador for Thailand, proving that the north of the country is certainly the Land of Smiles. Not so sure about Bangkok and other parts of the south, but that's another story and a different review (we stayed there for 3 nights en route back to London).

We stayed in a suite with plunge pool and would highly recommend going for that option if your budget will allow. The internal space is huge and the outdoor area transforms it into a villa experience.

Having said that, a room anywhere in this complex will work its magic on you. On our first night the resort was fully booked but you felt as if you had the whole place to yourself. The lantern-lit walkways at night are part of the spell this whole place casts and are among our favourite memories.

In terms of dining, apart from the magnificent breakfast each morning overlooking a vista that would instantly heal any hangover, we had room service on our first night, the outdoor restaurant on the second, and a local kitchen on the third. The hotel food is excellent and very good value, but the roadside restaurant just outside the hotel was the highlight. I wish I could tell you its name but it didn't seem to have any. We were the only strangers there, but it never felt like that for one moment. No doubt the owners and locals assumed we had come from the High Resort but we were treated as one of their own. As for the food, it was Thai home-cooking at its best and was ridiculously cheap.

We're looking forward to our return visit and will take 7 nights next time round. When booking we thought 4 would be enough before moving into the city, but the experience of getting away from everything was such a rich part of this stay that a week would pass like 'another day in paradise'. As Phil Collins might say.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VerandaChaingMai, Management Team at Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai and taking the time to give us a review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We are also keep record for our staff "June" who is you mentioned for good consideration in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Veranda the High Resort Chiang Mai during your next stay in Chiang Mai.

Faithfully yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    286
    81
    27
    15
See reviews for
218
426
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights mid November 2013.

This is a small and quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. If you are looking to recharge and chill, this is the place to go. The hotel is about 20 minutes by cab outside of city center and is situated in a lush green valley. The property is beautifully landscaped and while the hotel buildings aren't as traditional or vernacular as I'd hope, they were clean and comfortable. There are enough hotel facilities to enjoy for about 2 days- pool, gym, walks, library, restaurants, etc. After that, it might get repetitive unless you're happy to sit by the infinity pool (with mountain views) to read and nap. There are also bikes for rent but no maps of where to go which was a shame.

We booked a jacuzzi pavilion and got upgraded to a pool villa which was gorgeous. The villa was stunning with 3 bedrooms. The master bedroom is paneled with teak and smells wonderful. There are rain showers, outdoor pool, indoor tubs, jacuzzis, .... I would be more than happy to camp here for 2 entire days without venturing out. The villa looks out onto a rice field (not much happening in the dry season) and hills beyond. Quiet, peaceful, and exactly what I needed. The only issue I have with the room and hotel is insects. While I understand the property is in a jungle, the room had ants crawling inside in most places which was annoying. Got several mosquito bites as well so bring and apply bug spray liberally.

The Thai restaurant was delicious and pricier than what you'd find downtown but very clean and comfortable. Staff were incredibly friendly and gracious. Cocktail drinks were good and strong (unlike the watered down syrupy ones in the city center) which was welcomed. The food, drinks, and tours are pricier but there is little alternative given the remote location. Take down a cab service company from the airport and plan ahead where to eat and go.

Will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Veranda Chiang Mai is located a bit far away from Chiang Mai city centre. It is more convenient to have your own car if you are going to stay there. However, the road toward the resort for about 10 mins is quite dark. Be aware when driving.
Frankly, the resort is very large. The building structure is giant compared to many resorts in Thailand. There are many green areas inside the resort but mosquitoes are not very serious fortunately.
I will not say Veranda is a 5 stars resort. Better to say it is a 4 stars resort, but what you paid is what you get.
Room is large enough and you can breathe a very fresh air when stepping out the balcony. Wifi connection is quite reliable. However, room is quite dark during night.
For food, buffet breakfast is not very recommended. Perhaps that is the high season when we were there, the restaurant was full of guests. We needed to look for table ourselves! We also had a set dinner in the resort which is standard taste. But, what we recommend is the room service. We ordered fried rice with king prawn and club sandwiches. Both are very unexpectedly delicious!
In the library, they also sell the famous Thai designer - Ginger Shop’s products. Worth to take a look there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This resort, 30 minutes away from the city center, is beautifully designed and surrounded by nature. The service is great, he food excellent, the pool marvelous. Note that it's an isolated place, so it's good if you just want to relax for some days, because around there's nothing, just the hotel excursions. Anyway, I highly recommend it and I will be back for sure. The only negative thing are the Spa prices, absolutely inadequate for Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaMacau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went here for a honeymoon trip for 5 days after we visited Bangkok. Chiangmai is a very different place to Bangkok and this hotel gave us another stunning experience. hotel was breath taking. decoration and swimming pool are excellent. we feel really relax there. food quality are not excellent compare to Bangkok but still ok.

but hotel is quite far out to town, luckily we have shuttle bus connected to airport and town for free.

we had spa there as well. and it was great

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asacheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hang Dong
7.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
6.0 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
9.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
8.3 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection

Property: Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection
Address: 192 Moo 2 | Banpong, 50230, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Hang Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hang Dong
#1 Spa Hotel in Hang Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Chiangmai: The High Resort, is a total Zen experience from the moment of arrival. We located in private valley with rice and tea terraces, natural ponds and orchids. Perfect retreat to relax and indulge yourself in the Spa. Divided into two zones, on one side representing the cultural heritage of the north and the other the Contemporary Veranda style. A boutique northern retreat of just 72 rooms, all guests are ensured of the best personal service, 24 hours a day from our warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai Hotel Hang Dong
Veranda High Resort Chiang Mai - MGallery Collection Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Hang Dong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing